We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just returned from this paradise couple weeks ago. All three of us, including my 6-year old daughter, had a wonderful time. We booked our package from costco and everything went very well. The hotel boat transfer picked us up from the airport right after we landed at the Bora Bora airport.

Check in was fast and welcome drinks were provided which was a nice touch. Since we arrived early in the morning and our room was not ready yet, they provided a day room for us to have a quick shower and refreshing up. We were glad to hear that we were given double upgrade from Emerald to Diamond OWB as hubby is the ambassador member which was nice.

Our Diamond OWB was amazing with water deep enough to dive into the lovely blue water. The villa is nice with a separate bedroom area. Bed was comfortable with the awesome view of the water. They have a pull out bed under the sofa and made a bed for my daughter. They made my daughter feel so special as they delivered different treats for my little one every afternoon. From tray of candies to chocolate crepes and fruits.

Meals are very pricey so we highly recommend to have breakfast and dinner included in your package. Breakfast buffet was nice with plenty fresh pastries and fruit juices. Although not big selections but you will find the typical American breakfast selections and some Polynesian dishes. We ordered lunch on the beach and they will deliver to you which was nice. We had dinner at both Sands and Reefs restaurants. Service was hit or miss and sometimes we found our wine glasses were empty but no one around to pour us the wine even the restaurants were not busy. Food was ok but I would expect much more for a 5 stars hotel especially compared to other IC in other countries we've been to.

We enjoyed just chill out at the beach. Kayak, paddle boards and boats are free so we took advantage of it and paddled out and around the resort almost everyday. They have stingray feeding at the beach everyday at 2 p.m. and it is so cool to see those stingrays up close at the beach.

Overall almost everything was awesome. The only disappointment was we didn't get the late check-out even my hubby is the ambassador member (which I thought it supposed to be guaranteed for members).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank snowbunnymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

We thank you for your magnificient review.

We are very pleased to read that you and your family have had wonderful days at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa.

We are also happy to see that your daughter appreciated the little attentions. We love to see smiles on kids' face.

We hope to see the three of you soon to make you experience a flawless stay.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We just returned from our Honeymoon with this being our first stop. We enjoyed 6 beautiful days in heaven in Bora Bora at the InterContinental Thalasso-Spa. From start to finish, they made our time there the most memorable experience we have ever had. Our bungalow was beautiful, we rarely left our private dock despite them having a beautiful beach. The bungalow has plenty of space, a very comfortable bed, and a wonderful view of the island. We logged all of our activities with the concierge and they confirmed everything for us. We purchased the breakfast and dinner plan which was a life saver since everything is so expensive there. Breakfast was our favorite meal each day and the dinner shows (definitely see the fire dancers) were great.

What amazed me the most was, despite them insisting that the resort was full, we never had to fight for a beach chair or spot by the pool. It never felt crowded, which was exactly what we were looking for after a great wedding.

We only went to the main island one day, but the InterCon makes it so easy to get there. They have boats going between their sister resort on the main island at pretty regular intervals and if you leave the Thalasso-Spa before 5, there is no cost. We did a 4x4 sunset tour with Vavau 4x4 tours which was unbelievable followed by the mandatory dinner at Bloody Mary's. We also did a Jet Ski tour and boat tour with a private lunch on Moana Jet Boat's private motu. It was one of the most memorable experiences I've ever had, Peter and Antoine made our time with them very special.

Obviously when a resort has Spa in it's name, you need to try it. My wife and I had a couples massage in their overwater chairs. You look through a glass window at fish and beautiful coral. The massage was great and having access to the rest of the Spa was worth the price alone. Sitting in a hot tub looking at the mountain while sipping champagne was a great way to end our day. While I went scuba diving, my wife went back for a facial and body wrap that she raved about.

In summary, we are dying to go back. It is a must do for anyone who thinks they have seen the best tropical paradise the world has to offer. I can promise that after to going to Bora Bora you will see that it really is the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside if you are not going to get one of the Diamond Suites. This way you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Steve, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

What a beautiful review. As we would say in French Polynesia : "Mauruuru Roa" !

It is for us a great pleasure to read that you had the most memorable experience ever. The Conciergerie team works hard to provide the best activities to our guests so memories can last forever. It seems that they gave you very good advices when booking your activities.

We absolutely love the pictures you have posted on TripAdvisor. The view from the jacuzzi at Deep Ocean Spa is really one to remember for a lifetime.

Thanks again and do not hesitate to contact us should you require any information for your next reservation at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just wanted to follow up with a fair and honest review. When we first began this process, our agent had sent the Le Moana resort to help me stay in budget. After reading reviews online, I am so glad we ultimately went to the Thalasso Spa. Sharing this so it may help someone else when planning their trip. Obviously if you can afford it. I would compare these hotels as a Holiday Inn vs a Ritz. I forget the actual cost difference, but I would highly recommend that anyone making this trip to seriously consider the upgrade. This was our second trip to Bora Bora, this time for our 10yr anniversary and I have to say it was incredible. So much was related to the quality of the location, service, and resort. The staff treated us like royalty the entire time. We packed our bathing suits and some toiletries in our carry-on expecting that our room would not be ready upon arrival at 9am. To our total surprise the hotel offered us a day-room which allowed us to shower, change and go enjoy the beach while we waited to check in. The check-in procedure was fantastic as they gave us a cold drink and welcomed us to the resort. The resort has one of the best locations in Bora Bora for many reasons. The views of the main island were amazing. The lagoon/beach area were great for swimming and they offered a free ray feeding every day at 2pm. Right at the resort! When we finally got to our room, we were both blown away at how large the over-water villa was and how new everything was. Twice as large as our last OW Villa. Both of us were pinching ourselves. I know everyone is excited for the first time, but we knew what to expect and it far exceeded our expectations. The view of Mt. Otemanu was perfect and they thought of every amenity possible. The docks were made from soft asphalt and it was like walking on a cushion. So nice! As we made it to the restaurants, we found 3 options ranging in price and menu. Very convenient hours and nice to have some choice. Breakfast was included each day with our package which was great is it would have run about $80 for both of us per day. I would recommend anyone going plan to have dinner at the main island. Bloody Mary's is still our top pick. The hotel was pricey and food was average. So many good options on the main island that we wish we booked more dinners there. Hotel offered several Tahitian shows per week during dinner. The pool boys were extremely friendly and put on shows on how to open coconuts, etc. Just great that they thought of everything. You did have to claim your seats before breakfast but usually easy to find a chair on the beach or the pool. They provided their own snorkeling lagoon that was stocked with fish and coral. Will take some time to fill in , but they are working on it. The gym was good enough to get a quick workout in. We never made it to the spa, but you would get a massage above the lagoon so you would stare at fish the whole time. The concierge staff also treated us like royalty for excursion planning or dinner reservations. They always met new guests at the dock and saw us off when we departed.
The reason I am so sour on the Le Moana resort is that was our point to get to the main island. Our boat ran about every 90min to La Moana and we would take taxis from there. Le Moana is just in a tough location if it's windy. It was a very windy week and we had complete shelter at our hotel. The guests at Le Moana lost about 4 beach days due to high winds. Their restaurant has wind shields, so it must be common. Many of them were lucky enough to take the boat to our resort for the day, and it sounds like a few of them moved hotels once they saw the difference. Le Moana showed it's age and was a big downgrade from Thalasso. The restaurant, menu, rooms, and just overall feel was not what you would expect on Bora Bora. We took the Jet Ski Tour through Moana Adventures which I would highly recommend to anyone in the physical shape. 2 hours around the island at 50mph, with time for fun and swimming. Saw all of the resorts from the water and I think Thalasso had the best location for views, beach, etc. Yes, even versus the higher end hotels. Le Moana is next to Matira Beach which was beautiful but also a hangout for the locals(public beach), so it was not as relaxing as our own.
On our last day, we decided to squeeze in the private boat tour. The concierge was able to get a custom pickup time between check-out and our departure so we could make our flights. This is a MUST for anyone gong to Bora Bora. It made the trip! Private Island Lunch for 2, swam with and fed rays, swam with sharks in the open ocean, snorkeled at the coral gardens, swam with manta rays, etc. Worth every penny after all of that flying. Fishing was "ok" Boat was still very old and 3 hrs did not give much time to find some fish. I did get a wahoo, but it was very lucky. I would steer people away from fishing there as the odds are slim you will catch something during a 1/2 day trip or $1100. The hotel also gave us a day-room after check-out so we could shower and change before our flights. Such a great idea!
My only two complaints would be the speed of service at the hotels. Drinks and food took forever. Happy hour barely gave you 2 drinks by the time they were served. Also, the frequency of the boats to the main island and back were a problem at night. We would need to wait up to 90 min after dinner to get home. Better planning on our part and we would have hung at the restaurant longer. And the Le Moana just wasnt the place you wanted to be stuck at. I highly recommend anyone flying in picks up some duty free liquor in LA first. Saved us a ton of money. 2 liters per person was allowed and had no issue transferring to bora bora. The carry on bag weight and size is an issue to/from bora bora. They made us check our carry on and warned us of the weight.
We stayed 6 days on Bora Bora as it was too short to keep moving around to other islands. By far the only place we wanted to be as we love the water more than land. Other islands offer their own attractions, but if you love the lagoon and water, this is the place! Here is our highlight video. Happy to answer any questions.
http://vimeo.com/102264138

Room Tip: I would highly suggest the Otemanu view OW Villa. Preferrably on the outside of the beach to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Ia Orana David, Greetings from Bora Bora,

What a stunning review! Thank you very much for having taken the time to write it with so many details!

We are thrilled to read that we have exceeded your expectations especially knowing that it was your second time in Bora Bora.

I have just watched your video entirely and be sure I will share it with the hotel staff. There are so many beautiful images. Thank you for sharing it!

We cannot wait to welcome you and your wife back, David!

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

If you love that white sand bottom blue blue water, you'll love this place. Don't expect to get ANYTHING cheap here. EVERYTHING is way expensive, ridiculously expensive actually. We've traveled the world and never found a more expensive place, yet it was worth every penny. That is how amazing this place is. Stay in the diamond level bungalows for the best view. Order room service for dinner and eat it on the deck. They will set up the table like a restaurant table, and the food is fantastic. We kept doing that because it was so beautiful and intimate on our deck. TopDive is the scuba diving company there at the boat dock. They are professional and helpful. Sharks on every dive! It was great.
The spa is top notch! Very nice to get a massage while looking through a glass floor at the fish and coral and beautiful water.
All excursions are so expensive. We took an hour Hobie-cat sailboat ride with Olivier for $300. That's about the least expensive thing there is to do there. Jet ski riding is about $500 an hour.
Weather you have lots of money to spend or just plenty, you will love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davesanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru for your great review regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa.

We are thrilled to read you have had wonderful days in our resort. We are also very happy to read that you loved our room service for your dinners. Indeed, the attention to details for a room service are the same that in our restaurants.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

It exceeded all of our expectations! The overwater bungalows were bigger then expected and the open top coffee tables were such a cute touch. The beds, bath tubs and sofas all faced the ocean so wherever you are you are surrounded by beautiful views! The food was great and the service was always good! It will blow you away!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krissykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Thanks a lot for your amazing feedback!

It was a pleasure to make you experience a flawless stay. The views from all around the resort are stunning, I agree!

We look forward to welcome you back in our beautiful destination.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our 15 year anniversary this month in Bora Bora at the Intercontinental Bora Bora Thalasso. It was an amazing experience which was largely due to the superior level of service and the quality of the hotel accommodations! We loved the view we had from our bedroom in bungalow 218 of Mt Otemanu. The only issues we had at the hotel were a few times when the wifi didn't work in our bungalow and the power went off twice for a short period of time during our stay.

Other than that our stay at the hotel was spectacular! We would definitely stay here again! You must do the spa while you're here too because they gave me the best massage ever!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BridgesOhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru roa for posting this beautiful review!

Congratulations on your 15 years anniversary. Was there a better way to celebrate it than staying at the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa ? Apparently there was not!

We are happy to read that you were fully satisfied with your stay and the "awesome" service that our staff offer with a smile on their face...

We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered. Please be aware that you can call someone from the team at anytime so we can help you out.

We hope to see you again soon... in 5 years to celebrate your 20 years anniversary?

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We got married here and it was simply the most amazing place on earth. One of if not the best resorts at Bora Bora.
- Scenery, beyond amazing.
- Facilities, outstanding.
- Staff, couldnt do enough for us, so friendly.
- Cost, expensive but get a package to save $$$.
- Thalasso Spa was a must do for the day.
- Activities, awesome from daily Stingray feeding to paragliding to lazing by the pool or swimming from your own overwater bungalow.
- Conclusion, if you are thinking of going to Bora bora.....DO IT, its one of the best places to visit in the world, and this resort will not dissapoint.

Room Tip: go for a diamond room for best view...worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mark, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru roa for such a magnificent review !

First, congratulations on your wedding!

We love to read positive feedbacks like yours. It is such a beautiful reward for our staff.

Thanks again, we are looking forward to welcoming you again Mark.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,715 reviews
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.6 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: £675 - £960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing