We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just returned from our honeymoon and stayed in an end-of-pontoon Diamond OWB. Without question the most exceptional weather, views, and serenity I have ever experienced. Every picture and review will pale in comparison to experiencing Bora Bora in person, and it is one bucket list item that really hurts to cross off!

Pros: first impression of the resort, cleanliness, location, complimentary WiFi for Ambassador members, swimming pool and lounge area, fitness center, spa, breakfast, cocktails (Happy Hour), sunrises over the Pacific, star-gazing, unplugging from the world, privacy, boat shuttle to Moana.

We were a little let-down by the lack of food variety (excluding breakfast). Obviously, this is French Polynesia, but food variety on the mainland is far superior than on the motu. We were also caught off guard by the number of beetles/roaches/lizards in our bungalow. We completely understand that this is an outdoor resort, but we "found" significantly more than expected. Last, you will read reviews of some resorts where guests had items stolen, and sadly this resort will make that list. A few days into our stay we had some duty-free liquor stolen by hotel staff, and our complaint was not handled as well as it could have been. Ensure everything of value is in your room safe, and don't hesitate to prevent hotel staff from entering your bungalow.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a mountain view due to the exceptional views (rainbows, sunsets, etc.). If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanh820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    276
    70
    38
    17
See reviews for
217
1,805
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I just returned from a trip to the InterContinental Bora Bora with my husband and two teenaged daughters. We had a fabulous time there! Our over-water bungalow was spacious and comfortable. We loved the kayaks and paddle-boards available for our daily use. The weather and views were exceptional. We appreciated the fine service we received from the entire staff. I especially want to note the excellent service that Rodrigue from the front office provided to us, responding to my email inquiries before we arrived, personally greeting us at the dock upon our arrival, and working hard to address our special requests. Thank you - we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: While the bungalows have the same floor plan, the view and degree of privacy gets better further out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jsr610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your beautiful family experience in our resort.

We are glad to read that you and your family have found plenty of things to do in our resort. It is true that families love to share moments together by kayaking or paddling onto the lagoon.

A special thanks to Rodrigue who was definitely your reference. We are proud he did an excellent job throughout your stay!

Thank you again for sharing, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My partner & I stayed here for nearly 3 weeks in December 2011 & had the most fabulous time. Breathtaking scenery, staff were all wonderful and the food was amazing. The New year celebrations were above & beyond our expectations. We have yet to find another place on earth we have enjoyed so much and hope to return next year for my 50th birthday. For some reason we forgot to write a review when we returned.

Chris & Jacque

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacquewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Ia Orana Chris & Jacque, Greetings from Bora Bora,

Thanks a lot for your comment!

We are very flattered to read you are still looking for a place that you enjoyed as much as the IC Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa.

We would be thrilled to make you experience a flawless stay again.
Should you need assistance for your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited in March 2013, and stayed in a Diamond room. Everything about our experience was phenomenal, the attention to detail by everyone we encountered was spectacular. This is a wonderful place to come if you want to get away from it all and be pampered. The hardest decision of the day was whether to swim in the lovely infinity pool while sipping drinks, or swim in the glorious blue water either from the beach or your own personal deck. There are ample chaises for lounging where ever you decide, hammocks to sway in as well, if that is your desire. There are kayaks etc for clients to use as they desire, so you can be active out on the water as well. The dive shop on premises was great from both a novice and experienced diver's perspective. We also did an all day activity (organized by the hotel) snorkeling with rays and sharks, and we found the experience to be well run and really fun. The spa was outstanding, we did a couples massage on our last day, and only wish we had done it earlier. There is a regular water taxi if you want to go to the other property or into town, so day trips are easily done. The only comment that I have that could be improved upon is the menu. It is pretty set, so if you are there for more than a few days you'll be repeating things. With this in mind, there could be a better selection of truly vegetarian options. All in all, we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest, Greetings from Bora Bora,

Congratulations on your honeymoon and thanks a lot for your feedback!

It's been already over a year since you came. We must have made a great impression...

We are all delighted that our attention to detail did not go unnoticed. I

I have forwarded your remarks to the Executive Chef. Comments such as yours are vital to our continued success.

We hope you will be back at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa very soon again.

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I couldn't imagine a better place on earth to spend a honeymoon!! The Intercontinental was flawless and the staff amazing! The resort offered a peaceful, modern, and serene atmosphere with many adventures available. We lounged on the beach in the morning after breakfast, and we enjoyed our private balcony at the bungalow in the afternoon with room service delivered for lunch. The view of the mount Otemanu was the best of the entire island!! If you are looking for adventure: we paddle boarded, fed the stingrays, learned to open coconuts, used the paddle boat, and the snorkling was AMAZING!! I could snorkel for hours in the small lagoon area near the chapel. Bring an underwater camera. Lastly, I would highly recommend a stingray, snorkel, and shark tour!! The staff helped us to arrange a private boat tour with another couple (about $100 per person for 4 hours). We snorkeled, fed stingrays and reef sharks, and we were taken outside of the lagoon to see the lemon sharks! Afterwards, we were dropped off at Bloody Mary's by boat to have lunch. Overall, truly a remarkable place! I forgot to mention the food....it was delicious!! You must do the meal plan if it is available! We also saw a double rainbow from our bungalow :) The color of turquoise water is even more beautiful in person....truly flawless!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thalia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest, Greetings from Bora Bora,

MAURUURU ROA for this amazing feedback!

First, congratulations on your honeymoon!

What else could we add? It seems that you had so many great adventures in Bora Bora...

We are thrilled you loved the snorkeling near the Chapel. All credit goes to Bora Eco Fish for taking care of the laguna and all its exotic marine life.

We hope you will be back soon in our little turquoise paradise...

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The InterContinental Thalasso was absolutely everything we could have wanted. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful and really get to know you and seem to care. Stephane and Nicole, in particular, made an already wonderful experience that much better. We found ourselves looking forward to seeing them every day at breakfast and lunch. The concierge staff was amazing too, they seemed to always be there and were very helpful recommending and booking activities and planning around the changing weather. The overwater villas are fantastic, huge, private, comfortable and beautiful. The food was great, with huge portions and reasonably priced given how expensive everything is on the island. The buffets were great, with a huge variety and fantastic quality. The grounds are immaculate and expansive, but still feel very cozy. You will NOT go wrong selecting this resort!

Room Tip: Join the InterContinental Ambassador program to secure early check in, late check out, and a free ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiL236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru roa for taking time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to read you have had a wonderful time in the resort.

Your kind words will be most appreciated by our Executive Chef, Thibault Peyroche d'Arnaud and his team of Culinary Artists who work tirelessly to provide an array of international cuisine each day.

Your great mentions to the Conciergerie have been well received. They work hard to recommend the best activities on the island.

Thank you again for sharing, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We expected everything to be perfect, and amazing, and wonderful. So when we arrived (about 2pm) and our room wasn't ready we were a little surprised. We were told to go have lunch, the manager would pick up the bill, and our room would be ready when we were finished. No service is perfect, and a place should be judged on how it deals with situations that are not. They dealt with it perfectly.
Everything else about our stay was perfect. The food is amazing. The french wine is superb (and not as expensive as expected). The rooms are incredible. A very spacious one bedroom, with the most incredible view. The staff are brilliant *especially the maitre d' who knew our names and drink preferences by day 2.
And the spa...anything less than 1/2 a day will not do it justice. The most relaxing place on earth, set in the most beautiful place on earth.

Yes, it was the most expensive week long holiday we've ever had. Yes, it was worth every cent and I will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Diamond Otemanu, on the left branch as you look out at the lagoon. I would prefer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Thanks a lot for your review!

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all very pleased to see that you enjoyed the food, the Spa and your bungalow. Our staff always makes you feel very welcome.

We are glad, also, that the situation upon your arrival has been handled properly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing