We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee time.”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A weekend away for Mothering Sunday, staying at Gelli Fawr, we had a really nice walk around the village of Newport.We were 6 adults,2 of whom were nursing mums and one 3 year old. We were tired after the wlk nd sw a large suit of armour, just inside the door of The Castle Inn.My grandson was intrigued but frightened so we ventured inside for look at it. We ended up going in, finding plenty of space to sit. Room for the kids and for us adults. Coffees, teas and hot chocolates were ordered. A friendly and helpful waitress served them up.Delicious and just what ws needed. Not too pricey and those nice irregulr brown sugar lumps.
There was a blues group playing that evening but, unfortunately, with the kids in tow, we weren`t able to rock n`roll.Groups appear to be a fairly regular event in the locality so something to think about if you are staying in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank silvasands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were amazed by the warm and friendly atmosphere of this pub as we walked in. We were greeted and really made to feel at home. The menu choices, food and service were excellent. We liked it so much that we went back the following night!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in a cottage in Newport for a week but spent most of our free time in the Castle. Food excellent, especially Sunday carvery, staff brilliant, very friendly and helpful, Julie and Nick could n't do enough, and Lauren behind the bar was a star. We did n't stay at Castle but we asked to see their letting rooms and and we were impressed we will definitely be staying here in the future.

Carl & Liz, Wrexham

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After reading previous reviews on places to eat in Newport we decided to try the castle. There is a lovely friendly atmosphere. There is a lovely restaurant with a good choice of food. We both had a lovely meal with good service. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torfaenwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I had an excellent stay here in 2011 when I walked the Pembrokeshire Coast Path with my dog. I was therefore keen to book the Castle Inn again for an overnight stay with my friends (between legs 16 & 17 of our "Across Wales Walk" from the eastern-most point to the western-most point). Unfortunately when we arrived only 2 of the 3 rooms we thought we had booked were available. The third had been taken without our knowledge. We had booked provisionally over the phone last December. We made a second phone call in January (when I knew who was definitely able to go) to confirm that 1 lady and 5 men were coming and were told that we could be accommodated in 6 beds in the 3 rooms. This somehow did not seem to get registered as a confirmed booking and we were not asked for a deposit, so make sure you do that.
A local landlady saved the day for us who overheard the conversation in the bar when we arrived and she said she had 2 rooms so we used those as well.
However, the food was excellent and can be highly recommended - especially the seafood.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We come to Newport as often as we can, renting a house a few times a year. We also got married down here last August, A visit to Newport would not be complete without a visit to The Castle. Julie, Nick and also the lovely girl behind the bar (sorry I don't know your name) always make us feel really welcome. We ate here the night before our wedding with 20 of our guests and everything was well organised. We always make sure we have the Sunday carvery, the last time being last Sunday (26th Jan). The meat is always top quality and the selection of vegetables are amazing.
Despite it being really busy Julie made sure we had the table of our choice. This pub seems to cater so well for locals and tourists alike.We are already looking forward to our next visit when we are in Newport again on 16th Feb.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chapmank50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We recently spent a fortnight in Newport, our tenth stay in the area.eWe arrived late afternoon and decided to eat out that evening, and stopped at the Castle. Food was outstanding, had the fish pie and a steak! We discovered that the pub was dog friendly and returned daily, eating 4 times at the castle. Very friendly embracing locals, and a fantastic character to the pub. Barmaid Loren was so welcoming and friendly, making us feel right at home throughout our stay, even giving us a lift to escape the rain! Julie, the landlady is absolutely lovely and as a team the castle are on to a very good thing! Will definitely be making this our 'haunt' on future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise1cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#4 of 18 in Newport
324 reviews
1 mi away
Newport Links Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Y Garth B&B
Y Garth B&B
#2 of 4 in Dinas Cross
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steeple View Bed and Breakfast and Retreat
0 mi away
Tabor House B&B
Tabor House B&B
#3 of 4 in Dinas Cross
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: Bridge Street, Newport SA42 0TB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £71 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing