We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newport, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mcikin
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.”
Reviewed 13 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The farm was off the beaten track, just as we’d hoped for. Our renovated stone stable had everything a household requires. Peace and quiet pure. Our landlord Hugh always had time for a chat although we're sure he had more important tasks planned. His lovely daughter Helen was an encyclopedia of knowledge, we spent many an hour quizzing her on just about everything and her 6 horses. So patient...thank you Helen!

Newport, small village 10 mins to the South by car has some excellent pubs. Cardigan, 10 mins to the North by car has everything that a small City has, shops, supermarket, discounter, banks, petrol Station, pubs, restaurants, fish 'n chip shop.
Moylegrove itself is quaint, but that's it. Good garden center just outside the village that I'm sure does more business with food and drinks than gardening equipment.
Aberaeron is a must see, small sea port with the most amazing honey ice cream.

We lucked out with the weather, 14 days of sunshine and blue skies.
The locals are all so friendly it's praiseworthy.
There's a mini Stonehenge 10 mins drive from Newport...Pentre Ifan...worth a visit.
Bessie’s pub in Pontfaen, valley of Cym Gwaun is also a must visit. 20 mins from Newport.

We'd love to come again but 1300km from home is a long trip.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed Stable Cottage and pleased you had a wonderful holiday. You certainly managed to explore the area enjoyed many of the lovely places we all enjoy nearby. We would be delighted to welcome you again someday. The Coast & Country Holidays Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RZ H
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but don't go there when its cold.”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely to look at but totally impractical in the somewhat colder weather (late March). The two storage heaters and one elec wall heater (non storage, in lounge) plus whatever one pays for the hot water (fixed on a timer I guess) cost us £37 in electricity for the week - and we were still cold all the time despite the woodburning stove being lit afternoons and evenings. Only practical as a summer holiday let because of this. I wouldn't go to a cottage where heating isn't included in the price again.
Nicely decorated etc but needs more cutlery (2 dessert spoons and two tablespoons, oddly) and mugs. Better quality frying pan would be welcome too.
Cooker very old fashioned electric hot plates - take ages to heat up and lack controllability.
Wi fi signal was so poor we used our phones (only got phone signal upstairs) for internet use to our laptops.
Jacuzzi bath totally impractical with a flimsy curtain - the jets sent water all over the floor so only used it once (then mopped up).
Couldn't make the tumble drier work despite instruction book.
There were no matches for the woodburner, and given the cottage is miles from a shop, this was not a good start upon arrival. Fortunately found an old cig lighter in the car!
Bed very comfortable. Nice decor, curtains etc in bedroom.
Gym was an unusual feature - very good idea!
Difficult to find from instructions given - just as well the farm was named on the OS map which we fortunately had with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed.
Liked least: Cold, and the wi fi signal was very poor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for your comments - we have contacted the owners who only wished that you had spoken to them whilst on holidays as many of your comments could have been rectified. They do indeed keep a stock of spare equipment - double sets of mugs, plates etc are above the suggested requirements but a few extra mugs can often be useful in a smaller property, thanks for the tip. Unfortunately the wi fi, mobile phone service and weather are beyond their control. Hopefully when BT upgrades the whole area to superfast broadband there will be an improvement in services in remote locations, as the owner explained to you the service is poor in the cottage but stronger reception in the Gym just a few metres away from Stable cottage. We have all suffered from the recent unseasonably cold weather, storm Katie hitting Wales hard at the end of last week. Unfortunately stone cottages near the coast can be more difficult to heat - there is an additional heater in the cupboard under the stairs for precisely such occasions, so sorry you didn't locate it. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and will return at some time in the future when hopefully the weather will be warmer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalln...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A true get-away-from-it-all escape in a lovely area”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We rented this cottage for a week and found it to be just what we needed - quiet, relaxed, and finished to a high standard. There is plenty to see and do in the area, with the Pembrokeshire coastal path and Picton Castle being of particular note. We tended to go out and about during the day then come back to the cottage during daylight hours (the roads can be a little scary!) to relax for the evening. A car is essential. The cottage had pretty much everything we needed (scissors would have been helpful), and despite not really needing it for heat, the log stove was lovely. The only thing we'd do differently if we visit again, would be to bring some DVDs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing