We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secure instructor”
Review of Coraya Divers

Coraya Divers
Ranked #7 of 45 Tours in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Bastad, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great secure instructor”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our son had his first sea-dive with Coraya Divers instructor.
Such confidence for us parents. Our son enjoyed and will for sure dive again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 123CIB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    43
    19
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“First class dive outfit”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We've dived with Coraya divers before, and as a result as returning customers we get 10% off, which is a nice touch.

This is a first class dive outfit which is very efficient, friendly and well run.It is probably the most organised dive centre we have experienced in many years of diving all over the world.

What makes the centre so good?
1. It is very well laid out, each diver has a numbered locker, wetsuit hanger and BCD hanger.
2. There are two sets of rinse tanks.
3. There is a vast selection of dives to sign up to, including speedboat dives, hardboat dives, truck dives to other shore sites, plus the house reef.
4. The house reef is open to buddy pairs with more than 25 dives to dive any time they choose. You can take a rib to drop you on the outside reef and swim back to the jetty. We'd advise people to swim into the bay, there are nudibranchs, lots of squid, a massive school of baby baracuda, a HUGE baracuda to be seen here.
5. Warm water showers are available, along with complimentary tea and coffee; soft drinks are for sale to put on your bill.

Guests staying in the local hotels run by Thomson are encouraged to dive with an outfit in Port Ghalib; we have no experience of this dive school but to us it is a no brainer to dive with an outfit which is so so good; this is our third time with them and its easier to stroll 3 minutes to the dive centre within the hotel complex than undergo 10-15 minutes bus transfer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really organised”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Although this is a very big operation with lots of staff, the organisation is such as everything runs smoothly.From first contact to last dive all information was given clearly both verbally and written. Staff were helpful and dive guides knowledgeable about dive sites and marine life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HilarieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best dive school we have been to”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Extremely well organised, very flexible with what we wanted to do. Dive guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. House reef excellent, particularly the north reef. An enjoyable holiday made better by the well run dive school.

Would recommend diving with coraya divers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryDave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunavarsany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice dive spots, good organization, but feels like a factory”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After our last trip in May 2013, we returned to Coraya Bay this March. The Diving Center hasn't changed, and it's not a problem: we knew what to expect. The weekly dive plan is fixed in advance and various enough to choose the trips you like. There are more spots to visit every day, and a lot of divers sign in for every trip. As there are five hotels in the bay, there are a lot of divers as well. Therefore a lot of dive instructors and dive guides needed to assist you day by day. This is not about friedship or symphaty, it's about making business. They are smiling at you, but I'm not sure they know who you are.
As we have more than 25 logged dives, we could dive without a guide - not only at the house reef (Marsa Umm Gerifat), but also on outside reefs. I think it's better to dive together with your buddy and not to be tied to the guide and be in hurry all the time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mano_from_Hungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coraya Divers also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Coraya Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing