We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding snorkeling resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding snorkeling resort!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our family of 5 spent 5 nights at the beginning of April. We had an ow suite and a beach bungalow. The kids enjoyed the beach bungalow as it was right on the beach and steps from the pool. Our ow suite was fabulous with a huge bathroom, deck and sunset views. We did have a few very large cockroaches in our suite- but that is no fault of the resort. We had not come across any in our other stays if FP, so I think we have just been lucky.
We found the snorkeling under the regular ow bungalows to be much better than under the suites. The coral is more dense in that area. The snorkeling under the ow bungalows is the best we have experienced in FP. (Our other stays were the Hilton Moorea and Kia Ora Rangiroa) We were in a snorkelers paradise!
The staff at the reception are very warm and friendly. Unfortunately, the staff in the dining room were not as friendly and we felt like we were putting them out. We had just come off of 8 nights at the Kia Ora where the staff treat you like family, so it was a dramatic change. It's a shame, because at such a small resort you should not feel like you are a nuisance. There were usually only one or two other tables eating at breakfast, but the staff still seemed put out to get the kids some hot chocolate. Towards the end, we just stopped asking. Quite a change from Kia Ora where they remember what you ordered the first day and bring it to your table without even asking. Our two daughters are fluent in French(one having just studied in Paris for a semester) and had so much fun talking with the people at Kia Ora- but at the Pearl there were only a couple staff members who would talk with them. Really a bummer.
We did the 1/2 day trip to Bird Island and would definitely NOT recommend it. Bird island itself is unique, but we had a crummy guide who basically walked around pointing at a couple birds as we followed. No interesting info at all. My daughters asked ?'s in French, which he would answer curtly. After Bird Island we were taken to a motu to "see the pink sand" and snorkel. Our guide told us we were to stay there for an hour. We told him we just wanted to go back to the resort as the pink sand there is much more beautiful and there was no snorkeling where he left us. However, he and his girlfriend went off into the brush and left us all there for an hour. It was a complete waste of our precious vacation time and we were very upset and frustrated. We did speak with the manager about our experience and she was extremely kind and understanding about our frustration. She told us this was not the typical experience and gave us a discount on the excursion. We would definitely recommend not wasting your time/$ leaving the resort to snorkel or see pink sand somewhere else- as there is no place better than right where you are. We plan to take a fishing excursion next time as she described this to be very unique and exciting. The resort manager is a lovely person and we have no doubt that she listens to the guests and is constantly improving the resort.
We found Tikehau Pearl to be the most natural and serene resort setting that we have ever experienced. The snorkeling is outstanding and pink sand beaches just stunning. We will definitely return for those reasons.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank designers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    232
    86
    41
    17
See reviews for
96
688
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Pearl Beach Resort Tikehau far exceeded expectations, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The diving on Tikehau is absolutely world class and some of the best we have experienced anywhere in the world since the late 1970’s. For snorkeling and diving, Tikehau is exceptional. The fishing was fun, but guests should be aware that there are no fishing poles and it is done with a line only. We caught a plethora of fish, but all relatively small (and which we ate at the restaurant that week!). There is no real big game offshore fishing in Tikehau like in the Society Islands. The bird island excursion is great and worth it, and the snorkeling around the bungalows is fantastic. Water clarity was over 100 ft. everywhere. Snorkeling ¼ mile south of the hotel (accessible by kayaks) on the adjacent motu is incredible in that the coral is virtually pristine. The sunsets are outstanding and the sunset cruise was very nice. Several Tikehau PBR guests, including 3 of 4 of us, got laid up for a day in Tikehau with food-borne illness (Montezuma’s revenge) that we suspect was from the morning fruit juice. Might be worth future guests knowing about, and certainly drink only bottled water or beer there (none of us drank out of the tap). The food was very good, but the wives were slightly put off by having to eat the grilled fish with the heads/fins/scales still attached. There are a wide variety of dinner menu choices and it is well prepared and presented. Local beers and the choice of international wines are good and readily available, but due to the limited supply of top choice alchohols, the mixed drinks aren't as great (although the pina colada with a rum floater was a popular choice!!). All of the waitress staff were accomodating at dinner, though it helped that I speak some French as sometimes language caused minor confusion when ordoring off of the usual menu. The infiniti pool is wonderful and the premium overwater bungalows are fabulous. The air conditioning alone is worth the extra price, and the areas below to snorkel are better than the cheaper bungalows. There is not much to do in the evenings, so Tikehau is better for the active nature-minded tourist rather than someone interested in dancing and shows. There is a spa on site, which my wife and sister loved, but no fitness center (although with the swimming, diving, kayaking, hiking, biking and snorkeling, we didn't need one). The bird island picnic was a nice diversion, and biking in the village was also fun, but come here for the diving and snorkeling. We booked through Tahiti Travel Planners and got a pretty good deal on the hotel and airfare, making it more reasonable than some of the other Tahitian island trips. Due to the European crisis, the prices to French Polynesia are much more reasonable than they were 5 years ago, and I think the Society Islands are a great choice for families or couples. We had a day room on our way back through Papeete and I highly recommend that because you arrive 10 hours before the flight back to Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Choose the premium overwater bungalow with A/C for better sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We arrived on Tikehau the end of March to beautiful weather, blue skies and clear turquoise water.
Because we made our reservations many months in advance we were assured of an overwater suite. The suite was perfect, large area with a large bathroom. We also had an overwater veranda with a table and chairs under a roof and two loungers in the sun. There was a frig with water, sodas and beer. The view was incredible with fish below our balcony begging for food.
We snorkeled every day in an area to the north of the resort that had clear water and coral that was alive and in good condition. Many fish were there including black tipped sharks that didn't pose a danger but made it more exciting.
We purchase the full board meal plan. When we go back I will rethink this option. At lunch with the meal plan you could choose two courses and at dinner three courses. The portions were large and too much food in most cases. The food was good but not a five star restaurant. By the end of the week we knew what we liked and didn't like. Since all drinks were a la carte I think we could have gone that way with the food also.
We took the whole day motu picnic, snorkeling and Bird Island tour and it was excellent. Fresh fish right out of the lagoon was served which was delicious. I think the picnic was the highlight of the tour so just bird island and snorkeling probably wouldn't be as good. Reserve as soon as you get there.
There is no entertainment in the evening so make sure you make friends quickly.
The sunsets were spectacular. All in all a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: Rooms 41-44 are best but 4-6 aren't bad. Overwater suites are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constancettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My partner and I were at the resort March 9-12. The rooms and facilities were nice. Not awesome, just a bit worn down to get 5 stars. But comfortable, clean, and well appointed for sure. We had overwater bungalow #3 in the tidal channel. The trade winds kept the temp perfect all day and night, and the best snorkeling is right under these bungalows. The other group of OW bungalows and beach bungalows are on the lagoon side, sheltered from the breezes and too hot. Those bugalows do have AC, but my idea of paradise is not being closed up in an air conditioned room. The bungalows over the channel, on the other hand, are the perfect temperature to sit, read, nap, or drink a pina colada on your private deck. Freakin' awesome. Wish I was back there now. The interior of our bungalow was clean and comfy, but a bit worn in spots. Toilet needed a repair, some of the window shutters wouldn't stay propped open, and the outdoor chair cushions were a little discolored, but still comfy.

I have to give thanks and praise to the staff, especially the manager Anne. My partner got violently sick from heat stroke - too much time in the sun, too much wine, and not enough hydration. We couldn't make our flight out because of his condition. Anne and the staff (thank you Raipuni!) called and changed all our travel bookings, and gave us another night at the resort for a very low rate (lower even than my 50% off package deal). Anne brought over the village doctor, translated for us, and made sure we had the medicines we needed. They also gave us a bunch of free bottled water. Everyone was very kind. It's scary getting ill in a foreign place, but these folks were top notch. Thanks everyone!! And word to the wise - drink lots of water. It doesn't feel like you're getting dehydrated with all the humidity and water activities, but that tropical sun really drains you.

Food was okay. We did not buy the meal plan, we just ordered a la carte. Unless you eat a lot, I recommend you do the same. I wouldn't have been able to eat 3 courses every dinner. The dinner items ranged from low $20's to $40 per plate, with most items around $25-$30. Appetizers were also around this price, and deserts were in the mid to upper teens. So price it out. If you don't eat 3 courses every meal, save your money and buy a la carte. For the quality of the menu items, some stuff like the poisson cru and tartare were very good, but you get sick of that after a few days in Polynesia. I also tried the lagoon oyster dish, which I couldn't take more than 1 bite of. Terrible. But other stuff was good. Breakfast buffet was good, but more tropical fruit selection would have been nice (mangoes were in season, but they had none). Lunch menu had a selection of moderately priced good simple fare like sandwiches and pizza ($15). Beer was reasonably priced considering the location ($6-$8).

Good dives with Top Dive, but I didn't care for the way the trip was organized. I'll get to that below. First, we had one dive with many large mantas. Vis was just okay (was a windy day), but having mantas come up to you eye-to-eye was pretty cool. They were curious and came close, as long as we remained still on the floor. 2nd dive was on the outer reef at the pass. Good live coral, lots of fish life and small sharks, morays, triggers, napoleon, just tons of cool fish. My only complaint was that we had 1 dive master for 3 separate groups, which he brought down one at a time. One couple doing a resort course, one guys completing his certification dive, and the rest of us. This meant sitting around for a long time while each of the other groups dove. We chose to swim to a nearby island to avoid getting seasick, and waited there for over an hour until the other 2 groups were done. They should have had a 2nd dive master for so many groups. (FYI - Top Dive is a separate business, so don't let this reflect badly on the resort)

In summary - friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, nice facilities but a little worn, great pool, awesome snorkeling under our bungalow, okay food, and the best view from any deck I've ever had.

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows near the reception and dive center offer the best snorkeling and wonderful b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimboGraybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort. The weather was beautiful every day. Our spacious, attractive deluxe private overwater bungalow suite was a perfect place to unwind and enjoy our favorite kind of vacation away from the fast, hurried pace of everyday on the U.S. East Coast. We enjoyed snorkeling the warm blue waters each day, and seeing colorful, varied, marine life right from our deck. Spectacular sunsets, as well as a night sky full of stars made for a truly romantic vacation and a memorable birthday. The staff at the Pearl were wonderful and very nice to speak with and always helpful and took care of us and other guests. The meals were one of the best, with variety every day and plenty to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring this remote atoll, by kayaking, walking on the sandy motus, and taking a boat shuttle to the main town, riding bicycles down the quiet streets of this paradise in the South Pacific. The scuba diving was excellent in Tuheiva Pass, with vast numbers of different species of fish including pelagics such, white tip sharks and bump head wrasse. We also had the pleasure of watching a couple of manta rays feeding inside of the protection of the lagoon. It was a wonderful beginning to our 2nd trip in 7 years to F. P. and we highly recommend this beautiful resort and hope we can return.

Room Tip: West facing for sunsets, spend extra for the farthest overwater suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELCALLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay WI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We just left the Pearl Beach Resort on Tikehau. The OWB are outstanding. We rented 2 one for us one for kids Private quite with great views and good breeze Snorkeling around the resort is best in the whole atoll Dont waste money on going out on a boat. Food is good but menu never changes so after 4 days I was ready for something different. Drinks are very weak and bartenders are easily confused. If you don't speak French this is not the place for you. The reception personal are uniquely different We did not find them to be friendly or wanting to help. Everything was more important than you
Not sure if we would ever stay at a Pearl Resort again

Room Tip: Any overwater bungalow was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aussiedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tikehau, Direttore generale at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear AussiDogs,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your very recent stay in our hotel. As the General Manager, I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I'm also surprised you did not tell me about it when I came to the restaurant in the evening (as I always do, at least once during each guest's stay).
Therefore I'm surprised you found the Desk team not willing to help, as it is definitely not the feedback I usually receive, and from my entire hotel team, to say the truth.
Regarding the Restaurant, we always prepare "Special Meals" when requested, to change from the regular menu. It is true it usually happens starting the 4th or 5th day of stay. It is a pity you did not tell us, because there is nothing easier to propose to our Guests.
I really wish you will keep a good impression about Polynesia, if not of the Pearl of Tikehau.
Thank you again for your time and for visiting us in our hidden paradise
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, Ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The bungalows are very nice, and quite private, considering the small size of the sandbar on which they're built. Design and comfort level are up to the usual Pearl standard of excellence. The food is good, though the dinners are a bit inconsistent. Watch out for the lagoon oyster dish in curry sauce....definitely not something for everyone. Dining in French Polynesia is always a compromise given the paucity of local ingredients; especially so on Tikehau, which is quite remote. On the other hand, it's the remoteness which gives access to the wonderland of marine life in the lagoon. And you will not find a more relaxing place to stay. Tahiti guides warn of the "no-no" flies, but we found them manageable. What surprised us, though, was how changeable the weather could be, and how dramatically the tropical storms could blow over this relatively flat spot, unimpeded by any terrain.

Room Tip: we like the beach bungalows, as they are quieter than the over-water units; however, those especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikehau
3.9 mi away
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
#2 of 2 in Tikehau
212 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pension Hotu
Pension Hotu
#5 of 8 in Tikehau
189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pension Justine
Pension Justine
#4 of 8 in Tikehau
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tikehau Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pension Coconut Beach, Tikehau
0.0 mi away
Miki Miki Lodge
Miki Miki Lodge
#4 of 16 in Avatoru
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort

Property: Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Address: BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Tikehau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered to be one of the most beautiful atolls in Polynesia, Tikehau is a graceful oval crown of small islets with an interior lagoon 16 miles across and a pass for small boats through the coral reef. The Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is a Pearl to discover in the Tuamotu islands. The resort welcomes guests to this 4 hectare tropical paradise. Located on a secluded pink sandy beach fringed with coconut trees, the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers 13 beach bungalows with air conditioning and 24 over water bungalows and suites. All bungalows, designed in true Polynesian style, are very spacious (55m²) and are equipped with a fan, mini bar, coffee / tea making facilities, direct dial phone, safe, television and private veranda. The over water bungalows include a glass section of the floor from which you can enjoy the spectacular underwater life of the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikehau Pearl Beach Hotel Tikehau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing