We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed 9 night with our two boys, 10 and 14, and this resort surpassed all expectations! From the moment you land and are greeted till the moment you leave, you are completely pampered.
I was so happy with our choice to stay here and definitely plan on returning. The staff is so friendly and went out of their way to welcome my kids. The Spa-AMAZING!!!
I cant say enough about this experience-except if you have the chance, you will not be disappointed with one thing here!

Room Tip: upgrade to Ambassador and get a Diamond Villa- totally worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynDHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review! We are happy to read that your stay with us has met your expectations.

It is always a pleasure for the staff to keep the kids entertained. We are happy they succeeded !

Thanks again and feel free to contact the hotel while planning your next vacations to Bora Bora.

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    276
    70
    38
    17
See reviews for
214
1,793
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Sorry that this review is so late, but it has been hectic getting back to everyday life.

My wife and I stayed at the IC Moorea May 10-15, the first stop on our two week dream vacation to French Polynesia that included 8 nights in Bora Bora at the IC Thalasso. This will be somewhat of a comparison to the properties in as much as how they are run and the staff and not the location or facilities as they are too different to compare. The resorts are spectacular, but I must give the edge to the Thalasso, it was so special and we are glad we did it second.

Getting there:

Left Buffalo, NY at 1:15pm local time with a stop in Chicago and arrived in LA at about 5pm local time. Out flight to Tahiti was not until 11:10pm and you cannot check-in for the flight for 4 hours before departure. So we grabbed our luggage and just sat in the arrival area (bottom floor) on the LAX international terminal and used the free wifi and relaxed. At 7:15 we went upstairs and checked-in. Line was minimal and we were in the terminal quite fast. While I will say the terminal main area is very nice with shops and eateries, the gate area is difficult to navigate. Lots of winding halls and hard to manage signage finally got us to the bowels of the terminal where we sit in basically a warehouse with a bunch of chairs. Boarding two different flights at gates next to each other, made it hard to know what flight they were calling. Then we had to board a bus and take a 5 minute ride to the plane, sitting on the tarmac in the middle of nowhere. Flight was smooth and uneventful, food was okay but plentiful. We arrived at 4:45am local time into Tahiti, which is 10:45am our time at home, so it was a long day of travelling. Customs and luggage in Tahiti was a breeze and fast. We then had to board our flight to Moorea; a simple walk to the right as you exit, and you are at the domestic terminal. Check-in there was also fast, but be careful with you luggage weights and carry-on size, they are brutal. We had no problem with our carry-ons, a backpack and laptop case, as the lady just looked at them a waved goodbye. This 10 minute was so nothing after what we had been through. At the Moorea airport/hut, transfers were easy to get as we just pointed to our name on the sign. The ride to the resort was nice, but very , very bumpy, as we were the last stop, being the farthest, so we could take in the scenery and look at the other resorts.

Check-in:

Before we left we made sure to sign up for the Ambassador membership to enjoy the extra perks at both the resorts. We already had the highest category room booked, so we knew we wouldn’t get an upgrade, but the other amenities we felt would make up the cost. So, we arrive and there are 4 couples total arriving at the same time. There is a guy out front playing a ukulele and singing, a nice welcome. We walk into the lobby, which is very pretty and are unsure what to do so we all start to form a line at the front desk, figuring that is where we would check-in. So we are standing there a few minutes when a lady comes by and says for all of us to follow her. She then proceeds to seat all the couples privately around the bar area. Now I am thinking, we are supposed to have a private, personalized check-in as Ambassador Members, and this wasn’t it, nor did it compare to the check-in at the Thalasso that we very personalized and even had a sign on the table recognizing us as Ambassadors. So we go with it as we have travelled almost 24 hours and are pretty tired. We wait a few minutes more and the lady that seated us brings us cold towels and a refreshing drink, which was tasty. We then wait a few more minutes and this guy, Vincent, gives us a form to fill out and takes our passports to make copies. He returns and tells us that our room will not be ready till 2pm. I tell him that we are Ambassadors which entitle us to early check-in if available and he acts as if he never heard of it before. This too is a far cry from the Thalasso where we were in out room by noon and the other people on the cart with us had to go to the pool. I ask for a day room, which was not offered, so we could shower and change to go to the pool. In closing, the check-in was adequate in Moorea, but paled in comparison to Bora Bora.

Food:

Now, we knew going in that food was expensive as I had looked at the menus and prices before I left (if you need menus and prices, I have a link I can send you, message me), but we figured that we would load up at the breakfast buffet that was included and we would be good until dinner. We are not drinkers, so we saved a ton of money there and only had a few sodas, mostly drank water, so our beverage tab was low. We never ate lunch except for the day we arrived, but the menu at the main restaurant is the same for lunch and dinner. My wife and I both felt that the portions were quite large, sometimes too much, and in the end was worth the money relative to being in French Polynesia. We had the Caesar salad, cheeseburger, club sandwich, yakitori chicken (which we named the yucky chicken, it was bad), BBQ pizza, Mahi Mahi Burger, crab gnocchi, Chinese noodles with chicken and vegetables, and the grilled sirloin steak. Everything, but the chicken, was pretty good but we concluded that most of the food lacked seasoning and spice. We never ordered room service or ate at the restaurant upstairs as the menu didn’t appeal to us, nor did we go to any of the dinner shows as we felt they were too overpriced. As compared to Bora Bora, the food was pretty similar, maybe a little more gourmet, but pretty much the same for what we eat. The breakfast buffet was great and so plentiful and such a variety. Load up and you’ll be set till dinner. Take some rolls too so you can feed the fish.

Room:

Not a true “overwater bungalow” as in Bora Bora, but still our room was very nice and had a rustic Polynesian feel. We stayed in premium OWB 615, at the end on the furthest island. We were looking to have lots of privacy. The room was well appointed and pretty open. There was a desk and chair, a comfy chair and ottoman and a larger daybed/sofa with a trundle below. On either size of the sofa was an end table, one with the fridge and the other with glassware. A sliding door could close off the bedroom for privacy. Bedroom had a large closet with hanging and shelves, and a safe. Bed was comfy and neither of us has sore backs in the morning. Side tables on either side of the bed had a clock and phone. Toilet area was enclosed, which was nice, but quite tight when closing the door and the toilet paper holder was positioned so far back on the side wall that it was hard to get to. Rest of the bathroom is all open, but there is another pocket door to close it off from the bedroom. A large tub, which we never used, shower and double sinks made it very comfortable. The deck is a very nice size with two loungers in the sun and a table and chairs that was covered. Then there was a lower deck with ladder to get into the water. We had the perfect room as our view was spectacular out to the horizon where we could see the sunrise and sunset and the surf breaking out on the reef. We had so many fish all day and even more at feeding time thanks to lots of rocks and coral. We saw a sea turtle and sharks a few times right from our deck. This is definitely better than Bora Bora, where the sandy bottom doesn’t lend itself to much marine life. If you love snorkeling, this is the room for you. The only small thing was that our room got a lot of boat/tour traffic because it was in the path of the waterway to get around the reef. Somewhat a bother when you are working on you no tan lines tan.

Grounds:

The resort has beautiful grounds that are expansive, yet intimate. They were always being maintained although some attention needs to be given to the bridges as they were getting pretty beat up. We enjoyed the winding paths during the day and at night and got a different experience at both times. No trash or empty glasses that we could see anywhere and pool chairs are meticulously positioned in a straight line. The beach is nice and flat, but could use a few more chairs on the sand. It is such a large area, and there is nothing there. Water was comfortable, but a little rocky, so wear shoes. Plenty of sun or shade to keep everyone happy. The pool was a little too cold for us and was surprised with the temperatures and constant sun, that it was not warmer. We have been to a few resorts in Mexico and the water there always gets warm in the afternoon with sun beating on it, but not here. But, the pool in Bora Bora was the same, a little chilly, but refreshing for a quick dip. Lobby is nice and very modern, but needed some background soft music to break up the quiet. Nice to have the turtle sanctuary and dolphins right on property, as they put on a nice show.

Staff:

I would say that 90-95% of the staff we encountered were happy, friendly and helpful. There was always a friendly morning and head nod from the housekeeping staff on the way to and from breakfast and the restaurant staff for breakfast and dinner was friendly and had no language barrier. A few minor issues we had were that we had booked an ATV tour with the concierge and we were sitting in the lobby and our pickup time had passed. Another ATV tour came for pickup of another group and we thought it was ours, so we got in, but it ended up being the wrong tour, and our tour had been cancelled because 2 of the ATV’s had broken down. The concierge said they tried to call, but of course we were in the lobby waiting. We returned to the room expecting a message saying the tour was cancelled, but there was nothing. You would assume they would leave a message. As Ambassador’s we were supposed to get free water every day in our room. There was 2 days that we did not, not a huge deal as it was fine to drink the tap water, but again a perk we were supposed to receive. In Bora Bora we received water every with a little sticker thanking us for being a loyal Ambassador. We threw our deck towels on the floor to be replaced and they never were, had to use bath towels the last two days. The pool towel cards is a joke to me, they are so strict with those cards and were not lenient at all. Plus the towel station is off to the side by the pool bar and there is never anyone there. Someone from the bar has to come out and get you a towel. They need to have it more centrally located to the beach and pools. In Bora Bora, there are no cards and you can get as many towels as you want from the pool boy located right at the pool. So, nothing terribly bothersome to ruin our vacation, but just small things that others might not even notice. I feel that the resort needs to better acknowledge the Ambassador program and follow what the amenities for being one are. I must add that our welcome gift was a handmade bar of soap, but in Bora Bora we got a nice tote bag and two bright blue pool towels that cost $40 US each in the gift shop, so no comparison there. All of the amenities for the program were acknowledged in Bora Bora and we were thanked several times for our loyalty, not totally so here. I will say that their internet is pretty good for being in the middle of nowhere and is much faster than in Bora Bora, where we could barely check our email. I was able to upload lots of photos to family while in Moorea.

If you are interested in photos, here is the link:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/11217621@N06/collections/72157644534521099/
also here are the ones from Bora Bora if you are interested:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/11217621@N06/collections/72157644590290630/

Room Tip: Try to splurge for a diamond room with a direct view of the mountain, it is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2travel2newplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Thank you very much for your detailed contribution on both Moorea et Bora Bora InterContinental resorts. We are sure that this will help a lot of TripAdvisor readers.

As Ambassadors members, we really wanted to thank you for your loyalty. The pictures you have posted on Flickr are gorgeous.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time to Bora Bora to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary along with 2 other couples from Denver, Colorado. It was a long trek, but worth it! Thanks to Claudia and her staff at Pacific for Less, our entire trip was extremely smooth and stress-free. If we get another chance to return, we'd definitely use this agency again. Bora Bora is truly spectacular for its beautiful blue water and scenery! From the moment we landed at the airport till our departure, we were amazed at how heavenly Bora Bora is. My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and this vacation has been the best, by far. The IC Thalasso is a beautiful resort and its friendly/professional staff is even more special. Our favorite staff member is Frederic (pool boy). He has a great sense of humor in addition to going above and beyond to serve us. During a weaving demonstration, he voluntarily made 2 hand bags for me. Another time, he taught my friend to play the ukulele while we sat around on the beach. By the way, I recorded Frederic setting a world-record for opening a coconut in 7 seconds!!! I have no regrets that we didn't choose the other 2 five-star resorts in Bora Bora, instead. Our 7-night stay (May 24 - May 31) at the ICT was pretty close to being perfect!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 116... nice and quiet with a lovely view of Mount O. from our deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quynh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Ia Orana Lisa, Greetings from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru for this gorgeous review!

First of all : congratulations! We are very proud for having made your 20th wedding anniversary a success!

We are very happy that you received amazing service from the lovely Fred! We will definitely make sure that your positive feedback is not left unheard.

Do not forget to plan your next trip to IC Thalasso so you can get your heart back! We would be very happy to take care of you once again.

Sunny Regards

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is beyond amazing! We stayed in an overwater bungalow for 4 nights in May and just loved it. We ate at the delicious breakfast buffett everyday, the Sands restaurant twice for dinner and also for lunch and the Polynesian show once. All of the food is very good. The service is fantastic and all of the staff we encountered were very friendly and always said hello. The location offers an excellent view of the mountain. I also went to the spa and had a massage in an overwater bungalow and watched the fish swim under me during the massage.
We took advantage of the kayaks, paddleboards and outrigger canoe each day and also snorkeled in the lagoon in front of the hotel.
Be sure to catch the sunset every night from the beach in front of Sands and the stingray feeding the hotel does daily at 2:00pm. Also, go check out the Pacific side.
Anyone staying at this hotel will hate to leave!

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow facing property was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

We are truly happy to read such a beautiful review.

We are glad to read that we have met your expectations. You seemed to have appreciate the water activities. What's better than paddling on such turquoise and calm lagoon ?

We hope to see you again soon at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa.

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We chose this hotel due to reviews and write ups in travel guides. When we got there we realized this was by far one of the best choices we could have made. Although we didn't see the inside of others, the over the water bungalows at this hotel are larger than any others that we saw. They're really nice with a plush King size bed, pull out couch, walk in closet, and nice deck. The resort has three restaurant choices, many free water activities (kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, windsurfer) and hot pool boys. Plus there is a free water taxi to the mainland other Intercontinental resort (Le Moana) so you save money on going to the big island. Super nice wait staff, dinner show on Mondays and Fridays, and fantastic food.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are slightly less private as the boat dock is over there and boats pass by f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Ia Orana Jen,

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

Mauruuru Roa for your glowing review. We really appreciate that you took some of your own time to give us a feedback.

We are thrilled to read you had a wonderful experience in the resort and enjoyed the free water activities as well as the restaurants.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to beautiful Bora Bora.

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My new wife and I stayed at the Bora Bora IC for 6 nights. The trip was absolutely amazing. I would go there every time. If you're out there deciding where you should go for your honeymoon or any vacation really, go to Bora Bora over Hawaii or other venues, at least once. We did and we're so happy for doing so. Don't get me wrong, it's very pricey, but so worth it. We did stayed two days at the Tahiti IC (Intercontinental) as well. The Tahiti IC was nice, but Bora Bora IC was incredible.

The positives far outweigh the negatives. I am only pointing out some things just because there is always room for improvement. We did a ton of research before choosing this resort. We are very happy with our choice.

Pros:
- Venue. The views are just amazing - from the villas, beach, pool, ocean, etc, etc, etc. Heck, it's Bora Bora - the view from the airport was breath-taking.
- The rooms are incredible. I could spend an hour on the room but I won't. Just go check it out yourself :-).
- The food was excellent.
- The beach is incredible. Not crowded at all - even though the resort was fully booked. You can get that perfect picture on the beach with no one around you, over and over again. That lovely umbrella to provide shade was always available.
- Loved the surfing boards and the other sport things they provided. Loved the ping-pong and pool tables. Only used them once but it was fun to have them available.
- Service. We had a few outstanding experiences. Simple stuff really: the Executive Chef was busily walking to one of the restaurants one day and saw us trying to get a selfie one day on a bridge and he was happy to take a picture of us. I'm sure he's a busy man and it was nice to see him so helpful. Another example: I managed to screw up the code on the safe. Called the main office and this very nice man (I wish I could remember his name) promised he'd be in our room in two minutes. I thought that was an exaggeration - it takes two minutes just to get in your go-cart and drive around. He was in our room in about a minute and a half, got the safe opened in a couple of minutes. On the way out, he asked if we needed a ride (we were heading to a restaurant) and he waited outside patiently for 5 minutes and gave us a ride. We really appreciated that. The girls at the concierge were always fantastic - my wife even had a favorite. It turned out it was the girl on the hotel's main web page, Laure Salabert.
- The resort was impeccable - incredibly clean, no bugs, insects, creatures crawling everywhere. Definitely bring some insect spray though. We used it a bit. I'm sure the amount of bugs, insects, and other animals varies month to month, season to seasn. We went at the end of May/beginning of June and it was fantastic.
- Little or no wind. The natural barrier protects the resort from the ocean wind and noise so nicely.
- Loved the check-in process - enjoying a cold beverage on the beach while someone took care of all the paperwork.
- Loved the day room for our last day. We enjoyed the resort all day before taking off for a late flight.
- Loved the entertainment: a couple of guys sang for us for a good 2-3 hours one night. It was really nice. The fire and dancing show was nice, too.
- Language. My wife was worried about not speaking French and we didn't practice any, as much as we said we would :-). Most staff spoke English. Where it matter most, they spoke very well: front desk, concierge, most restaurants, etc.

Cons:
- Points. Haven't seen them posted yet. I read another user's review about non-US stays not applying, so I'm not holding my breath. If that's really the case though, the staff at the front desk needs to be more transparent about it.
- Snorkeling gear. They provide the gear which is lovely. However, we had to try 5 different sets before we got two that didn't leak. That was a bit annoying. Get in the water, get some nice salt water in your nose and mouth, get out, go get another pair, repeat a few times. Not ideal. But once we found two good sets (our third day), the snorkeling was outstanding. Go by the chapel to see the best fish. If anyone from the IC is readying this post, please have those very nice young men from the pool test them out and throw away the bad ones.
- Not earth-shattering, but weird experience: our package included a romantic dinner. The dinner is in a separate outdoor patio. It was quite lovely and the food was very good. We were served promptly by 4-5 different folks throughout the dinner. At the end though we felt forgotten. After desert and coffee, nobody else came to check on us. I am assuming we didn't have to pay because it was included in the package so we left after a while - I doubt anyone noticed. I think they could have said something like: "there is no tab tonight, let us know if there is anything else we can get for you, other wise, good night" so we know to leave whenever we felt like it. It's a small thing and certainly didn't affect our overall experience that much, it was just a little weird. I think part of it is the fact that there was no designated waiter for this type of romantic dinner. They just send multiple folks with dishes, whoever is available, I presume.

Finally - we had never booked anything though Costco before, I've always been reluctant - after all, it's Costco, how good can the service be, right? We booked our trip through Costco this time. It was quite good. They planned everything including shuttles, flights, etc, etc. I would recommend Costco. The travel agents were quite helpful. We'll use them again in the future.

Go if you can. InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora was a once-in-a-life-time experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Ia Orana Michael, Greetings from Bora Bora,

You cannot imagine how grateful we are to you for your wonderfully positive feedback. MAURUURU!

We are so happy that we left such a great impression about the resort and the service from the staff. It seems that you did catch up the real spirit of the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us.

Since you have posted your comment, we have tested all the snorkeling gears and replaced the few leaking ones. We are changing the snorkeling gears very often in order to offer a great snorkeling experience.

We are sorry you found the romantic dinner experience weird. Your comments are currently being debriefed by the F&B Manager and his team and are receiving my personal attention. Comments such as yours are vital to our continued success and I thank you once again for your comments.

We do trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again to this beautiful island paradise of ours.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickamauga, Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Bora Bora was always my dream trip and the Intercontinental Thalasso made my dream a reality. I am a part of the Ambassador Club and was given the villa upgrade (as we booked well in advance of the change of the policy) My husband and I were there with friends to celebrate our 30th anniversary and renew of vows, and from the time we arrived at the dock would be special. The concierge-Laure and Sophie met us at the dock to go over our arrangements (I felt as if I knew them after my many emails) They took us to our room and we were amazed at the accommodations. Our bedroom had a huge bed with the most amazing view of the most perfect lagoon. The tub also had an amazing view of the lagoon.The living room has the coffee table that has the view of the water below. The deck has two levels.. The upper deck with the chassis lounges and table and the bottom one that you can go into the water..we even had a manta ray that greeted us at the step one morning. It was nice to just go off the deck and swim. I loved the after sun care in the rooms.. Wish we could have bought some of that!!

The ceremony day itself was amazing. We started the day with the canoe breakfast..it is expensive but there is so much food and where else would you have this experience? As the table was being set up we were giving a ride in the canoe by Captain Cook where my husband tried the "pu" shell (not that easy to master) Laure and Sophie had planned the hair stylist, photographer and videographer for the ceremony. They planned every detail down to the minute and I never had to worry about one detail not being perfect. It was a gorgeous celebration and I owe it all to Laure and Sopie's planning. I would give them 10 stars!!

The water equipment is free to use-snorkel, paddle board and kayak. We used both the paddle boards and kayak and had a great time. The hotel was at full capacity but we never felt crowded, as the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have your dream vacation. On one of our days we jet skied around the whole island and I can tell your from that experience, this hotel has the best lagoon of any hotel (we met couples that stayed on the other side island and they said they wish they had stayed at our hotel for the calmness of the water among other reasons) you can take the shuttle to the sister island during the day for free and go on the main island up until 4:30. There is a charge after 4:30.

Even though we had the meal plan, we paid the up charge and at at Le Corail. It was a wonderful dinner. We ate dinner at the lunch/dinner at the Sands and breakfast at the Reef and they were good also.

We have already started talking about a return trip with our friends in the future and I would only consider staying at the Thalasso. I have never been treated so wonderfully in all my life! Thanks to everyone that made our dream anniversary trip a realty
.. Especially Laure and Sophie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

We are delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa. Thank you for all those great comments.

First, congratulations on your wedding. We are happy to see that you had a beautiful ceremony. A special thanks to Laure and Sophie who definitely were your references. Your review rewards their fantastic work!

Please, feel free to contact the Resort so we can assist you making your next reservation.

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.6 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing