We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only all places were as good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Lion Restaurant

The Golden Lion Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berriew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If only all places were as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Newport is a very lucky village, lots of choice when it comes to good places to eat and the Golden Lion is no exception.
Plenty of room inside and out and in the inside /outside area too.
We stopped for lunch on this occasion as I knew the Lion to be very good from previous visits and everyone in our party of travellers was very impressed with the quality of the food and the service provided. I'd recommend anyone calling in for a bite to eat it might just make your journey a memorable one. Staff are always excellent also not too attentive but always friendly and helpful. Next time don't drive past, stop and enjoy a well kept secret!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    137
    27
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Got to the with five minutes left on service, but they still allowed us to order thankfully, the food, a roast beef sandwich and roast beef platter was fantastic, lovely presentation and very tasty especially with the best home made coleslaw and potato salad I have tasted

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MROYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A surprise but very good find !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked at the Golden Lion on the recommendation of our B & B. We had been aware of the existence of this place for many years but had not been aware that it has such a good restaurant.
When we arrived we had great difficulty parking (this is always a problem in Newport) and the Golden Lion was very busy.The staff are young and pleasant ,smartly dressed and we were taken to our table.We had two very tasty and good meals.I enjoyed my belly pf pork with black pudding.My wife had Thai Chicken which was OK but not outstanding. Having placed our order it was about 45 minutes before our food was served.As the Golden Lion was busy and everything is cooked to order we cannot complain too much about that and we enjoyed a relaxed and pleasant evening. We have already recommended this place to others in the area.Good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBMCUMBRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and great beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very pleasant bar staff and good beer on offer. Right in the heart of Newport and walking distance from most homes or holiday rentals in Newport. Very much worth a visit. Excellent atmosphere

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very busy - even on a Monday tells all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Super welcome with great beers and attentive staff. Food in restaurant was perfect for us hungry yet hopefully discerning male golfers. Would go back tomorrow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Lion Restaurant also viewed

Newport, Pembrokeshire
Newport, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport, Pembrokeshire
Newport, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing