We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL HOTEL”
Review of Jaz Dar El Madina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaz Dar El Madina
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL HOTEL”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I can only say that this was the most perfect holiday. All staff without exception were kind friendly and helpful. The feel of the place was idylic.....the pool just the right temperature.....the food was to die for....and the service made you feel special!!!!! Out of the hotel you could take a short walk to the beach and although parts of the shore were roped off to protect the coral, there was still an area that you could paddle or swim in.....A quiet resort that made for a perfect relaxing holiday....we loved it !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YasmineIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    323
    42
    5
    11
See reviews for
509
749
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colchester uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I would reiterate everything Worxelminxy had to say about this hotel. Lovely rooms, good food, friendly staff, good location. Entertainment very low key but animation staff very friendly and try their best. Nice little Waterpark next door definately worth a visit. There were quite a lot of flies about at this time of year. Weather was lovely but windy. Not much for children to do.
Only down side to the holiday was the First Choice flight from Gatwick, they ran out of meals on both outward and return journeys and talking in resort the same thing happened on the Manchester flight, so go prepared with back up nibbles.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week arriving on the 26th November. 10 - 15 minutes transfer time from the airport. First Choice/Thomson reps are not allowed into the airport however there are staff there to help you with Visa's etc. You get your visa in prior to going through passport control & immigration, you pay for it on the bus £13 each depending on exchange rate.

The hotel is the smallest of the 5 in the Coraya Bay area but from the comments of other guests in other hotels this one was the better. The service is good and personal become friends with the waiters have a chat with them it always helps they are human too.

The rooms are air conditioned and well space with twin beds (push them together for a double) all have balcony with table and 2 chairs. The bathroom is good with large walk in shower - no bath. TV & mini bar and snacks which we didn't fine too expensive.

Breakfast is good with cheese, meats, yoghurts, various fruits and cereal. Fruit juices and tea/coffee. Scrambled eggs, frankfurters, french toast, eggs fried to your liking omelettes, waffles and pancakes. There is also a huge selection of breads and pastries.

Lunch is good always a good selection of potatoes including mashed or chipped, roast or boiled, vegetables, meat dishes and pasta. The choice for dinner is about the same but I think lunch is better.

There is a pool snack bar where you can get sandwiches & pizza's drinks tea coffee throughout the day until sunset. Also a bar on the terrace for drinks.

The walk to the beach is about 5 mins - the bay itself is spectacular with fatastic views of the Red Sea Mountains and desert. There is a jetty for snorkelling & diving and around the bay a walk in area for the less serious snorkellers. The reef is protected by ropes and if you swim onto the reef you will be whistled at by beach patrol. The snorkelling is good and some fine fish to see.

You can use the sister Soraya hotel beach bar for lunch and drinks, pizza, hotdogs icecream etc.

It is quiet and not a great nightlife (no nightclubs or discos) but in the courtyard of the hotel is a 'Medina' with shops an Italian & Oriental al a carte's which are 10 euros per person plus drinks. There is also a Shisha bar but this is not part of the All inclusive so carry your drinks with you. A singer performs each night and belly dancing and vraious folklore dancers takes place on selected nights.

There is an animation team but we did not really see them much for the first couple of days, we did go to see 1 show and was funny because it was so awful.

We had a restful enjoyable holiday we met some lovely people and would go again.

Stacey the First Choice rep was superb we did a trip to Port Galhib on the Friday night to see the marina and huge yachts, it's very cosmopolitan with Costa Coffee & Pizza Hut etc the shopping fun but always haggle.

I'm a little unsure of the previous review as we were unaware of any nearby golf course.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

went to sol y mar in june fantastic is not the word animation team were superb hassan in the bar such good fun and mohammed in reception always eager to help in any way very tranquil and peaceful just what we wanted food was always different every night and very tasty and beer was spot on will definetely be going back

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We have booked this holiday last minute via first choice. We booked our holiday on Monday and left Wednesday. When we arrived at Marsa Alam airport it was very messy and chaotic. Nobody knew what they were doing. First choice staff is not allowed to wait for us in the airport but they were all waiting just outside for us. Our transfer bus took us to the hotel. In the coach we had to pay for the visa. We were misinformed to start of with because we were told by the travel agent that we did not need a visa if we are staying on the resort. A ride that normally takes 10 minutes took 30 minutes because they wanted to make sure they had all the money before we arrived. Just be careful though because the guy asking for money was quoting the wrong Egyptian money..
The resort itself was perfect. It was very clean and the rooms were very modern. We changed and went straight for dinner. The food is lovely and plenty of choice. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and always happy to help. We had a good laugh with them during our stay and we can't say a bad word about them. On my birthday I have a towel made birthday cake on our bed and they brought me a real birthday cake after dinner and sang me happy birthday in 4 different languages.
The housekeeper left us a different towel creation every day.
The beach is only 5 minutes walk from the resort if you walk through the adjacent resort. We bought snorkelling sets from our rep Kay and went snorkelling almost every day.
Our rep Kay was great. She was very helpful and was there for us for anything we needed. She definitely made our stay comfortable and told us everything we needed to know.
I do have to warn everybody. Entertainment at this resort is very bad. There are 4 teenagers in charge of it and it was terrible. We decided that we didn’t want to see how bad it was anymore and wanted to have a quiet drink on the terrace, but every evening one of the kids came shouting SHOW TIME a half dozen of times. Very annoying!
I also want to add that with another couple and a lady, we were the only English guests on this resort. The rest of the guests were German and very rude. They really thought they owned the place and we kept getting evil eyes all the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_M25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The hotel itselfs was lovely. It was modern, clean and i couldnt fault the bedrooms. The pool was small but sufficient. The food was mainly egyptian in theme, and there wasnt much variation, although it was all fresh and well presented. We were one of three british couples staying there. There was clear favourtism towards the other nationalities staying there by the staff, which we found very frustrating. There is little to do outside the complex, defo a holiday for those who wish to lay by the pool or beach. There are no places to eat out/shop etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sj15859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,466 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,221 reviews
28.5 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#14 of 68 in Marsa Alam
457 reviews
5.7 mi away
Three Corners Fayrouz Plaza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dar El Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dar El Madina

Property: Jaz Dar El Madina
Address: Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dar El Madina 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaz Dar El Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Dar El Madina Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing