We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“luxury in paradise”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

St Regis exceeded our expectations at every turn. We spent half of our honeymoon on Moorea (at the Hilton) and half on Bora Bora (at St. Regis). At first we were unsure of where to stay on Bora Bora - the Four Seasons vs the St. Regis. Now i can only comment on my personal experience and what was told to us about the Four Seasons (for my comparison, skip to the bottom).

Concierge service - top notch. For example, when setting up a SCUBA trip, we were told that about 10 others would be on the boat (with TOP dive - which seems like the McDonalds of French Polynesia diving). The concierge took notice of our disappointment, immediately found another dive service (DIVEASY - wonderful experience) and set up our trip (same price and it was a private boat). By the way, we didn't even get the chance to ask for a different dive company. This was all done after hearing only a of couple uneasy groans.

Location: great views of Mt. Otemanu. Calm lagoon. Crystal clear water. Beautiful sunsets (despite setting behind a low portion of the main island). This is not seen with all resorts (pay attention to where your resort is located on the island)

Bungalows: large, clean, and modern. The water is deep off the private deck, which allows for a nice morning / evening swim. The beds were incredibly comfortable.

Staff: very responsive. We had a great bungalow at first, but did not have a sunset view. The management took notice and upgraded us for our last two nights (to one with a private pool and a sunset view). Everyone is polite and goes out of their way to help. I do not believe we heard the word "no" our entire trip.

Restaurants: Sushi (which we did not partake - heard mixed reviews from other couples); fine dining (Jean George - phenomenal meal. take advantage and get a reservation to eat on the terrace. The sommelier, despite being only 23, was very helpful and knowledgeable); last, but definitely not least, was their main restaurant. Worth a night. The food was outstanding.

St Regis v Four Seasons: Ultimately, the reasons we chose St Regis were that (through Tahiti Legends):
1) They provided more "included" perks. We had a complementary 50min couples massage, bottle of champagne, upgrade (even before the upgrade experience noted above), and flower turn down. You may be able to get these items through a different travel company with the Four Seasons, but its definitely worth it to look into it.

2) We were told that St Regis bungalows are larger (which you can confirm on their web sites).

3) St Regis provides complementary boat shuttles to the main island (which you may or may not want to take advantage of). I do not believe that the Four Seasons has a complementary shuttle. The only times when this is useful is when you want to grab dinner on the island (I highly recommend villa mahana; everyone will tell you to go to Bloody Mary's, but it's very similar to a night at a Margaritaville), go into town to grab some groceries (alcohol, juice, snacks), or when to explore the island / town (I don't highly recommend the latter).

Room Tip: direct views of Mount Otemanu are with bungalows 101-110 and 218 -229. The 300s will have a sunRISE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RunningGatorDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,772
    209
    69
    38
    21
See reviews for
213
1,625
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I went on my honeymoon to bora bora and thanks to my luck i booked my stay at st. Regis. The staff here are wonderful and really go out of their way to help us.. Specially food as my wife and i being vegetarians.

We checked in and after 2 nights they upgraded us to the sunset side overwater villa which is wonderful and totally romantic!!!

The more i write less it is!!!!!! Every1 should go to this hotel....


CELEBRITY SEVICE.. MAKES YOU FEEL REALLY IMPORTANT AND SPECIAL....

Room Tip: sunset facing.... over water villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vishalgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wonderful husband organised this surprise trip to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, and it was just wonderful. From the time we stepped into the airport in Bora Bora to leaving, we had an awesomely relaxing holiday.
We were greeted by St Regis staff and welcomed onto their "yacht" for transfers to the resort. Photos were taken and our luggage was sorted.
The trip to the resort is short and wonderful for getting a feel for the Bora Bora Lagoon, and upon arrival we are introduced to our butler, who takes us on a golf cart tour of the extensive resort, giving information about the restaurants, spa and pools, before dropping us at our overwater bungalow - and WOW what a bungalow!
We had the (dare I say it) - cheapest (ha!) level, but all bungalows other than the royal or two bedrooms have the same size and layout. One advantage of ours was that it was closest to the main resort facilities, but no sunset or mountain view - which honestly did not matter. We had a beautiful view of the lagoon, beautiful crystal aqua water to jump into off our deck and wonderful amenities. One reason my husband chose this resort was because of the size of the bungalows, and they are so roomy. Huge bathroom with bath, shower and two basins, as well as a separate toilet, and luggage/wardrobe area. The bedroom was roomy and there is a separate lounge, as well as a large deck area to lounge on and outdoor table and chairs. There are numerous floor "windows" to the lagoon below.
Things we really enjoyed during our stay:
* The Oasis pool - this small pool has 5 private cabanas with their own plunge pool and access to the larger waterfall pool. It is first in first served to get a cabana, but we had no problems - only once did we see all the cabanas occupied. It was a lovely place to relax and sunbathe, or lie in the shade, swim and enjoy views of Mt Otemanu.
* Bikes to get around on. A great idea to take a bike for the day to get from bungalow to pool to lagoon to restaurants. Such fun!
* Free transfers to the town on the main island. Boat shuttle then bus at set times gives access to the town, we used this once, but I know some people organised their own activities through the town travel/activity organiser as it was much cheaper than through the resort.
* Food - a good range of choices and great presentation. There is not a lot of difference in price between the three restaurants, and each has it's own style. The food was delicious and portions well sized. Nice touches with complimentary breads, amuse bouche, and petit fours (if you're lucky) Breakfasts were great too - good to set you up for a hard day of relaxing or exploring.
* There is a good range of non-motorised water sports - kayaks, Hobie cats, paddle boards and pedal boats free for your use, and snorkel gear is provided free for the length of your stay.

What to watch out for - we wished we'd thought of bringing some wine with us from Duty Free to enjoy in our room. Food and wine is expensive, but you kind of gulp and do it anyway, because there isn't a choice. Even the wine we bought at the town supermarket was 3x the price we'd pay at home for same bottle (but about half what the resort would charge).
We emptied the mini bar onto the cabinet so we had more fridge space - the resort puts a charge on them emptying the mini bar for you.
Organised activities are not cheap - excursions around the island are phenomenally expensive, so look at what you can do with independent operators before you go and book them.
Don't expect much interesting snorkeling around the resort. The Lagoon is that awesome colour because it's got a sandy bottom, not much coral. The Lagoonarium in the resort is your best option, but we were disappointed after our previous Pacific Islands experiences with the range of underwater life. You can pay to go on snorkeling tours outside of the resort.
Things go really quiet on Sundays - even the resort service seemed not up to par that day, and there are no trips to the mainland offered as nothing is open.

Overall we did have a fabulous time doing very little. We had a Private Beach lunch included in our package, this was lovely and a good way to make something special about our actual anniversary. The resort also sent an amaaaazing chocolate cake to our room with special congratulations! A lovely touch totally unexpected.
Service was efficient and our requests were dealt with promptly. We'd definitely recommend this resort for a special occasion. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for - awesome location, huge rooms, excellent service and beautiful food.

Room Tip: You pay extra for the view, not the room size. Rooms all same layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CarolynHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I can't even begin to explain this place with words. It is JUST like what you see online, on postcards, etc.. Not only was Bora Bora one of the most amazing places we've been to, the resort is what put the honeymoon over the top. The staff was amazing - Especially Mathieu. He sat with us to review our itinerary and made a copy for us. The entire staff always smiling, greeting us, let us know that if we needed ANYTHING, they would take care of it immediately. And somehow they all knew our names - pretty cool. The rooms were sooo nice and VERY CLEAN which is very important to us. The one thing that was just OK was the food. Overpriced and not THAT amazing. But everything else was so amazing, you sort of forget about that. A big thank you to "Pacific For Less" which is the travel agency we used to book. They made the process SO easy from beginning to end. Great experience - would recommend anyone to use them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We went to St Regis Bora Bora on our Honeymoon and it was AMAZING! We had never spent so much on a hotel before and weren't even sure it was worth the money but having been I can honestly say I don't regret it at all, and I will never forget it!

The celebrity service started right at the airport when we were picked up by an enormous luxury yacht, all the other hotels just had runabouts there collecting people but we felt so special to be getting on the most amazing boat there!

From that moment it just got better, our room was incredible, truely incredible to the point where we were laughing out loud while the staff were showing us around, it was bigger than our two bedroom apartment at home. The bathroom is stunning and the deck with outdoor shower was just amazing. Check out the photos, it's just spectacular!

We visited a few other resorts for meals while we were there. As it's a small island you can generally see most resorts while you're travelling around on boat. I would say this is the nicest resort on the island by far.

The Shark & Sting Ray Feeding Tour was awesome, awesome, awesome - do it! It's not scary, it's amazing.

We felt like Brangelina and were treated as such - i certainly wouldn't trade it in but i will say one thing, this is a couples resort. If you are looking to meet people, party or have a night life at your hotel, I would suggest Le Meridian next door. The rooms are nowhere near the size of St Regis, but we went over a few times for lunch/drinks as there were a lot more young people and more 'going on'. They also have a great Turtle sanctuary where you can swim with the sea turtles which is definately worth the time :)

One other thing - the food is VERY expensive, we went over to the main island and bought some groceries because we couldn't afford to eat lunch & dinner at the hotel...but it worked out well :)

If you are hesitant about spending the cash, just do it! You won't regret it, we don't!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Bora Bora is, without a doubt, one of the most beautiful places in the world. The clear blue lagoon waters and the constant presence of Mt. Otemanu make every picture worthy of a postcard. My wife and I just recently returned back from our wonderful trip in May 2012 and our stay was nearly perfect. If you can afford to make trip, you won't regret it.

SERVICE:
The service and the facilities were very nice, but I think we had it better than the other guests thanks to Frederick Gerday, the guest services executive that was kind enough to act as our butler during our stay. Each group is assigned a personal butler and we specifically asked for Frederick, based on earlier reviews that my wife had read on Trip Advisor. That may have been our best decision of all! Frederick called us every day to make sure we had everything we needed, picked us up for dinner every night, and left us personal notes in our room or at dinner. He even coordinated w/ the restaurant to have a couple that we met to sit at a table next to us and also left them a note. We spoke with other couples at the resort and assumed they were getting the same level of service, only to find our that they never saw their personal butler after check-in. Many thanks to Frederick Gerday who made our trip so magical – it wouldn’t have been the same without him!

ROOM:
We were glad we decided to stay in both the private pool villas for 2 nights and the overwater bungalows for 3 nights. We personally enjoyed the pool villas more. The villa was huge and extremely private and we loved lying in the hammock or in the pool with the ocean breeze to cool us off.
Our last three nights were spent in an overwater bungalow with a mountain view. We definitely felt less secluded here, but the bungalows still allow for privacy and the view was amazing. We used the jacuzzi tub on the deck extensively, almost as much as the pool at the villa. Swimming in the lagoon water was also nice, but not as relaxing.

FOOD:
Overall the food was very good. Dinner at the Lagoon was as nice as any restaurant we've been to (the lamb chops and the satay appetizer were two of our favorites) and you can't find a view like it anywhere else. Breakfast and lunch were also very good, the club sandwich (with a fried egg!) at Te Pahu was my personal favorite. However, we were disappointed with the sushi, it was average and I expected better. Wherever you decide to eat for dinner, I recommend making reservations so that you get the best seats and get the time you want.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We thought that hilton at moorea was good..until we landed at bora bora and were escorted by a private 70ft yacht to our room at st. regis resort.

The staff was welcoming, warm, cheerful and spoke ENGLISH! The food was good, pricy but worth it, service was AMAZING, the staff even called us by our last name throughout our stay. Our room was upgraded to a 2 bedroom ocean view with pool, free champagne, late checkout complimentary, massage, and so much more all to make our honeymoon experience the most amazing time ever!

We were so blown awa that we are now planning our anniversary there again next year. This place is HEAVEN on earth. We even managed to find a fishing rod and catch some jack fish, snapper and other funky looking fish from the back of our room.

This is a CLASSY hotel with the finest in class. They dont only meet your expectations, they seem to always go above and beyond to exceed every expectation. The only "issue" we had was a late lunch which we pre-ordered for 1pm delivery, but it didnt come until 3 pm....But...we didnt even have a chance to complain! the hotel comped lunch, drinks, dinner and gave us a sincere apology for the miscommunication. All of this was done at their own discretion without us even saying a word! This is a TOP KNOTCH operation that shoudl inspire businesses to focus on customer service and loyalty. They have earned our business as starwood preferred guests for life.

Thank you again st. regis. you are truly the BEST OF THE BEST!

Marshall & Natalya Sklar
Boca Raton, FL

Room Tip: try for an upgrade if available, we got an amazing upgrade to ocean view, 2 bedrooms with pool! LUCK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marshall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,611 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing