We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loulou's - CLOSED

Loulou's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

For breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea Loulou's offers the kind of food you could only wish that you could make yourself. Everything is homemade with the freshest of organic ingredients and I'm hard-pressed to say what is best because everything is so good but I must mention the soups which are fantastic.
It is definitely worth a visit if you are in Newport and, if you are not, then make a detour!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    16
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Whether it is their fabulous soups, the excellent roast beetroot and goat's cheese salad, their mouthwatering chocolate and orange mousse, or the irresistible raspberry smoothie, you really cannot go wrong with LouLou's for lunch, or a snack at any time of day. The ingredients are wonderfully fresh, the service friendly and welcoming. Try it - you will never be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxing afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had the most delicious cake here, Guiness cake, I highly recommend it. So many cakes at cafes are mediocre-not here though, the brownies were delicious but the Guiness cake was fantastic. It was so nice to eat really good quality food served on lovely pottery by friendly and welcoming staff. My kids ask to go here everytime we visit Newport.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

A nice change from full English, a real gem. Great breakfast, lovely coffee and a nice environment. The eggs and mushrooms was first class. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timminsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been enjoying Lou Lou's excellent cuisine for several years now...delicious home made everything from soups to hummus to fabulous cakes.
However, somehow we had missed out on the simple joy of one of her breakfast staples...Granola with yoghurt, topped with raspberries and red currants and drizzled with warmed Preslli honey. So simple yet abolutely perfect. The golden granola was superb - crisp yet exploded on the palate; the fruit were lucious and beautifully balanced and the coup de grace...the honey brought everything together in a really unexpected crescendo. I almost dropped my newspaper with delight.
I cannot conceive of a tastier or more nutritious start to the day. Well done Louise and team for great food with a delightful and carefully nuanced service and surroundings. A subtle but devastating combination.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicureusEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loulou's also viewed

Newport, Pembrokeshire
Newport, Pembrokeshire
 
Dinas Cross, Newport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing