We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dive spots, good organization, but feels like a factory” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coraya Divers

Coraya Divers
Ranked #9 of 44 Tours in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Dunavarsany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice dive spots, good organization, but feels like a factory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

After our last trip in May 2013, we returned to Coraya Bay this March. The Diving Center hasn't changed, and it's not a problem: we knew what to expect. The weekly dive plan is fixed in advance and various enough to choose the trips you like. There are more spots to visit every day, and a lot of divers sign in for every trip. As there are five hotels in the bay, there are a lot of divers as well. Therefore a lot of dive instructors and dive guides needed to assist you day by day. This is not about friedship or symphaty, it's about making business. They are smiling at you, but I'm not sure they know who you are.
As we have more than 25 logged dives, we could dive without a guide - not only at the house reef (Marsa Umm Gerifat), but also on outside reefs. I think it's better to dive together with your buddy and not to be tied to the guide and be in hurry all the time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mano_from_Hungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    43
    16
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Same dive sites over and over again, far too regimented. Dives cancelled at short notice with no chance to rebook -just tough luck. Have been to marsa alam on many occasions and this dive centre gets the lowest vote. Go round to port ghalib if you want to dive.

Helpful?
6 Thank anon184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dive center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

It is very organized, very helpful to plan your dives so that one could efficiently spend his time between diving and spending time with family.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank solly2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Whether PADI or not, they are simply excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The dive center is excellent, they give you a round tour once you ask for diving opportunities, they make each and everyone of you make an orientation dive (it`s a thing I kind of like - I have met a lot of people with AOWD but only 7 dives, so it`s good that they make their time to check each and everyone of us to ensure all divers know at least the basics). The orientation dive was a regular dive, so nothing to worry about, basic stuff, taking off your mask and regulator, otherwise it was really just a dive around house reef.
In general, the Coraya are more expensive than what I have seen in Hurghada, however, it`s worth it. Within the dive center, they have the list of dives you can do, so it`s totally up to you what you want to do and when you want to do it, which was a first for me. I was used to going to dive center, hopping on the boat and just having them take me anywhere they wanted that day. The dive sites are excellent, of course it depends how lucky you are to see the things you want to see. The local guides are very good, the staff is efficient, the ladies at the reception have patience with you (and I was asking a ton of questions the fist day). You can rent all your equipment, they will rent you also the dive computer (also a first for me, have never seen a dive center rent you a dive computer!), they explain you how to clean your stuff after the dives. Overall 5 stars, forget about Emperor divers, if you are at Madinat Coraya (any of the 6 hotels there), choose the Coraya Divers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great dive centre, superb choice of dive sites.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Coraya Divers is a first rate dive centre, one of the best we’ve dived with in the Red Sea. Before we arrived we contacted Sonja, one of the owners. She answered all of our questions with very quick replies. You can do the check in paperwork online before you arrive, we didn’t do this but it is an option that saves time at the centre.

The number of dive sites on offer is superb. There are full and half day boat trips, bus trips, speed boat trips, the lot. My wife and I did 14 dives each during our two week stay. There are several highlights for us, Marsa Egla for the Dugong, Elphinstone for everything (do take Dramamine for the long boat trip), the house reef for early morning and night dives and Masdoda for a bit of a challenging dive.

The dive centre is very well organised. It is German owned and run but there are instructors from all over Europe and Egypt working there. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Despite us arriving at one of the quietest periods for the centre due to the travel advice issued by the French, German and Italian governments, which greatly reduced the number of guests and divers, the staff morale was good because the divers that were there were being spoiled for choice as there were places available on whatever trip you wanted. Clearly some of the more popular trips were run less frequently due to the reduced guest numbers but we never missed out on any of the sites we wanted to dive at.

During our stay, we saw no signs of the events that had affected other parts of Egypt. Marsa Alam is over 400 miles away from Cairo and well off the beaten track. We felt very safe and secure.

We would recommend this dive centre to anyone as there is something for everyone here. They are an SSI centre and not PADI but to be honest, that matters not. Although we travelled with Thomson who advised us on arrival at the Coraya Beach hotel that their partners in the Red Sea were Emperor Divers, we would still go back to Coraya Divers as they are a 10 minute walk from the hotel (which we’ve reviewed in another post). All in all a great dive centre with very friendly staff and a great choice of dive sites for all skill levels. Highly recommended and we’ll definitely visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JockMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coraya Divers also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Coraya Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing