We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Street Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King Street Rooms
Ranked #14 of 20 Newport B&B and Inns
south wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Definitely the best B&B in town! Couldn't fault this in anyway at all!
We were given a warm welcome from the moment we arrived & felt really at home at King Street Rooms. Elaine was the perfect host and it was great having our morning chats with her over breakfast!
The house has a modern, fresh & clean interior, with open plan rooms downstairs divided by beautiful sliding pine doors. The lounge is complemented with a lovely cast iron log burner...something we looked forward to after a night out on the town!
The bedrooms are cosy, bright & spotlessly clean complete with a small ensuite bathroom behind the bed.
The highlight though for us was being able to spend time taking Walter, Elaine's Jack Russell, on a long 12mile walk to Dinas Island & back! He was great!
Thanks Elaine for making our weekend.... p.s. we still miss Walter!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank munch2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We couldn't believe how perfect this place was! The interior design was so funky and different - not your bog standard old fashioned floral stuffy b&b! Elaine couldn't do enough to help us and was so friendly and opened up her home to us to use as we wished - no room was off limits so we felt more like it was a holiday let but with someone to make breakfast for us! The breakfast was so yummy and although continental there was enough to feed an army! Newport itself is a lovely quaint pretty village within walking distance to the most stunning beach. Walter the dog is adorable and such a character. We want to wish Elaine all the best as this b&b deserves to be a great success! We will be back!

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms and they are exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAMac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

King Street Rooms are comfortable stylish and spotless and perfectly located. Hostess and hound both charming and delightful. I was in Newport for a wedding and it was the perfect place to stay. I want to go back to explore more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

A lovely stone built period house newly renovated into a tasteful, modern and very stylish b&b on the edge of Newport. Elaine who owns the house is helpful, welcoming and charming. Great location on the edge of Newport with lots of choices for walks from the front door (with or without the house dog, Walter!). There is a warm and cosy sitting room with a wood burning stove for guests and delicious healthy breakfasts. A very relaxed atmosphere. Lots of good restaurants/cafes within walking distance. Our first visit to this lovely part of the country but definitely not the last. So glad we found this b&b. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaybeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

The King Street Rooms is one of the nicest bed and breakfast places we have ever stayed at and we shall definitely be back.

The cottage, just a short walk from the centre of Newport, is beautifully renovated (so much so that it had us mentally filing tips for clever things to do in our own home!). The property is light, airy, warm when it is nippy and generally very comforting. We had an excellent, calm night of sleep there in the very comfortable bed. The ensuite was again stylish, very simple but very cleverly designed and a joy to use.

The welcome from Elaine was warm and friendly - and communication before our visit was top notch too. And, as others have mentioned, the lovely Walter is also on hand for some canine company. The breakfast, continental in style with tasty coffee, delicious yoghurts and fabulous compote/fruit set us up very well for our trip home too.

Elaine gave us plenty of suggestions for nice walks - we went for Carn Ingli and along the sea shore in the end and both are nice options with spectacular views. We were also given lots of suggestions for eating. Overall, we really can't praise it enough.


one tip: If you are in Newport in the high season or at the weekend, I would recommend booking a table for dinner - it is quite a small town and places do fill up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Found this beautiful place by chance, as i was looking for a stay near the Costal Path to do walks and runs in this magical area, at the beginning of October. Did quiet a long journey to get there by car from the Black Forest in Germany, but every mile was absolutly worth it to go! The renovated cottage is designed with love and a unique taste for beauty and simplicity. Elaine is such a warm and friendly host, and wether i was sitting by the fire in the evening or at the delicious breakfast table in the morning, the atmosphere was always of a fine and relaxing ambiance. While Walter this great little dog was such a wonderful companion, he made my walks a pure delight. Yes this place felt like coming home and definitely i will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maastricht
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a very special place. I've spent 10 days in September at this B&B to walk the coastal path and do some writing. For these activities this was the perfect spot. Elaine is so welcoming and helpful that after only a few days it already felt like staying with longtime friends. There's many good restaurants in Newport Pembs and its surroundings. If you' re out for full (fried) English breakfast than don't go here. The cooked breakfast is more like raspberries from the garden, fruits, fresh coffee, croissants and toast with jams, yoghurt and oats; it is a wonderful start of the day. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Also friendly dog Walter is a great companion for your walks on the coast path or Carn Ingli.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.7 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#8 of 20 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steeple View Bed and Breakfast and Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#3 of 20 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.4 mi away
Y Garth B&B
Y Garth B&B
#2 of 4 in Dinas Cross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Street Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Street Rooms

Property: King Street Rooms
Address: 4 King Street, Newport SA42 0PY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Street Rooms is a stylish yet cosy bed and breakfast located in an elevated position five minutes from the heart of Newport village in Pembrokeshire. It is perfectly positioned to take advantage of all the delights of this very special part of the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Street Rooms Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing