We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Llys Meddyg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llys Meddyg
Ranked #3 of 20 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a very nice midweek break marred only by finding on the last night that the restaurant served the most fantastic food! Staff were very accommodating and any little problems were ironed out with maximum speed and efficiency. Owners were very nice people and made us feel very welcome. Excellent base to use to explore the beautiful Pembrokeshire coast line.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    52
    35
    12
    15
See reviews for
47
173
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Thanks to Lou, Ed and Cecilia for making my daughters wedding so perfect and memorable. Married there on the 4th July and as they had the whole hotel booked it couldn't be more personal. I first saw the venue in May and my first reaction was 'wow' and on the day it was still the same. The staff were very helpful and I think they enjoyed us also.
The food was delicious especially the sticky sausages and the 'cheesecake' in the evening was the best presented ever. The chutneys, beetroot, etc all went down very well for the extra guests.
It was very memorable and the setting suited us so much. Well done and 'good luck'

Room Tip: Unfortunately, I did not stay here but There was no complaints from those who did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ber_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had an incredible time here - the foraging was a huge amount of fun and Don is a walking encyclopaedia and totally inspirational (though after his stories of exploding home brews I'm still trying to persuade my boyfriend we need to make our own wine and beer..)! Ed and Louise were the perfect hosts - so welcoming and hospitable. Ed even took us out on his boat to haul in lobsters, which is something we have always wanted to do and the experience certainly lived up to expectations - they survived the car journey home and needless to say were the best crustaceans we have ever had. We will be back - thank you ed, don, Louise and ed's mum (for those scrumptious brownies)! P.s. the room was gorgeous, love the bath!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights' B&B in this delightful Victorian house, full of stripped wood and low tables created from huge beams. Our room up two flights was dominated by the wide bed but well equipped with fridge, tea and ground coffee makings, WiFi and walk-in curtained wardrobe.
The bathroom was a generous size with large bath walk-in shower and wide sink. Being in the roof though the headspace around the loo was rather limited.
We ate carefully prepared breakfasts, a delicious light fruit pancake with yogurt was a stand out main, the coffee was hot and strong, orange juice very frothy.
We had dinner on one night only as the restaurant was closed on the other two nights. Dinner was carefully prepared from fresh mainly local ingredients such as sea bass and welsh lamb with chilled tap water flavoured by rose petals and cucumber. One slight disappointment was that we were not offered coffee after dinner - staff seemed to disappear without closing the meal.
Reception staff were always helpful, friendly and interested. A gem indeed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor bathroom has limited headspace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This review is nowhere near enough to the thanks we would like to give to Ed, Louise, all the staff and mainly the amazing Cecilia who gave us the wedding Mike and I always wanted from the moment we got engaged. We fell in love with the venue as soon as we walked in the door and from then on you were all so brilliant at answering our questions, providing us with lots of great ideas and just being as there for us and as flexible as we could have ever wanted. Every single guest i have spoken to since has said how brilliant the day was and I really do think most of that was down to all of you at Llys Meddyg for helping me and guiding us in planning our day so well. Even the grey weather couldn't dampen our spirits. Thankyou so so much. You pulled off our day and added more to it too! We'll send you on some photos as soon as we get some printed and are already planning on when we can come back and see you all again soon. Lots of best wishes warm regards, Mike and Jean xxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeaniebombeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I think we must have missed the attraction of Llys Meddyg following the other positive reviews I have read on Trip Advisor. May be the casual informal service and standards were supposed to be chic and obviously many people liked it, but I just found the experience disappointing, the room and bathroom fairly ordinary - in fact I was baffled by mentions of luxury toiletries in other reviews, - we got shampoo and a half used container of conditioner and soap, none of which were replenished for our second night, luckily I had brought supplies. The food served was fine, but the choice was fairly limited and I didnt particularly like eating in the cellar bar downstairs, despite the fact that we had booked dinner in advance and were staying in the hotel. We stayed in room 6 which was a decent size room over the garden restaurant. However the stairway up to it had a rather unpleasant smell and the carpet has seen better days. Wouldnt really recommend Llys Meddyg, although I did think Newport was a pretty town, and was sorry we hadnt try to eat and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayperson019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having first seen Llys Meddyg while passing through Newport a year ago, my partner researched and said that it sounded lovely and we must visit on our next trip. Comments from other included "expensive but very good", so we booked for a Saturday night in May.

The food could not be faulted in fairness, but the service and general atmosphere was very poor - bearing in mind this was in the £100 / 2 meals category.

Upon arrival we were led downstairs to the bar and left there, the barman then gave us a cocktail menu, and my partner ordered, then to be told that the one chosen was not available because they didn't have any sloe gin. Having ordered something else,, we were eventually taken to our table in the dining room which was surprisingly empty for a bank holiday weekend.

After the meal, which was good, we ordered 2 decaff coffees, and then the waitress returned later to say they'd run out of decaff that morning. I asked for the bill, she took cash away, but having waited for some time, there was no sign of the amount of change, and no sign of any staff so we got up and left. 2 staff members were sat behind the desk and there was no effort made to get up and see us out, or ask if all was satisfactory.

We left, feeling totally let down by the whole experience.

In contrast, the following night we visited Cwtch in St Davids, which excelled in all ways, was busy and bussing, staff were attentive and friendly and the whole experience cost less, and was far more pleasant.

Llys Meddyg - you have clearly become very complacent!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WelshWanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
9.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#8 of 20 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Meddyg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Meddyg

Property: Llys Meddyg
Address: Llysmeddyg East Street, Newport SA42 0SY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Meddyg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llys Meddyg can offer you luxury accommodation and a beautiful place to stay in Pembrokeshire, west Wales…with our large, comfy beds, crisp cotton sheets and down duvets, you’ll sleep like a log.Let us pamper you. Our Georgian townhouse offers a unique blend of old and new, with elegant furnishings, deep sofas and a welcoming fire. All our rooms are large, bright and comfortable with contemporary en suite facilities and stunning interiors. You’ll find our beds very accommodating with cool, crisp linen and Welsh woolen blankets from Melin Tregwynt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Llys Meddyg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llys Meddyg Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Llys Meddyg Newport, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing