We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and foraging”
Review of Llys Meddyg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llys Meddyg
Ranked #3 of 19 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and foraging”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our second visit to Llys Meddyg - unfortunately we were not able to stay in the hotel, but took their recommendation on a local B&B (King Street Rooms), ate at Llys Meddyg on the Saturday night and did the foraging course on the Sunday morning.

Dinner in the main hotel was just as good as we remembered from our previous visit. We asked to eat in the downstairs bar as we prefer the more relaxed atmosphere but we were still able to choose from the A La Carte menu. We started with a mushroom soup appetiser, served in a shot glass with a truffle cream on top so that you drank the soup through the cream - stunning! The starters and mains we shared 50/50 so that we got to try everything. Starters were carpaccio of beef and, what was described as crab custard - the equivalent of a brown crab meat creme brulee with a white crab meat salad. I wasn't sure whether I would like crab, but I loved it.

For main course, we went for tenderloin of pork with belly pork, which was served with, among other vegetables, a really smooth mash with a hint of sage (my keen cook husband is still extolling the virtues of the mash!). The other main was fillet of beef with braised ox cheek - again, superb. Even the wild fennel went down well with a non-fennel lover!

I went for chocolate fondant with a tarragon ice cream for desert - need I say more? (other than this was not shared 50/50!) My husband went for a liquid desert in the form of a whisky. Together with a great bottle of Ripasso, we had a superb meal.

Next day was foraging and I must admit I'm puzzled by some of the other reviews. Admittedly, we did have the Living Social voucher but didn't have any idea what to expect on the course, other than we knew that this isn't the season for shellfish. Don really knew his stuff and also where to find the plants that he wanted to show us. Ed joined us for the first part of the walk, adding information on how to use the various leaves in the kitchen. Don was able to tell us both culinary and medical uses.

We must have seen over 20 useful plants in about 2 1/2 hours and there is no way that we'll remember everything but if we use 3 or 4 things at home that we wouldn't have done previously, then that would be great. We made notes and took photos as we went along, though, so hopefully will be able to refer back to them in future. We also went home with some samples that we had collected on the way round and are now growing our own sorrel in the garden (thanks Ed!).

Lunch was lovely - personally, I'm glad the pro did the foraging for what we actually ate - homemade lemonade, followed by spaghetti with a pesto of the leaves and a fantastic desert of panacotta, vanilla, rose petals and a sauce of sorrel, fennel and spinach which sounds very odd, but worked brilliantly.

Of course, we had to take some of the home-smoked salmon back with us based on our previous experience, and having now got our own smoker it was interesting to see Ed's smoker set-up.

All in all, a lovely evening and a relaxed, interesting foraging day. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    55
    35
    12
    15
See reviews for
48
180
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We ate here over summer, choosing it for a low-key birthday dinner with a dog - not an easy combination.
The cellar bar lets you eat with your dog, and we were on one of two tables at the far end of the room. To be honest, it did feel like a bit of an outpost from the main restaurant upstairs, plus we were tucked behind an alcove with just one other group who seemed a bit conscious of our presence, though the music that was piped in - Edith Piaf, I think - meant we could relax into our own space.
We liked that our dog was made properly welcome, rather than just being tolerated. And in general there was a really nice atmosphere, everyone who worked here seemed lovely.
The food was very good indeed - lots of interesting details and beautifully presented. I can still taste those little doughnuts that came with the apple and butterscotch trifle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hickney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a chance at a short (3 night) break and picked this hotel on the strength of The Telegraph review.
From the moment we walked through the door, we knew it would be a good place to stay.
Beautifully, warmly welcoming reception/lounge area, adjacent to the restaurant. We couldn't wait to eat in there!
Our room (7) was above the kitchen garden and so not in the main building. This was literally 30 seconds walk from the reception, so nothing to worry about. It was also not affected by noise from the kitchen garden restaurant.
The room was brilliantly quirky. A good sized bedroom, overlooking the lovely garden and a big bathroom that we wished we could have taken home with us!
I usually have terrible trouble sleeping in hotel bedrooms, but the bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All very friendly and gave us good advice on what to see and do.
The town itself is small and pretty in places, it's on a main road, but the town is quite narrow, so the traffic cannot come through at speed.
There are 6 or 7 places to eat within a 5 min walk. This includes the hotel itself. We ate in the Garden and it was gorgeous. As were the breakfasts. A full Welsh will give you a full belly till lunch.
We particularly enjoyed eating at the Golden Lion next door. I felt that this pub summed up Newport itself. This was friendly, well presented, great food.... more of an upmarket retreat than a seaside town.
As a town, it's a good base for trips to several of Pembrokeshire's attractions.
Highly recommended hotel, town and county.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdb3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely place in a beautiful part of the world. I booked it as a surprise for my partners birthday as they offered a foraging course. It was quite a long trip for us but we were excited to be on a course doing coastal foraging. Unfortunely the course although friendly and informative had no structure. We did expect possibly looking for shell fish and sea weed. Instead the course leader (very knowledgable) collected foliage and it was taken back to the hotel were our meal was prepared. We expected to forage and cook ourselves. The food however was amazing and we still had a great weekend. THe other disappointment was that we paid a good price for our two day stay and foraging course whilst others paid very little on a Living Social deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluecloud64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a two day stop, ate in both the garden room (average) and the main restaurant (excellent) and went on the forage course (disappointing). In total we spent £360 although we did eat all our meals here, it's still quite alot for two days.

Good points - friendly, knowledgable staff without question. Great location, close to really good walks, the beach, beautiful area. Superb breakfast, excellent meal in the main restaurant on Sunday evening, good with the two dogs (we were in a dog friendly room).

Bad points - garden restaurant wasn't great, of the 9 musseld in my seafood linguine (techically a mussel linguine as that's all there was) two hadn't opened, poor quality control and chefing I'm afarid and I did say, but no comment back at all. Quite expensive too, my parners ha d aperfectly Ok steak but so it should have been at £16. Why did we eat in there, becuase although we were staying, they couldn't fit us in the main restaurant which is pretty poor frankly.

Forgaing course also disappointed, a two hour pleasant enougb walk looking for roadside herbs and samphire. Didn't get to cook, which my partner had specifically asked about before we booked we did get to eat the herbs on linguine again, it was a nice lunch but the foraging could have been so much more than a gentle stroll. No information to take away or follow up. We paid full price, others booked via Living Social, probably says it all really.

Don't get me wrong, it's a nice place, food in the main house is great, rooms good, nice tea and coffee and comfy, but it is fairly pricey and the quality of some things was sadly lacking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

What an amazing place, the best (and cheapest on a late deal) of the places we stayed at in Wales this weekend.

It was wonderful - calm and helpful owner, excellent breakfast with home-smoked salmon, the Garden Room was beautifully furnished and decorated with a great bathroom and huge super kingsize bed with perfect decor touches including modern local Welsh blankets from the mill down the road.

Absolutely wonderful. A delightfully relaxing stay. As we were a "drive in" booking we didn't eat dinner there but I am sure that the food would have been wonderful and beautifully presented. Newport is a short drive to a wonderful sandy bay with extensive views of the majestic pembrokeshire coastline

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room and the privacy of the little courtyard outside the French doors. The Kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Dogmaels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Although local to the area I have never visited before, but returning from a walk with two friend and two dogs we were tempted by the 'tea and homemade cakes all day' sign for the Garden Room and knew we could take the dogs in with us, although we did ask if this was ok as we always do just to make sure.

You enter behind the main hotel though a door into an enclosed area which leads on to a garden with a gazebo, both have seating. Although quite early in the main season the décor was already looking a bit shabby, but nothing that someone with an eye to detail could not put right. It was also obvious that it could do with a good clean, even the tables looked grubby as if they had not been wiped down after the last diners had left, in fact ours definitely hadn't as it had glitter bits on it obviously left by children, this is not acceptable in any restaurant.

We sat down ready to order, the girl who came was very abrupt almost to a point of surliness, we were told there was no cake but we could have scones only, two of us did but I was a bit surprised that they were advertising homemade cake all day when this clearly was not so. The girl who brought our order was much more pleasant and obliging and we enjoyed our tea.
The garden whilst pleasant looked like it needed a bit of attention and just outside the door was a ladder laying on its side which I consider dangerous and a trip hazard, all in all it was an ok visit but I would not rush back as I consider there are much nicer places to eat in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry we did not meet your expectations and can only apologise as we were getting the room back together after a wedding we had hosted the night before (hence the ladder outside which we had just been using to take down the wedding bunting.) I'm also sorry we were advertising cakes and there was only the one option available when you arrived. I would also like to apologise for the attitude of the person who greeted you it is our aim to make every guest feel welcome and at home and the way you were greeted I am horrified to read. Please don't judge us and our food on this one occasion. Unfortunately tripadvisor is faceless but if you would like to get in touch with us personally we would like to invite you back for complimentary tea and cake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 19 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#8 of 19 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Meddyg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Meddyg

Property: Llys Meddyg
Address: Llysmeddyg East Street, Newport SA42 0SY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Meddyg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llys Meddyg can offer you luxury accommodation and a beautiful place to stay in Pembrokeshire, west Wales…with our large, comfy beds, crisp cotton sheets and down duvets, you’ll sleep like a log.Let us pamper you. Our Georgian townhouse offers a unique blend of old and new, with elegant furnishings, deep sofas and a welcoming fire. All our rooms are large, bright and comfortable with contemporary en suite facilities and stunning interiors. You’ll find our beds very accommodating with cool, crisp linen and Welsh woolen blankets from Melin Tregwynt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Llys Meddyg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llys Meddyg Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Llys Meddyg Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing