We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful grounds”
Review of Llwyngwair Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llwyngwair Manor
Ranked #5 of 18 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here at the end of the summer with my family. Llwyngwair certainly did not disappoint. The grounds were superbly kept and immaculate, the hotel and bar staff extremely accommodating, and all round excellent value for money. We stayed in the camping site, and the toilet and shower facilities were clean and well serviced. We did not expect the organised Fun Day which is held every August bank holiday Sunday. Children's races, bouncy castles, face painting, and a good all round family atmosphere- an added bonus- there was no cost. This was followed by a great BBQ, prize giving and live entertainment at the hotel. Definitely one for the diary for next year. The whole family thoroughly enjoyed. We will return. Thank you Llwyngwair.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We travelled here from home to attend a friend's wedding in nearby Llys Meddyg and as we drove onto the campsite we were both overwhelmed with the location - the streams and the river, surroundings of gorgeous trees just served us perfectly. We only stayed the one night, but are planning to return next year for a longer stay.

We reported to reception on arrival, and the manager (we assume) was very pleasant, welcoming and helpful - thanks for the taxi numbers!

The toilets are dated in terms of decor, but perfectly functional and with plenty of space. As we stayed in our campervan, we had a bit of a drive to our pitch at the edge of the site but it was worth it - the tranquil setting was just what we needed. Thank you :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddragon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel was reccommended by a friend who was going to stay there too.
We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room, which was neat and clean.
Our breakfasts were well presented and very nice. We ate in the bar a few times, and meals were acceptable.
The grounds were amazing, and contained all sorts of mobile accommodation.
There were several play area for children and places to sit and enjoy the surroundings.
We would visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanmaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed at this site many times and it is set in a lovelly part of wales the only thing is it is poorly run .The managing staff are rude and if you complain they make out its your fault . The main of the caravan site runs on 5 amp electric and has a tendency to blow if many people on site, never known a site like it but as i said earlier don't complain because it will be your fault. I think who ever owns the site should take a look at how it is run it could be so much better .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotty1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llwyngwair, Owner at Llwyngwair Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We're sorry to hear that a regular and returning customer has had a run-in with the park's management. Customers are advised as to what they can and cannot use in terms of appliances and there had not been a previous incident of this nature. On investigation of the incident last year management found that a customer was using two electricity supplies and were using a household fridge freezer instead of a table top fridge. The customer was aware of this and had tried to circumvent the rule by placing their fridge freezer on top of a table.

The incident caused inconvenience for other customers and highlighted a problem that could occur again under similar circumstances and so a decision was made to upgrade the electric to 10 Amp while the camping\touring park was closed last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Has moved to my number 1in choices for Sunday lunch-the food was very good-only one choice of meat on each Sunday makes it easier for them to ensure there is plenty of it and last weeks was Welsh lamb, tender and tasty.The pudding was also superb and again a decent sized portion unlike another venue not that far away overlooking a golf course where if the cheesecake slice had been any thinner it would have had to be called a wafer! Very reasonably priced and service from the very friendly waitresses and bar staff and chefs is second to none.Need to book as it is very popular-if you want a good old fashioned decent Sunday lunch then this is definitely the place to go.
Don't forget lunchtime meals are also available and the warm chicken and bacon salad is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Hotel not reviewed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

On arrival was excellently pleased with the house and appartments. I had my own private suite with the added facilities of the hotel, a luxury. My rooms were well appointed and spotlessly clean. Any issues were dealt with immediately.

The staff were helpful, welcoming and very friendly. Log fires made our lunch times cosy, and the food was well presented and delicious.

The grounds are beautiful, with riverside walks and much wild life.

A splendid holiday, I will return

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonjabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stay at Llwyngwair twice a year, every year. food is reasonably priced and always nice.Well worth a visit. Marilyn goes out of her way to make you welcome and staff are really friendly and it's always nice to see same staff who know us .On bank holidays there is always something on for the children during the day and then bingo or a group for the adults in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#4 of 18 in Newport
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Links Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Y Garth B&B
Y Garth B&B
#2 of 4 in Dinas Cross
113 reviews
1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#7 of 18 in Newport
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Steeple View Bed and Breakfast and Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyngwair Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyngwair Manor

Address: Llwyngwair Manor | Pembrokeshire, Newport SA42 0LX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £70 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llwyngwair Manor is set in a spectacular location, overlooked by the Preseli mountains. The manor grounds are well kept and have a natural beauty. The hotel is family run and has a relaxed and friendly feel. The Manor is located less than a mile from Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Llwyngwair Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwyngwair Manor Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing