We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£100
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
No prepayment needed
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,524)
Filter reviews
1,524 results
Traveller rating
746
531
168
56
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
746
531
168
56
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wooden bridge adventure safari fish desert tour high percentage special thanks coral reef friendly approach sandy bay nice beach hotel service eagle ray shows at night beach bar sea life beach staff sea grass
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 1,524 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

amazing beach and reef.room very poor paid extra for beach front. Great spot, crap funiture very dated half broken or not working.Coffee and tea in room but not milk or whitener also does not get replenished at all so what 's the point of having it.Some staff amazing but some need a lot of training in bars.Once all the buiding work done it could be amazing i dont no how first choice sells it as a platuimun hotel more like a basic 3 star beach hotel. Food ok but not great.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank heale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashraf Mahmoud, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Brayka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I visited Royal Brayka with 3 others in late November, early December. The hotel is new in that it is not finished. However, that did not deter us from having a great time. It is adjacent to the Brayka Bay hotel where facilities are shared with the exception of the main restaurant.

Only three room blocks are open resulting in an hotel with few guests thus giving us no restaurant queues, no bar queues, plenty of choice of sunbeds around the pool or on the beach, quick service from staff and empty swimming pools most of the time. Bliss if you are seeking a quiet holiday to chill out. I was informed that other blocks are not due to open before April next year at the earliest.

Despite only being open for a few months, sadly the rooms were showing signs of wear and tear such as mould and rust in the bathrooms, and paint blistering and peeling from outside walls. Overall though, they were comfortable and we had been allocated ground floor sea view rooms which was a bonus.

The grounds were immaculate, kept that way by a busy team of gardeners who seem to be working from dawn to dusk. Plenty of planting was going on for a splendid display of flowers in February/March next year.

All meals were taken in the buffet restaurant. It is a pity that it is the only restaurant in the all inclusive package as a change would have been welcome. It is he only all inclusive hotel that I have visited that has just a single restaurant. Food in general was ok and something should have been there to suit most palates.

The entertainment team was Italian and we would not have missed it if it wasn't there. The noise made on the each trying to encourage others to play their puerile games outside the beach bar, was very distracting if you just wanted to sun bathe or read. However, I did enjoy Egyptian Night that took pace in the amphitheatre of the Brayka Bay hotel.

There is a well-equipped gym and spa which was very much under used.

The pièce de resistance attracting guests to Brayka Bay is the coral reef. It is in my opinion, one of he best reefs accessible to snorkellers in Egypt, if not the whole world. In my short time there I identified 124 different species of fish over the variable types of reef just off shore. However, I have concern about the long term future of the reef due to the number of snorkellers there and the number likely to rise exponentially during the high season. I can only hope that the hotels exercise some control over numbers to sustain this beautiful reef.

Summing up, the hotel is great for a rest, particularly when we went at the end of November. The weather was ideal as we neither felt cold in the evenings or sweated during the day. There was little evening entertainment and even less from 1 December, but this was not a problem for us.

Room tip: We were in Block 2 that had excellent views over the bay
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Khimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashraf Mahmoud, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Brayka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Spent two weeks 14 to 28 November. The 2nd week cost me €146 extra pp = €20 per day!!! Given this cost the value is astonishing. The resort has many plus points; Food is good to excellent (could have had a "Middle East corner every day and not once per week); anyone who cannot find something good to eat at each meal has a serious problem. I heard rave reviews about the pasta. Staff were friendly without being pushy. No "baksheesh" begging. Room quality/service was impeccable, after some initial equipment problems.

There was a mix with Russian, Italian (not on the dives though) and Germans dominating, but with a good representation by Dutch and British. A mega-plus is access to the best house reef in my 20 years of diving; superb snorkelling; close to Elphinstone; professional dive centre with competitive prices. Weather was perfect; sea temperatures excellent. Warm and fresh swimming pools. Easy beach access. Gym, chemist, hairdresser, massage and clinic on site. Pretty gardens. Alcohol quality was remarkably good, even the white wine, but the red was dreadful. Beer was cold and pleasant. Brilliant pool bar.

Cons: One case of 'Gippo' tummy, sorted out by the pharmacist in 24 hours. Wonky room equipment - speedily repaired. Decorations and ambiance of the dining room and lobby bar reminded me of old railway stations. Bring repellent for the mozzies for pool bar sundowners. Very limited english TV

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pedro i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashraf Mahmoud, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Brayka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022
Google Translation

Gentile cliente,

Grazie del tempo dedicato a condividere le sue impressioni! Speriamo di riaverla presto tra i nostri ospiti.

Cordiali saluti,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

After a pleasant flight and journey to the Royal Brayka, it was made even more pleasant by a cold drink and hot towel on arrival. A quick check in with a smile and explanation of services. Mohamed Yahia is the best member of staff on reception, though reception staff are extremely kind and helpful.
The room was average size, with comfortable twin beds, the satellite reception on the TV was not wonderful but we only had BBC World News on now and then. Only a shower in the bathroom, would have been nice to have a bath but shower was powerful and there was always very hot water available. We were on ground floor and in a good position for beach / pool / restaurant / reception.
We used the heated pool, which at times was like getting into a bath! Whether or not it was the time of year (First 2 weeks in December) but the hotel was practically empty, always sun beds by pool and on the beach. Not many guests, most of which were European (thankfully not many Russians either!)
The beach was quiet, and relaxing - it would have been nice to have a pier/pontoon too enter the sea, but as there is a bay you walk into the sea and the fish are amazing - lion fish / blue spotted stingray among others. Also egrets and eagles, buzzards and bats of an evening if your lucky to see the fly at dusk. There is a bar on the beach and towel desk.
The pool area was again quiet, with a bar, and towel desk. The heated pool area is low down and sheltered and is a sun trap.
The weather is definitely warmer than Sharm El Sheikh. If you want a trip in the desert its right outside the front of the hotel. It was worth a trip on a quad bike, this desert is different to the Sinai desert.
The food in the restaurant was different every day, though nothing exciting it was hot and there was variety, the bread was decent enough. We never got ill with the food! The waiters were exceptionally good.
A lot of the entertainment catered for the Europeans, and where the hotel is situated, you are relatively stuck where you are, but if you want a holiday where you do absolutely nothing just stay at hotel this is ideal. We were there for 2 weeks and wern't bored, we were thoroughly relaxed.
If you get chance to use the Wellness Centre then do. It was clean, very good deals and rates and the staff polite, I had Wael massage me, I recommend him.
All in all I had a great time, and I think those who are couples and older in years will enjoy this hotel, but, I would say give it a try and see for yourself, you maybe pleasantly surprised... I will certainly come back here

Room tip: Try get a room with sun on it, as quite a few blocks the patio / balcony don't face the sun, rooms are decent size though, and beds comfortable.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zoran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashraf Mahmoud, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Brayka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Arrived at Royal Brayka to an easy check in process and a welcome drink. We had a brief explanation of services etc before being taken to our room. I marked the room as average because it was a simple room - standard twin room with the appropriate amenities. However, I think there are various room types around the resort which range from standard to a bit more high spec (i.e. beach front).
We stayed in Block 3 which was protected from any noise pollution from the nightly entertainment which was great as we had to have a few early nights for our diving trips.

Staff are great - Hany (Thomson's Rep) very friendly, informative and helpful and is at the hotel everyday. Reception staff are great - especially as we had to order take away breakfast and lunch 4 days running they made sure this was ready for us early every morning.
Room was cleaned very well, everyday by Mustafa who was very nice and got us some nice plump pillows and made some nice towel art for us. Pool bar staff are friendly too.

Food was varied every day and we had no problems with any of it - there was always something nice to eat. The BBQ outside had some AMAZING food, and the pasta station was lovely too. Plenty of desserts to try - some better than others. There was always a nice selection of food and it was not repetitive despite it being the only restaurant - the other two restaurants were not included in the all inclusive deal.

Pros about the resort are;
1. Lack of British tourists which is a plus for us
2. Good time of year to go - half the resort was empty so it was very quiet - only busy during breakfast, lunch and dinner
3. Nice, relaxing atmosphere in the resort
4. Options to use the Brayka Bay bars and entertainment, including the Bedouin tent for shisha
5. Beach and snorkelling was good, plenty of fish, reef wasn't amazing compared to diving locations - watch out for the lion fish when the current is weak they chill out in the shallow waters

Cons;
1. Definitely wouldn't stay here in high season - think it would be too busy around the pool and beach and certainly the restaurant
2.Good diving location for a couple of days but if diving for more than 3 days the journey to Port Ghalib is a bit too far - used Emperor Divers (approx 45mins-1 hour) from Port Ghalib

Overall, had a great holiday - I tend not to holiday in the same place twice but would return to other parts of Egypt for more Red Sea diving. I would 100% recommend Emperor Divers - who were extremely organised, professional and have fantastic boats. I booked my advanced open water diving course in the UK before I left and saved around £100 - Madida (my instructor) was amazing!!

Room tip: Block 3 - to reduce any noise from late entertainment if you have early starts the next day!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashraf Mahmoud, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Brayka Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews