We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit”

Morawelon Waterfront Cafe Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Morawelon is a friendly, family run restaurant overlooking Newport Bay. It has stunning sea views to the front and views of the Preseli hills to the rear. Morawelon offers a range of lunches from fresh local seafood to speciality sandwiches and on a Sunday we serve a Sunday roast (using meats from our local butchers). If you are not hungry, why not pop in for a fresh cup of coffee and a freshly baked Danish pastry or a delicious cake.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Dropped off on a motorbike trip and was made welcome (which is not always the case in restaurants when wearing motorbike gear).
Taking the order was slightly slow but all staff were very friendly and efficient. Food arrived very quickly. Excellent tea and very good sandwiches. Recommended but slightly limited menu and a shade expensive perhaps.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    43
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what we wanted”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A brisk walk along the beautiful beach, lots of friendly dog walkers and the need for a bite. We chose wrongly and ordered Roast Beef.
It was tender, the veg was great the roasters were good but the beef lacked any taste whatsoever.
Shame ,lovely spot ,good menu, obliging staff. Will come again some day and choose something else

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alucur69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We called in for a take away coffee on Sunday and had a two course Sunday Lunch! The service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. We had roast lamb, the meal was well presented, and extremely tasty. We both had dessert which again did not disappoint. The options for gluten free desserts were good and the helpfulness of staff in accommodating individual preferences was exceptional. Overall an excellent experience and we would have no hesitation in recommending the restaurant to others, we will certainly be back.
Thank you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best view in Newport Pembs.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

As always our meal at Morawelon was excellent.
There's always a warm welcome & a lovely cosy atmosphere.
The staff are wonderful & cannot do enough for you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Codes13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great position, good food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

nice menu options for veggies, had a nice roast dinner with quorn fillets. Friendly service, very warm and comfy. We have adopted this as our eaterie of choice when in Newport, now that Fronlas has closed

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StefSunhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morawelon Waterfront Cafe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Newport, Pembrokeshire
Newport, Pembrokeshire
 
Dinas Cross, Newport
 

Been to Morawelon Waterfront Cafe Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing