We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palace Port Ghalib
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Because it was impossible to travel to Sharm-el-S. we decided to visit Port Ghalib. Intercontinental was a good choice. Service is really fantastic, food (breakfast in our case) delicious & fresh. Staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping and personel on the beach also very professional. No all-inclusive-concept, which is great in my opinion (I don't like ai). Reef beautiful, but often too much wind to do a relaxed snorkel.
We felt at home, we were treated like princesses and felt spoiled ;-) Room is beautiful, beds very good, ibisses sat in our garden!
Also very good: never any asking for tips, (almost) no Russian guests, no irritating animation team, no loud music. All very stylish and chique.
Free internet provided in the bar. Hotel is within walking distance of Port Ghalib, where you'll find a few restaurants, bars and some shops.
Beach is shared with 2 Crowne Plaza resorts (ai-concept, beer and loud Italians being a consequence of this, but not really a problem).
I travelled with a friend. I woul advise this resort for rest-seekers, people who like to be spoilt in every way.

Room Tip: Probably all rooms are great. We had a room next to the restaurant, very nice view on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Our Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort and thank you for your priceless time to submitting a TripAdvisor review about our hotel, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy to know that you and your friend enjoyed our services, staff hospitality and the hotel facilities especially the food and our reef.

Your comment regarding the beach will be addressed to the concerned departments to see where improvements can be done and take the proper actions.

We all will be waiting to welcome you again to make another memorable time for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    253
    63
    18
    4
See reviews for
356
654
89
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bologna
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Hotel: a perfect five star with a terrific lobby and opulent marbles everywhere. Common areas always perfectly appointed and clean.
The Location: We were in Sharm el Sheik three times before deciding to change side of the Red Sea. This location is stunning. You can access the coral reef directly from the beach and also from two jetties. The reef is rich with the most beautiful environment you can wish. The Intercontinental Palace guests can enjoy private beaches: one facing south, with easy access to the reef and protected from high waves. The second is facing east, with jetties to reach the reef and more exposed to the wind and sometimes to strong waves. Both sides are equally beautiful. The choice depends on your skills in swimming and on the laziness of that very day!
The Room: Fully equipped, nice furniture. Our balcony was facing the entrance of the marina and the most beautiful side of the beach. Very calm, no noise coming from adiacent other resorts.
The Service: SUPER! you don't have to ask: they are so attentive - but not invadent - that you don't need to ask because they have already done. Either in the main restaurant or in the bar, or in the pool restaurant you are always aware that they are there for you, and it seems like you are the most important client they have. A special thanks to Mr Assan, the Guest Relation Manager, who made our holiday a very special one. But the list of the acknoledgements should be a very long one, from the receptionists, to the waiters, to the chefs, to the housekeepers, the lifeguards, ....
The Olive Restaurant: excellent friendly staff - waiters and chefs are checking continuosly every particular. I cannot say how many people there were during our stay, but we could always find a free table, and breakfast and dinner were very relaxing moments. The food is various and very well presented and cooked.
The Pool Restaurant: we had an unforgettable lobster dinner there. Believe me: we travel quite enough and we ate lobster in some of the best restaurants in the world, but these lobsters were superb. I would have kissed the chef ....
The Bar: skilled barmen, friendly and attentive.
The Six Senses Spa: five/six/seven star and more. Try the hot stone massage!
In conclusion: we'come back as soon as we can...hopefully very very soon!

Room Tip: try the seaview rooms facing the marina entrance. Nice views - no noise - easy access to the private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plestin les Greves, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

i stayed 1 week in this sublime place. Everything was perfect, the service, the kindness of the staff, the quality of the meals...(thanks to chef Magdy Hamad "the hot kitchen chef" and Salah Aldien, the butcher chef!!! change nothing!!!). AND A SPECIAL THANK to Hassan Samir who made of our holidays a moment of happiness!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erwan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Our Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort and thank you for your priceless time to submitting a TripAdvisor review about our hotel, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our services, staff hospitality and the hotel facilities especially the quality of the meals.

Your praises for the staff especially Chef Magdy Hamad, Salah Aldie and Hassan will be shared with him and he will be so happy with it.

We all will be waiting to welcome you again to make another memorable time for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 8 days, with my 5-year old son. i travel alot and have high expectations in 5-star hotels. the intercontinental is truly a five-star hotel with very a motivated staff. there were unfortunaltely very few children in the hotel which was not ideal for me. but this hotel cannot change the unfortunate political situation in egypt..
i hope for the hotel-directors that they are aware of the fact that hassan samir is outstanding at his job! otherwise i could imagine another hotel hiring him at a higher salary!!

Room Tip: super hotel for couples, for family with children only suitable in the high-season
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kamilla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Why would you come back to the same hotel five times in two years? The answer: there simply is nothing better if you are looking for superb quality of service and food in a high class serene environment. With chefs like the two Magdis, Atef, Ayman and Salah Salem you will always have wonderful dining experiences. With Mohamed, Mahmoud, Ahmed and many others working the dining room with efficiency and good humor, every evening will be memorable. With Mohamed and his colleagues at the Pool Deck and Taher and Adam on the beach pampering you, your days will be peaceful and fun. With Toba and Ali taking excellent care of your room while you are gone during the day, you will come to rest contented each and every night. So, what else do you need from a vacation?

Every time you come back improvements have been made. The management and the whole team are doing an excellent job. My wife and I look forward to our next stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank polytravelerstrankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Our Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort and thank you for your priceless time to submitting a TripAdvisor review about our hotel, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that you enjoyed our services and hospitality
It was a great pleasure to have you back again with us for your fifth time and delighted to know that you had another great holiday here with us.

Your praises for the staff especially our chefs as following Magdy, Atef, Ayman and Salah Salem Salem, Also Mohamed, Mahmoud, Ahmed, Mohamed and Taher at the Pool Deck, Adam at the beach, Toba And Ali whom took a good care of your room will be shared with them and they will be so happy with it.

We all looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice place for romance and couple staying, wonderful port, a beautiful beach, very corporative stuff made your staying very comfort by every mean, varied food made by professional chef and night entertainment program was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Our Valuable Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort and I’m glad to know that you liked our service and stuff attitude that made your stay very comfort, pleased to shared with them.

Such a great Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.

Your comment regarding the food will be shared also with our chefs as they will be happy with it. as we also glad to know that you enjoyed our entertainment nights.

We all looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

On our second visit we can only say that this already great hotel keeps improving itself. The food was already good,but the selections and quality has further improved. Just when we noticed the sunshade for the beachboys was in a bad state it was replaced the next day. New seat cushions at the outside restaurant, painters doing the railings in the open air corridors, etc. It wouldn't be fair to name names here as the cooks, gardeners and maintenance people rarely get mentioned and they too contribute to a wonderful holiday. No all-inclusive here, so look elsewhere (next door) if that's what you are after.
If they sort out a way to create an Intercontinental experience on the beach, that would be great. The service with towels (no towel cards here!) and water is good, but the feeling of exclusivity you get in the hotel and restaurant should extend to the beach also.
Go here for peace and quiet, toddlers will enjoy themselves and there were a few there during our stay, for teenagers (there weren't any) it might be a bit too quiet, but then again, you can always wander over to the sisterCrown Plaza hotels next door and enjoy the entertainment there if that's what you're after.
Lovely Spa by the way...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikNL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort, I’m glad to know that you liked our service and staff attitude, which I have shared with them.

Such a great Feedback regarding our food improvements and the high quality like yours, are encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Your praises for the staff especially the cooks, gardeners and maintenance Engineering team will be shared with them and they will be so happy with it. Your comment regarding the beach will be addressed to the concerned departments to see where improvements can be done and take the proper actions.

Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home

We thank you again for spending time to share your ‘Excellent’ review. Your comments are very much appreciated and we will be delighted to welcome you back for your second visit in order to indulge you ones again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
5.3 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Port Ghalib Resort
Port Ghalib Resort
#19 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siva Port Ghalib
Siva Port Ghalib
#22 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#17 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Port Ghalib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Port Ghalib

Property: The Palace Port Ghalib
Address: PO Box 23 | Port Ghalib, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. The Palace Port Ghalib is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. The Palace Port Ghalib features 308 premier rooms. All beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort; the resort offers a choice of three restaurants, The Olive offering International cuisine, Pool Deck offering Lebanese cuisine, a selection of snacks and seafood delicacies, with superb views over the glistening Red Sea and the swimming pool. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, the award winner Six Senses Spa, Kids Club. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. The Palace Port Ghalib is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Port Ghalib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing