We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Resta Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resta Grand Resort
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I had two weeks here in February for some winter sun and it was fantastic relaxing and plenty of sun, it was my husbands birthday and we were surprised when the waiter came to our room with a beautiful chocolate cake and we didn't even mention that it was his birthday!!! there were a couple of cards in the room other than that maybe they took the date from his passport it was a lovely touch! the staff were really pleasant, helpful and friendly.
The gardens were amazing and the gardeners really worked hard. Sam in the bar was brilliant always remembering your drinks and nothing was too much trouble. If you want a holiday in the sun just to relax and unwind then this is for you the best sun beds that I have ever had they were perfect, plenty of room and you could sit wherever you wanted to at any time! The beach was very clean and the fish were out of this world our first time in Eygpt but not our last.
We will return and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinegirl037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

My sister and I just returned from. 7 night break in the Resta Grand Resort Marsa Alam. We had a very relaxing few days eating and drinking and enjoying being taken care of by all the staff. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The food was plentiful and always beautifully displayed .
We couldn't have wanted or asked for more.
The only niggle I had was on entry to the country you have to have a visa stamped in your passport by the staff in the airport, the money to pay for the visa had to be given to someone on the transfer coach, although the visa states $15 to be paid, the person collecting the money refused my dollars and insisted on £s or Egyptian which worked out a lot more than my $s

Room Tip: If you have any choice of room go for rooms in the 400s as they are smack in the middle of all the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEDUCHESS81600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our second time at the hotel,which they did recognise and had upgraded our room to a room by the pool and close to reception. We never visit the same place twice although always enjoy our holidays. Although we had a lovely relaxing time it wasn't as good as last year, the plateau restaurant on the beach was closed the zeit zaitoun and the marsa club house restaurant were allegedly open but deserted and the el sala pub had closed down. Last year they had a fantastic singer in the evenings for the entertainment this year we had the most appalling animation team I have had on a holiday, and with no where else to go we were lumbered with them.I agree with the comments about how hard it was to get tea and coffee at breakfast, however Sammy in the space restaurant made up for the short fallings of others with his smile. Also Sam in the bar was fantastic. I only drink wine and found it very annoying that I was only given half a small glass of watered down wine at a time I would have preferred to pay for a decent glass. We went into Port Ghalib and although it made a nice change it was very quiet there so the troubles in the country are defiantly effecting tourism. If you want a holiday in the sun and you want to totally relax on fantastic sun beds then this is the place for you, however if you want a choice of food and a little low key entertainment then choose another hotel

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Knockess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after our 5th visit. This is a good hotel with good customer relations, the staff go out of their way to please, even in the "Space" restaurant where things can get a bit hectic, the waiters, Wagih, Samy, Mohamed, Sam and others too numerous to mention went out of their way to always try to please and share in conversation even at busy times. If I had to have a grumble it would be directed at the lack of "A la carte" restaurants on offer, other hotels we have visited usually allow you to visit one of these free during your stay, other than that both my wife and myself have no grumbles. We always go to these places with an open mind and when we hear other guests moaning about trivial things it really does make me think what they have gone for in the first place. If you want sunshine, good food, excellent room comfort and luxurious settings go and book the "Resta Grand"

Room Tip: rooms 2801 to 2804 are convenient for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bripat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were two couples 50ish, well travelled and were here for our 11th trip to Egypt, 5th to Marsa Alam and first to Resta Grand.
The airport procedure was smooth and pleasant as it always is at this small private airport. Transfer 10 minutes and a smooth check in.

The rooms are very good by Egyptian standards but hard beds and terrible pillows. Bathroom was with WC, Sink, Bidet and shower over a bath. Downstairs rooms have a sunbed and table and chairs on the balcony.

Nobody goes to Egypt for the food but it was some of the best we have had for all of Egypt. We also asked the chef to make us a separate Thai Green Curry one evening and it was the best we have had including from Thailand. There are A la carte restaurants as well but were empty probably due to the fact the hotel had only circa 300 guests.

This trip was for relaxing and that is what we did. Loads of beds and brollys at the pool and beach, good drinks and snacks almost all day, Apart from the small animation team activities there is little else to do although they have a well appointed kids room and playground. The beach is a non swimmer apart from off the jetty in deep water but was so rough was only useable for 2 days in 2 weeks. There are 2 pools, 1 heated the other cold but refreshing.

There was entertainment most nights some were good and some not so. Again much was due to lack of guests.

One restaurant with ample meal times but there was still queues at times

POOR POINTS
There are no public toilets around the pool area. There are some at the beach snack bar and in the hotel lobby or it is back to the room. If you are wet or in swim wear it is the room or beach and that can be close to a couple of minutes walk as the hotel is spread over a huge area.

The glasses at the pool bar are way past needing replacement and they do not have enough. The main bar ran out of glasses as well. This is not good with under occupancy, if the place was full it would not be a good place to be.

The hotel has built (not finished) two more areas at the front which will almost double the capacity, I was surprised to see that toilets have been omitted there as well.

For us on a quiet relaxing holiday with only 300 guests it was fantastic. But I would not like to be there if the place was full. I am not sure the bars or restaurant could cope well.

SPECIAL PEOPLE
All staff without exception were wonderful but some are deserving of a special mention for making our holiday extra special, they are;
In the restaurant - Mahamed, Emad and the lovely Samy.
Main & pool bars - Abdo, Ahmed, Nokia and Alaa who should be promoted.
Animation - Daniel and Alex.
Reception - Amir.

Would we go back - absolutely but not if full.p

Room Tip: A room close to the pool is better but you will pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doug+chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just got back on the 12th March after 2 weeks at the Resta Grand lovely hotel friendly staff mostly, but the restaurant let it down badly the food was very poor the worst we have had in 30 years of holidays not much choice, not cooked most was cold had to queue and it was only less than half full I dread to think what it would be like when busy, the service was non existent and the restaurant manager with glasses was very rude I only asked for milk for our coffee didn't get it. on the bright side Alaa and Abdo at the pool bar were excellent keep us in drinks and coffee all day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We just spent a week here and we have had a good holiday. The hotel is huge and well maintained. The pools are awesome, two of them being heated. Sunbeds with a comfy mattress and never too busy so we could choose where to be every day. The beach beds are also good and most of them were available for us to choose.
Not many people disturb you trying to sell you a spa treatment or a excursion. Actually they only asked us once and left us in peace. :-)
So I would recommend this place if you want to rest, relax by the pool and do nothing.
but there's a few down points that I'm going to mention:
There is no toilets by the pool, so you have to go to reception, your hotel room or jump in the pool and...
It is a hard mission to get a tea or a coffee in breakfast, and is even harder to find a spoon.
The food is average for egypt, with a few different things to choose but sometimes they take ages to refill the buffet which originates a huge queue.
The house reef is accesible by a big platform, but the hotel faces a rough bit of the sea so it is most of the time closed: bad for snorkeling. There is other hotels in nicer bays where you can have a look to the reef (if you are interested in this... you should be in the red sea!)
They need to improve the selection of drinks: local beer is good, same for the wine. But they only have the Egyptian spirits, so if you fancy a known brand better buy it at the airport, give it to the waiter with a tip and thats problem solved.
Also the entertainment at night time is a bit poor, they do something every night but they need something like a bar with music to have a drink and a laugh till late if you wanted to.
It is supposed to have three or four restaurants, but they all seemed closed but the main buffet.

In general nice place to go, value for money, well kept and nice pool. But if you want to dive or snorkel go to an hotel in coraya bay. t

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kicoiraola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.2 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#26 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,581 reviews
19 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#15 of 68 in Marsa Alam
614 reviews
23 mi away
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
#36 of 68 in Marsa Alam
718 reviews
28.8 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Grand Resort

Address: KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#21 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: £47 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resta Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
752 Spacious, comfortable guest rooms, fitted with modern amenities• Standard single room: 46 sqm• Twin room: 46 sqm• Family room: 52 sqm• Individually controlled air conditioning• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV• Satellite television• Hairdryer• Iron and ironing board upon request• Safety deposit box• Mini bar• Tea & Coffee making facilities• Sound system and telephone. All Inclusive & Ultra All inclusive programs available. 4 restaurants & 5 bars in addition to other two restaurants planned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Resta Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Grand Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Grand Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing