We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation far outweighed the food and service.”
Review of Llys Meddyg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llys Meddyg
Ranked #3 of 19 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Accommodation far outweighed the food and service.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was my second stay at Llys Medog, the first time being a year ago, when both the food and the accommodation were exceptional.
This time was rather disappointing both food and service wise.
The evening meal on the first night was below average, seared fish was burnt and whole dish tainted by the taste. Far tooooo much garlic used in everything from the butter to the sauces. Dill garnish used was limp and looked pitiful.
Woodburner in cellar bar was nearly out and music repeated itself, service was slow, vague and not very welcoming.
Breakfast however was first class and so was the evening meal the second night, but the following morning it was overcooked and below average again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    59
    37
    13
    15
See reviews for
49
191
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Strangely, it was a visit to another local restaurant that prompted me to write this review. There are few places in the area that aspire to serve food at this level. So far Llys Meddyg are the only one that I have visited that have achieved it. The food was inventive, interesting and well executed. I can only assume that it was prepared not only with skill but with a passion that I have found lacking lacking elsewhere. I had minor issues with the décor, the service and the weird music (a Christmas cd that had the guests laughing slightly but created an odd atmosphere because it was during the summer). But this was forgotten as we went through one special dish after another. Hang on to your chef Llys Meddyg he or she is a gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semp270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Wonderful food combined with comfortable accommodations makes for a great stay. Minutes to loads of walking trails and the beach. Friendly staff and the owners are great. Every meal was wonderful and perfectly prepared, and we also enjoyed the wine. Lovely salmon for breakfast was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texan-n-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing Christmas Break at Llys Meddyg. Everything was perfect. There was a real home from home feeling. Our welcome was very warm. The owners and staff are first class - just the right balance of professionalism and friendliness. The room was very well designed and furnished and the large bathroom was lovely. The food was delicious - turkey AND goose for Christmas lunch and just the right amount so that we didn`t feel bloated (as so often happens at Christmas time!). The honey-roasted ham for breakfast was the best we had ever tasted! A real gem of a place.

Room Tip: We had a luxury loft conversion room on the second floor (Room 4) which had a view in the distance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarcolBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had a wonderful afternoon out foraging with expert Don, followed by a lovely lunch prepared with our findings. The homemade lemonade that was waiting for us on our return was just what was needed. Can't wait until the next foraging / wine making class. We'll definitely return. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went to Llys Meddyg for dinner only. Had very nice food. Presentation was great too. What left a bit of a sour taste was the service we experienced. It was all very slow and it felt like the staff were "floating" through the dining room without really noticing what was happening.

After having had our orders taken in the downstairs bar, we were shown to our table in the dining room (a great room!). It then took over 20 minutes for us to eventually get some bread. Based on what we saw going to all the other tables, we expected / hoped for the lovely looking amuse bouche, but another 15-20 minutes went by without anything else arriving (why take us up to the dining room when the kitchen is not ready to produce food....). We enquired as to what was happening to our starter (felt wrong that we had to point out to the staff that kept walking right past our table numerous times that we were still sitting there after well over half an hour without our starters...)...The starters then arrived quickly (guess they would have anyway), but we obviously had lost out on the amuse bouche somehow....shame.

There was another long wait for the mains and the deserts...with the odd "apologies for the delay" provided (no explanation).

We didn't expect that having a three course dinner (without pre-drinks or coffee) would take 2 1/2 hours...

Unfortunately, this slowness meant that we came away quite underwhelmed by Llys Meddyg, especially if we also consider that we had to call four times at the beginning of the week (during service time) to get to speak to someone to book a table (all other calls were greeted by the answerphone!).

Also, it mirrors our experience almost exactly a year ago, when we had lovely food, but were disappointed by the slowness of the service.

Enjoy the food, but - just to be on the safe side - expect to spend quite a bit of time in the lovely dining room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our second visit to Llys Meddyg - unfortunately we were not able to stay in the hotel, but took their recommendation on a local B&B (King Street Rooms), ate at Llys Meddyg on the Saturday night and did the foraging course on the Sunday morning.

Dinner in the main hotel was just as good as we remembered from our previous visit. We asked to eat in the downstairs bar as we prefer the more relaxed atmosphere but we were still able to choose from the A La Carte menu. We started with a mushroom soup appetiser, served in a shot glass with a truffle cream on top so that you drank the soup through the cream - stunning! The starters and mains we shared 50/50 so that we got to try everything. Starters were carpaccio of beef and, what was described as crab custard - the equivalent of a brown crab meat creme brulee with a white crab meat salad. I wasn't sure whether I would like crab, but I loved it.

For main course, we went for tenderloin of pork with belly pork, which was served with, among other vegetables, a really smooth mash with a hint of sage (my keen cook husband is still extolling the virtues of the mash!). The other main was fillet of beef with braised ox cheek - again, superb. Even the wild fennel went down well with a non-fennel lover!

I went for chocolate fondant with a tarragon ice cream for desert - need I say more? (other than this was not shared 50/50!) My husband went for a liquid desert in the form of a whisky. Together with a great bottle of Ripasso, we had a superb meal.

Next day was foraging and I must admit I'm puzzled by some of the other reviews. Admittedly, we did have the Living Social voucher but didn't have any idea what to expect on the course, other than we knew that this isn't the season for shellfish. Don really knew his stuff and also where to find the plants that he wanted to show us. Ed joined us for the first part of the walk, adding information on how to use the various leaves in the kitchen. Don was able to tell us both culinary and medical uses.

We must have seen over 20 useful plants in about 2 1/2 hours and there is no way that we'll remember everything but if we use 3 or 4 things at home that we wouldn't have done previously, then that would be great. We made notes and took photos as we went along, though, so hopefully will be able to refer back to them in future. We also went home with some samples that we had collected on the way round and are now growing our own sorrel in the garden (thanks Ed!).

Lunch was lovely - personally, I'm glad the pro did the foraging for what we actually ate - homemade lemonade, followed by spaghetti with a pesto of the leaves and a fantastic desert of panacotta, vanilla, rose petals and a sauce of sorrel, fennel and spinach which sounds very odd, but worked brilliantly.

Of course, we had to take some of the home-smoked salmon back with us based on our previous experience, and having now got our own smoker it was interesting to see Ed's smoker set-up.

All in all, a lovely evening and a relaxed, interesting foraging day. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,191 reviews
20.6 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
416 reviews
24.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Meddyg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Meddyg

Property: Llys Meddyg
Address: Llysmeddyg East Street, Newport SA42 0SY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Meddyg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llys Meddyg can offer you luxury accommodation and a beautiful place to stay in Pembrokeshire, west Wales…with our large, comfy beds, crisp cotton sheets and down duvets, you’ll sleep like a log.Let us pamper you. Our Georgian townhouse offers a unique blend of old and new, with elegant furnishings, deep sofas and a welcoming fire. All our rooms are large, bright and comfortable with contemporary en suite facilities and stunning interiors. You’ll find our beds very accommodating with cool, crisp linen and Welsh woolen blankets from Melin Tregwynt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Llys Meddyg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llys Meddyg Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Llys Meddyg Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing