We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful weekend”
Review of Llys Meddyg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Llys Meddyg
Ranked #4 of 18 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely place in a beautiful part of the world. I booked it as a surprise for my partners birthday as they offered a foraging course. It was quite a long trip for us but we were excited to be on a course doing coastal foraging. Unfortunely the course although friendly and informative had no structure. We did expect possibly looking for shell fish and sea weed. Instead the course leader (very knowledgable) collected foliage and it was taken back to the hotel were our meal was prepared. We expected to forage and cook ourselves. The food however was amazing and we still had a great weekend. THe other disappointment was that we paid a good price for our two day stay and foraging course whilst others paid very little on a Living Social deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluecloud64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a two day stop, ate in both the garden room (average) and the main restaurant (excellent) and went on the forage course (disappointing). In total we spent £360 although we did eat all our meals here, it's still quite alot for two days.

Good points - friendly, knowledgable staff without question. Great location, close to really good walks, the beach, beautiful area. Superb breakfast, excellent meal in the main restaurant on Sunday evening, good with the two dogs (we were in a dog friendly room).

Bad points - garden restaurant wasn't great, of the 9 musseld in my seafood linguine (techically a mussel linguine as that's all there was) two hadn't opened, poor quality control and chefing I'm afarid and I did say, but no comment back at all. Quite expensive too, my parners ha d aperfectly Ok steak but so it should have been at £16. Why did we eat in there, becuase although we were staying, they couldn't fit us in the main restaurant which is pretty poor frankly.

Forgaing course also disappointed, a two hour pleasant enougb walk looking for roadside herbs and samphire. Didn't get to cook, which my partner had specifically asked about before we booked we did get to eat the herbs on linguine again, it was a nice lunch but the foraging could have been so much more than a gentle stroll. No information to take away or follow up. We paid full price, others booked via Living Social, probably says it all really.

Don't get me wrong, it's a nice place, food in the main house is great, rooms good, nice tea and coffee and comfy, but it is fairly pricey and the quality of some things was sadly lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

What an amazing place, the best (and cheapest on a late deal) of the places we stayed at in Wales this weekend.

It was wonderful - calm and helpful owner, excellent breakfast with home-smoked salmon, the Garden Room was beautifully furnished and decorated with a great bathroom and huge super kingsize bed with perfect decor touches including modern local Welsh blankets from the mill down the road.

Absolutely wonderful. A delightfully relaxing stay. As we were a "drive in" booking we didn't eat dinner there but I am sure that the food would have been wonderful and beautifully presented. Newport is a short drive to a wonderful sandy bay with extensive views of the majestic pembrokeshire coastline

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room and the privacy of the little courtyard outside the French doors. The Kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Although local to the area I have never visited before, but returning from a walk with two friend and two dogs we were tempted by the 'tea and homemade cakes all day' sign for the Garden Room and knew we could take the dogs in with us, although we did ask if this was ok as we always do just to make sure.

You enter behind the main hotel though a door into an enclosed area which leads on to a garden with a gazebo, both have seating. Although quite early in the main season the décor was already looking a bit shabby, but nothing that someone with an eye to detail could not put right. It was also obvious that it could do with a good clean, even the tables looked grubby as if they had not been wiped down after the last diners had left, in fact ours definitely hadn't as it had glitter bits on it obviously left by children, this is not acceptable in any restaurant.

We sat down ready to order, the girl who came was very abrupt almost to a point of surliness, we were told there was no cake but we could have scones only, two of us did but I was a bit surprised that they were advertising homemade cake all day when this clearly was not so. The girl who brought our order was much more pleasant and obliging and we enjoyed our tea.
The garden whilst pleasant looked like it needed a bit of attention and just outside the door was a ladder laying on its side which I consider dangerous and a trip hazard, all in all it was an ok visit but I would not rush back as I consider there are much nicer places to eat in Newport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry we did not meet your expectations and can only apologise as we were getting the room back together after a wedding we had hosted the night before (hence the ladder outside which we had just been using to take down the wedding bunting.) I'm also sorry we were advertising cakes and there was only the one option available when you arrived. I would also like to apologise for the attitude of the person who greeted you it is our aim to make every guest feel welcome and at home and the way you were greeted I am horrified to read. Please don't judge us and our food on this one occasion. Unfortunately tripadvisor is faceless but if you would like to get in touch with us personally we would like to invite you back for complimentary tea and cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely bedroom and a gorgeous bathroom with a walk in shower and free standing bath. the breakfasts were substantial with a good choice of dishes. The wedding reception in the kitchen garden was a delight - the setting and food were fantastic. This is a great place to stay in a lovely coastal town in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The only downside were the noisy revellers outside the neighbouring Golden Lion - maybe not a problem on wet, cold nights!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestatynWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review and i'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your friend's wedding at Llys Meddyg. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

There were twelve of us in our party, but we had excellent service and good food. We sat outside under a marquee and although it was a hot day, we were pleasantly cool in its shade. We would certainly go to the Kitchen Garden again on our next visit to Newport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidmCrymych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm glad your party were well looked after...we have now set up a separate tripadvisor page for the Kitchen Garden but you are very welcome to leave your review here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A lovely place to have a meal. Peaceful enclosed garden and large conservatory. Really relaxed. Good food and service. We had dinner whilst on holiday in Newport. Very laid back atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your review...we have now set up a separate tripadvisor page for the Kitchen Garden but you are very welcome to leave your review here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,238 reviews
0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cnapan Guest House
Cnapan Guest House
#3 of 18 in Newport
105 reviews
3.3 mi away
Y Garth B&B
Y Garth B&B
#2 of 4 in Dinas Cross
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Links Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Meddyg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Meddyg

Address: East Street, Newport SA42 0SY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £96 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Meddyg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llys Meddyg can offer you luxury accommodation and a beautiful place to stay in Pembrokeshire, west Wales…with our large, comfy beds, crisp cotton sheets and down duvets, you’ll sleep like a log.Let us pamper you. Our Georgian townhouse offers a unique blend of old and new, with elegant furnishings, deep sofas and a welcoming fire. All our rooms are large, bright and comfortable with contemporary en suite facilities and stunning interiors. You’ll find our beds very accommodating with cool, crisp linen and Welsh woolen blankets from Melin Tregwynt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Llys Meddyg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llys Meddyg Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Llys Meddyg Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing