We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

nice friendly service, very good food, present vry well and very tastey, in a very nice attmosphere and made welcome as soon as walked in the door,nice decor and very relaxing place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    53
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile


Have been going to The Castle for as long as I can remember and it only keeps getting better. Amazing food, staff and great selection of drinks! Would definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Nia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great beer and good food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

While staying in Newport recently we called in The Castle every night, they had a great selection of real ales to choose from served by friendly staff.
The food we had was nice and tasty too, the fish and chips was a good size and the chilli nice and plentiful, a nice garlic bread too.
On our next visit to Newport we'll definitely be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roypart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best....!!!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I, due to circumstances beyond our control, had to have an urgent and unplanned overnight stay in Newport, so called in at the Castle Inn. They had one room free which we took, and we were shown up to a large, attractive, clean and comfortable double room with on suite bathroom.
We got chatting to Julie and Nick, the owners, and I must have mentioned that we didn't have an overnight bag or toiletries with us, as we weren't expecting to stay the night.
Later on that evening, even though they were fully booked that night, they made room for us in their restaurant. The food was delicious as always (we had eaten there on previous occasions and have always been extremely impressed with the quality of the food and the very reasonable prices).
When we went up to our room at the end of the night, I was very touched to see that a small toilet bag had been put in our room which contained some essential toiletries, including toothbrushes and paste and deodorant.
After a good nights sleep... ( the beds are really comfortable...), we then had a first class cooked breakfast and were on our way...
I honestly don't think you could stay anywhere else, where you would be looked after so well, or have a couple who go the extra mile to make your stay more comfortable.... We were so impressed at their thoughtfulness and kindness.... It's a definite 10/10 from us...!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jollybottom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were looking for somewhere to have an evening meal on the Friday before bank holiday...so were worried we wouldn't get anywhere nice without a booking. Luckily this wasn't a problem here and the staff were very friendly, there were some nice touches like books and games available to keep kids (and adults!) occupied whilst waiting for food.....and the food was certainly worth the wait. We had lamb shank, steaks, and a burger, all of which were really well presented and tasted gorgeous. Therefore I had to try a dessert....and it was the tidiest...and probably the nicest...Eton Mess I have ever had. We were only holidaying in the area otherwise we'd happily be back as regulars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Newport, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport, Pembrokeshire
Dinas Cross, Newport
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing