We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kitchen Garden”
Review of Llys Meddyg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llys Meddyg
Ranked #3 of 19 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Kitchen Garden”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A lovely place to have a meal. Peaceful enclosed garden and large conservatory. Really relaxed. Good food and service. We had dinner whilst on holiday in Newport. Very laid back atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for your review...we have now set up a separate tripadvisor page for the Kitchen Garden but you are very welcome to leave your review here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    59
    37
    13
    15
See reviews for
49
191
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berriew, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed whilst working in the area having stayed here previously and had enjoyed every moment then and as before the room was great( the bed may be a little soft but thats a preference of mine not a criticism). I like character rather than uniformity in a hotel and as such this is perfect. The wooden sink always makes me smile. Shower/ bath is well sized and comfortable( room 7) and room size was great for me and would be fine for a couple.( Chair as well as a bed which if like me you spend a large part of your life in hotels this is a real plus) nice individual furniture and even the pictures on the wall are worth spending time to admire. I was initially disappointed to find the main restaurant was closed on Mondays but I shouldn't of worried as The alternative Kitchen Garden was simply fantastic with great tasting food ( sourced locally) helpful and friendly staff and a wonderful atmosphere for a Monday evening. I really can not fault it and I will bring my family here the next time we travel to this wonderful area. Don't hesitate to book yourself in here, rooms are possibly a little pricey but any thoughts of this are lost once you arrive and relax in your room or the bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review we are very pleased you had a relaxing time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great food, wonderful rooms with comfortable beds, deep baths and powerful showers. You can walk the coast path just a short stroll from the front door and come back to chill out in the cosy downstairs bar. You can spend just one night here but feel like you have been away for a week. One of those places that is totally special, but completely unpretentious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
667 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Had dinner twice this week in The Kitchen Garden (doesn't appear to have its own Trip Advisor entry). It's a lovely, bright space which is only open for dinner in the summer months and the current chef is leaving in September which is a shame. We had excellent food here. Fresh local produce cooked very well indeed. The 'special' smoked haddock with bubble and squeak is the best dish we've had for weeks. Just delicious. The service is friendly and efficient and overall it would be hard to find fault with anything. It deserves to do very well.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We now have a tripadvisor page for the Kitchen Garden. The Kitchen Garden "pops up" over the Summer holidays which is why Gareth the chef will be leaving in September :( but our main restaurant and cellar bar are open all year round :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our two dogs, and loved it! The place just ticked all our boxes - great location, lovely room and very restful decor, delicious food, real fresh orange juice at breakfast, pretty garden, good walks nearby, friendly and helpful staff & outgoing, hands-on hosts. Nice to have a choice of places to eat - especially in a small hotel. The bathroom was good too with gorgeous toiletries. Only improver would be more vegetarian choice on the menu. We all (the dogs too!) had an excellent stay - and will be coming back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Found this place in one of the guides and stopped by for a drink after a lengthy day of driving. Had a quick peek in the available rooms and after a little negotiation, we decided to stay.

We stayed in room 1 which was spacious with a interconnecting dressing area to the ensuite.
The room was contemporarily furnished and well appointed. Small details like a OS map and bus timetable (invaluable if you intend to walk the locality) were in the room. The bathroom had a huge "egg" double ended bath and a separate rain shower. The décor was faultless and so noticeable because it was. If I were to be picky, I would like to have seen a proper dressing console for my partner. There was plenty of room in the dressing area, and so rarely are the demands of a female guest catered for, with a decent make up mirror with appropriate lighting
and power. Also bottled water would have been a nice addition. In the morning there must have been a power pump servicing the room above, because every time the water was used, a regular drone of a pump kicked in which was somewhat irritating. But these are minor points on what was a very pleasant stay.
Dinner was served down in the cellar bar which is a great snug and certainly worth the visit just for a drink. Nice menu,, food ok but not exceptional. The Preseli lamb was delicious, but the lobster was not fresh given its texture. The cheeseboard I had read about earlier had been left out for too long in the kitchen and was sweating. I cant stand oatcakes...who ever invented them? (but that's subjective) and the accompanying honey truffle oil was a new experience with cheese and one thoroughly well received by my foodie partner.
Breakfast in the morning was the standard fare, and set us up nicely for the 3 hour walk up to Dinas Head.

The "Doctor's House" is located on the main A487 so is easy to find, with good adjacent parking. The interior doubles up as an art gallery, hosting many of the local artists work. We tried to take pre-dinner drinks in the "kitchen garden" which was a great little sanctuary, but the weather decided against us, though it would be a great location for sunny days.

The staff were exceptional. Ed and his team certainly make you feel welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Being brought up in the Fishguard area, he has great local knowledge and if you love walking, you really would be hard pushed to find a better base from which to start your explorations.

Room Tip: Room one is a "deluxe" offering and it certainly was spacious, well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
I'm glad you stumbled across us and thank you for your review. Hopefully we can welcome you again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We'd looked at the menu for the restaurant last year, but hadn't had the chance to visit. We managed to go this year and were not disappointed. We sat in the lovely basement bar while we looked at the menu. The number of starters and mains is limited (five or six of each I think), but what we had was perfectly cooked with excellent ingredients. Carpaccio of beef and mussels were very good indeed. Fish was especially nice - we had sewin which was very well cooked and presented. The gorse flower panna cotta was a very original idea. Cheese board was also good with a range of local cheeses and lovely quince and caramelised red onion to go with them. Service was attentive and friendly. Don't think that there was much of a choice for vegetarians.

Very good selection of wines and other drinks. Not cheap, but the quality was faultless

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your review and i'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us. We currently have 2 out of the 5 starters as vegetarian and just the one main course, but we are always happy to speak to guests in advance about their dietary requirements and do our best to make sure everybody has an excellent meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,191 reviews
20.6 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
416 reviews
24.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Meddyg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Meddyg

Property: Llys Meddyg
Address: Llysmeddyg East Street, Newport SA42 0SY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Meddyg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llys Meddyg can offer you luxury accommodation and a beautiful place to stay in Pembrokeshire, west Wales…with our large, comfy beds, crisp cotton sheets and down duvets, you’ll sleep like a log.Let us pamper you. Our Georgian townhouse offers a unique blend of old and new, with elegant furnishings, deep sofas and a welcoming fire. All our rooms are large, bright and comfortable with contemporary en suite facilities and stunning interiors. You’ll find our beds very accommodating with cool, crisp linen and Welsh woolen blankets from Melin Tregwynt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Llys Meddyg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llys Meddyg Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Llys Meddyg Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing