We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely park in a lovely part of the world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Llwyngwair Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llwyngwair Manor
Ranked #5 of 20 Newport B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A lovely park in a lovely part of the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This park has beautiful grounds set amongst some gorgeous native woodland with a river running through it. It also has a tennis court that didnt seem to be used much - ( you must bring trainers to play on it). The village of Nevern is a 15-20 minute walk away through the grounds and is worth a visit as it has the lovely Trewern Arms there. We stayed in the Morfa suite which was fine for our needs but was by no means 'luxury' and it could certainly do with a better shower. In the good weather the area around this apartment was quite noisy as it is above the main hotel doorway and people gather outside there as there are some benches where people drink and smoke so if you have your windows open (which you will need to as the bedrooms are in the attic and it gets quite warm) then be prepared for a bit of noise though to be fair it did quieten down considerably after 10.15 on the 2 nights of good weather we had. If we were to stay again though, which we may do due to its great location, then I would stay in the lodge or the back of the hotel although you do get the most amazing view of Carn Ingli montain/ hill in Morfa suite, which again is another great walk.
The bar area was good though we did have to move to a quieter part of the bar as the TV and the radio were on at the same time so it was quite noisy.
The staff were very friendly and delivered us bedding and towels within 5 minutes of our requesting them as we did not realise we had to bring our own ( my fault I suspect for not reading the leaflet that came when we booked).
The food was good and the you can take food and drinks to your room if you like.
We had a lovely stay here and would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    12
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for one night's B & B in July. The room was clean, comfortable and modern. The bathroom was newly refurbished and immaculate.
We asked for a top floor room and had a lovely quiet corner.
The evening meal in the bar was reasonably priced and delicious.
We enjoyed the entertainment of a live local band and listened until midnight.
Breakfast was enjoyable with excellent coffee and plenty of refills offered.
The Manor House was well soundproofed and elegant. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Would highly recommend to anyone. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask when booking if you want a specific room, they're flexible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPaul40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Ideal place for a very reasonably priced lunch-excellent quality food and friendly staff.Only criticism is the opening hours for lunch-12 - 1.30pm-should be longer.Too good to be closed for later meals.Even had a log fire burning in mid-June but thats 2012 British summer weather for you!
Dont be put off by the long drive through the caravan site grounds, the old hotel with the restaurant open to the public is at the top end of the site and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant didn't stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here in March for my 40th birthday had one of the self catering rooms lovely and clean and nicely furnished.
Had a lovely evening meal & a full english breakfast.
All the staff were very friendly.would definately recommend Llwyngwair Manor!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We come to Llwyngwair every year and stayed this time in the three bedroomed self catering apartment in the Manor building called Morfa but have stayed in others in the past too. The apartments are nicely furnished, with modern kitchens, WiFi and views over the beautiful park and Carningeli Mountain. Our children love staying the park where they make full use of the playground and make lots of friends every year. The staff are very friendly and the bar food is excellent and can be taken to your room if you don't feel like cooking. There are great walks around the park and immaculate grounds. There is also a pine lodge and static caravan for hire if you want to stay in the park grounds rather than in the manor house. All in all, it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Morfa and Ingli have fantastic views across the park towards Carningli mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

we have stayed at Llwyngwair manor site frequently but this is the first time we have stayed at the pine lodge.
The lodge is spacious, very clean and well furnished and equipped.
The family who manage the site are friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. We would definitely recommend staying at Llwyngwair.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.2 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
8.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#8 of 20 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#3 of 20 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyngwair Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyngwair Manor

Property: Llwyngwair Manor
Address: Llwyngwair Manor | Pembrokeshire, Newport SA42 0LX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llwyngwair Manor is set in a spectacular location, overlooked by the Preseli mountains. The manor grounds are well kept and have a natural beauty. The hotel is family run and has a relaxed and friendly feel. The Manor is located less than a mile from Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Llwyngwair Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwyngwair Manor Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing