We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice relaxing cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunny Retreat Cottage from Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny Retreat Cottage from Garden
Hallway to Lounge 180 Miles of Incredible Wild Coast Path to Explore from the Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Sunny Retreat Cottage from Garden
Hallway to Lounge
180 Miles of Incredible Wild Coast Path to Explore from the Cottage
Another exterior view of the Cottage
Aerial View of whole Garden and Rectory from the North
Aerial View of the Cottage, Rectory and Sea from the East
Aerial View of edge of Garden and Farm Lands to the Sea
Sea View from inside the Cottage
Warm and Open Living Room Area with new comfy Couch Beds for up to 4 people
New Beds made up in the open style Living Room comfy for up to 4 people
New Dining Room table for up to 8 people with Kitchen beyond
Main Kitchen fully stocked
Dining Room area with Wood Burning Stove
Hallway to Open Style Lounge...
Master Bedroom with Garden View on Ground Floor
Single 2nd Bedroom with Desk on Ground Floor
Single 3rd Bedroom on 1st Floor
View of Mountain From Our Big Balcony
Large Deck with Barbeque
Garden Plan; 1 Acre of Magical Garden Surrounded By Rolling Fields
Old Stonework and Rustic Features in the Double Bedroom
View of the Garden from the Cottage Balcony
Cottage from West Garden
Discover the Secret Corners of the Magical Woods nearby
Newport Beach
View of Carn Ingli (Angel Mountain) from the Garden
Surrounding Area
Nearby Woodlands
Lots of Beautiful Walks From Your Doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Newport, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meesterdu...
England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Very nice cottage, with wonderful views towards the sea, from the raised deck area.
The cottage is cosy and warm, with a well-appointed lounge area, which leads out onto the deck. The kitchen is on this first floor level and is very well equipped.
The double bedroom is very cosy, with some interesting features.
All in all a very relaxing place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the raised decking area.
Liked least: Unfortunately, no wifi, just Internet access. On the positive side, the lack of wifi for my iPad, added to the peace and quiet!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you for appreciating the cottage and wonderful sea views from the cottage and deck. You kindly mention that the kitchen is well equipped. We always go well beyond the requirements of the Welsh Tourist Board 4 star level that we keep. Yes, it is warm because there is good insulation and double glazing. Also the heating is fast and effective and under the control of the guest. Welcome back to the cozy warm cottage at any time of year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and location
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for coming to our dream location.
So glad that you and your dog loved it and enjoyed that quiet 10 min walk to the beach down the little lane.
We look forward to you coming again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2014
Thank you for coming in October. Each month has a precious quality. In October I love the long beach walks with so few people, the vibrant display of heather on the mountains, The streaks of low light and sunsets over the sea, the baby seals seen from the cliffs and log fires at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2014
Thanks for coming in winter. There are special moments in the rare times of snow. One wants to take a ton of photos as the light can be amazingly clear, with stark long shadows and subtlety in colour and hue. An exciting time and cozy at home with the log fire and heating under your control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden & living room
Liked least: The lack of heating & hot water!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2014
Thank you for sending the review. This was the very first time in 26 years that the oil has been stolen as the crime rate is virtually zero in this area. Since then a lock on the oil tank and back up storage of oil has ensured that this never ever happens again. It was unfortunate time of New Year being both cold and having a delay in getting the next oil delivery being a problem. I am most sorry about this and offered a discount to the person booking in the future as an apology. The group that was in The Rectory at the same time as yourself came again this year and had a fantastic time. Also the cleanliness is usually of a very high level as we have a manager that checks the cleaning. At intervals, every item in the kitchen is put through the dishwasher. The Welsh Tourist Board would not keep giving me 4 stars every year as they check all of these details. True we cannot do this every change-over so again I apologise that it was not perfect. My offer holds into the future that any of your party can return with a 15% discount. Welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sirpa a
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Breathtaking views to the sea and mountains. A very powerful feeling of nature there is so inspiring.”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The cottage is locating close to an ancient village with a castle. Exellent shops, pubs and restaurants are easy to get by car or walking. We loved sunbathing on the south facing deck in complete privacy. We admired the mountain which we had hiked over earlier in tha day. We took the footpath over the fields with my friends and their dogs. We were very impressed how many fabulous walks we could take right from the cottage also to the seacoast. The large garden, spacious deck and an easy comfortable furniture made it very convenient to have young children and dogs on holiday with us. We will be returning many more times "to our second home" as we feeel it. We notice each year that there are some improvements like better furniture, more flowers around, kitchen equipment and details that make the place feel loved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful nature life with all services nearby and lot of things to do or see.
Liked least: Sometimes Welsh weather is surprising.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2014
Thanks for exploring enough to find so many local treasures. There are so many to enjoy. I promise that there are yet more to find. Welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in April 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: waking in morning in fantastic place
Liked least: I wish it was closer to Scotland
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2014
Thanks for sharing your wonderful relaxing experience. it certainly is a treat to go for so many walks to mountain and sea from the cottage.It has been designed with relaxing in mind and getting sun all day, and having wonderful views to the sea, beach, and mountain. So glad that you liked it. Welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$104
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
other travellers have booked this property
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing