We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want romantic, then this is it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you want romantic, then this is it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Coraya from the 2nd till the 9th October 2013. We had read plenty of reviews about the hotel on here, and we were very pleased to see that the hotel not only met our expectations but exceeded them. The efficiency after getting off the plane with the VISA being sorted on the bus, not having to check in to the hotel as the Thomson staff had it sorted, a lovely welcome drink, the bags being taken directly to the rooms and us being able to enjoy our holiday from the moment we entered the hotel was amazing.
The hotel is immaculate, the staff extremely friendly. We had a few minor hiccups on the first night, which were rectified immediately. We were very impressed with this, and with the staff overall. It is clear that they want to make sure your holiday is perfect, so if you have any complaints, make sure you tell them asap as they will sort it for you.
The food was very tasty, varied and always hot. A little hello from Norwich!! To our waiter Alaadin! The a la carte restaurant was lovely, especially the steak and lamb.
Being keen wildlife photographers, we were very impressed with the reefs and the wildlife by the beach, especially first thing in the morning where more than likely you will see the 2 ospreys. Snorkelling was best first thing in the morning (6-9am) as the sea was clearer. Unfortunately we hit a rather windy week which meant that the sea was a bit more murky later in the day, but there were still some clear areas with plenty of fish to be seen including eagle rays, moray eels, a huge barracuda, octopus and of course all the pretty colourful fish.
Also, as soon as you choose a sunbed by the beach, a waiter comes to greet you and takes your order, which was great!
The rooms were very clean and very comfortable and our room attendant Ahmed was extremely good. The gardens are amazing and colourful. Overall, the hotel is very well looked after and there is clear attention to detail.
We spent a lot of time snorkelling and by the beach, so we didn't participate much in the daytime activities run by the entertainment team, however we did attend 'blankets by the beach' one evening which was lovely. The resident singer Kahlil is very talented.
We went on a 'swim with wild spinner dolphins' excursion, and it was fantastic! We thoroughly recommend it. The boat journey back was a little choppy and it didn't help that the guides were chain smoking on the deck... however, the dolphin part was an amazing experience.
Now a special thank you to Samy, for his extensive knowledge and passion about his country. He has definitely made us want to come back to the hotel but also explore the rest of Egypt. Thank you for the chats and all your help during our stay.
And now a very special thank you to our Norfolk gal, Amanda! Thank you so much for making our holiday perfect. We loved the chats and friendliness. Hope to see you again soon, either back at the Coraya or in Naaarj''!
This was one of our best holidays, if not the best, and we will definitely come back! Hopefully next May!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emilie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,448
    558
    117
    23
    8
See reviews for
372
2,170
137
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt instantly at ease as we were given a welcome drink and the friendly staff arranged for our baggage to be taken to our room and our 'all-inclusive' bands to be fitted. After a brief introductory chat about the facilities, we had a lovely meal and proceeded to have a look at the complex.

Our ground floor room had a lovely sea view and was well appointed with all the required mod-cons and was very clean and was maintained that way by the cleaning staff, with the usual 'towel animal arrangement' left on the bed each day after room service.

The food in the main restaurant was very good with a great variety of foods every night to suit every taste including a BBQ every night as well. The Wine served at dinner (red, white and rose) were all of very good quality and the cocktails in the bars very generously laced with alcohol and served expertly by friendly staff.

The hotel was only at about 35% occupancy on our visit so there were plenty of poolside and beach locations to sunbathe in the 32-35°C temperatures , tempered by a cool breeze making it really bearable.

Activities included a well appointed gym, table tennis, water polo and even a spa with sauna etc available free after 3pm every day. I attended classes in Egyptian cookery (with tasting sessions) and towel arrangement into animal shapes which were both very interesting.

The beach was very clean and the water beautifully clear. Snorkelling with stunning reefs and marine life was accessible within 100 metres from the beach.

We had a wonderful day out on the VIP boat trip to do some snorkelling and a 'try-dive Scuba experience which was fantastic.

The whole holiday was absolutely brilliant and for once I feel truly refreshed on returning from abroad as the staff, organisation and totally friendly atmosphere made it utterly relaxing and enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort to anyone wanting a great holiday that they can take at any pace they desire.

I hear that Thompson are cancelling flights to Marsa Alam from Manchester which is very disappointing, which would seriously affect whether I'd return or not due to having to go from Gatwick.

Helpful?
3 Thank 429Happytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have had the pleasure of visiting Egypt many times over the years and feel totally confident to endorse many of the most favourable comments made by previous reviews regarding this hotel. I will not repeat their comments, merely endorse them.
I have enjoyed quite a few 'Beach Resorts' in the Red Sea area. I think the 'value for money' comment would certainly be valid for staying at the Coraya. I also think the policy for only accepting over 16 year olds is a bonus. If you want to take the kids on holiday then there are numerous choices in the area. This resort gives parents/grandparents an opportunity to have a 'chill out zone'.
I was so impressed with the property and its value for money, that I have now booked another holiday with Thomsons in January 2014. I live in the south-west Midlands so rather than go to Gatwick I have found an all inclusive with Thomsons from Birmingham (only 45 minutes drive from my home in the Malvern Hills). It means flying to Hurghada then a three hours coach drive to Marsa Alam. I note that arrival at the resort is not much different if flying from Gatwick. The alternative is to travel down to Gatwick and fly direct to Marsa Alam - remember in January the weather conditions can create problems driving any distance!
As mentioned, I am not going to repeat the compliments from other reviewers, they have said it all. I know the staff at the hotel appreciate the 'British Contingent' that has continued to enjoy the hospitality of the Egyptian people whilst the country is going through uncertain times.
My suggestion to those travellers who want to enjoy an exceptional experience, go to the Iberotel Coraya in Marsa, you will not be disappointed. Our personal thanks to all those staff that made our visit so memorable. The Thomson rep, Samy, and Iberotel rep Amanda etc., are fine 'ambassadors' for the hotel.
Paul & Norma xXx

Room Tip: Rooms on the 'outer rim' of the hotel away from the pool area are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just back from a week at the Coraya Beach. We stayed here five years ago and were slightly apprehensive, as going back somewhere is never quite as good as you remember it, But yes it was as good and maybe slightly better since it`s now couples only, so gone is the cheesy try to suit all entertainment and replaced with an English singer who`s guitar playing and singing was excellent The location the food and the hotel is great so here comes the but, I feel the standards are starting to slip, the occasional piece of chipped crockery, the bathrobes aren't the thick toweling ones the slippers have become cheap flipflops ,lack of attention in the buffet area (messy serving spoons, over spilled cereal) the noticeable lack of waiters at night making it quite difficult to get a drink, bearing in mind that the tables are being cleared from eleven o`clock i started to get the impression they don`t like giving drink away at night. All taken into account the four T+ is justifiably right. A tip that could be useful is to book the al a carte and the two other restaurants as soon as possible as they soon get booked up as they don`t use all the tables. Just a footnote to Thompson staff i think the welcoming meeting outside after a six hour flight and fiasco of being herded around en mass to our rooms is most un acceptable, also i believe the Manchester flight is being taken out Why? the only reason i came back here was because i don`t want to fly from Gatwick

Room Tip: check out the online form a pool or sea view don`t cost any more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Coraya Beach Hotel, Marsa Alam from 4-18th September 2013. We booked through Thomson on their Couples option which meant that the hotel we booked to stay at would be free of children. Flew from Gatwick. On our way back, we found out Thomson are stopping their flights to Marsa Alam from Manchester. Don’t know if this is still the case but that was what other guests told us.

On the evening of our arrival we had a quick introduction meeting followed by dinner, the hotel had kept the food area open as we would be arriving around 10pm local time. Great idea and the first time we’d experienced this during our many visits to Egypt in the past. Our main welcome meeting took place the morning after our arrival. We were introduced to everyone from the hotel Manager down to the housekeeping supervisor. Again, a first. All became clear very soon. It transpired that the hotel is usually very popular with German tourists. Due to travel advice provided by the German, French and Italian governments, flights from those countries to Egypt had all but stopped. Certainly TUI were not flying to Egypt from Germany. This meant that in a hotel which could house over 700 guests, there were less than 200 guests, the majority of whom were British.

First things first, Marsa Alam is over 400 miles from Cairo. This meant that events in the capital did not affect the far South of the country. We saw security checkpoints but there were few outward signs of any additional security measures in the immediate area of where we stayed. The resort is all inclusive so we had everything on site or within a short walk. The hotel is beautiful. We booked for and received a sea view room which had a balcony outside. The room was very large and comfortable with air conditioning. The air con was used at night and was a bit noisy, ear plugs do work so these are recommended. The room guys really make sure the rooms are clean and their towel art is amazing. We’ve got some great photos of their efforts.

The hotel sits on one side of Coraya Bay. The bay itself is great for diving and snorkelling. We are both divers so we booked and used Coraya Divers who are on the south side of the bay a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Great dive school which we reviewed on another entry. Incidentally Thomson missed a trick there, because during our welcome meeting they introduced a member of staff from Emperor Divers who they said were Thomson’s partners in the area or the red sea. First we heard of it as it was not mentioned in any of the brochures we had. Emperor were not on the Coraya site but we were quite happy with the Coraya Divers who were within walking distance as we said. The beach is fine white sand and exceptionally clean. The whole resort was pristine to be honest so everything is maintained to a very high standard.

Aside from the diving, we made use of several different facilities in the hotel. The pools are all good sized and warm. Water polo took place in the pool nearest the spa each afternoon. The gym is reasonably well equipped for use during a holiday. The spa itself was great. Due to the lack of guests, the spa was offering great deals on massage packages. Each session lasted an hour and the selection on offer was quite varied. We booked a four massage package between us which had been heavily discounted. The staff were all superb and the massages we booked (anti stress x2, Indian Head and Sports) were well worth their value. Highly recommended.

The entertainment team we felt had to work twice as hard as normal due to the reduced number of guests. Every night there was a different event taking place. The team (Shady, ZuZu, Jamaica, Jerry) were superb, the travel agency resort staff (Samy and Helen) were always around and on hand. Between them they made sure that everyone was looked after.

The food was of a great standard. All buffet service with a barbecue option each night. Some people were saying the food service was not 5 star but to be fair to the hotel, they were catering to a significantly reduced number of guests so they staggered the replenishing of dishes which I’m sure reduced waste. There was something for everyone and the dishes were all great. For once I didn’t put on any weight this holiday....how, I have no idea.

All in all this was a superb holiday. The hotel offers some great facilities, several bars and restaurants, good pools, great health spa, 10 minute transfer from the airport, great reef for diving/snorkelling and a 10 minute walk from a great dive school. Would we go back? Yes we will. We’d recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JockMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I lost count on how many times I visited Coraya Beach Resort. The resort is outstanding in every way!

The rooms are very spacious and offer all you need. From wireless to a nice shower, from a fridge to a basket of fruit. The beds are very comfortable.
The food is excellent. There is a lot of choice at hte buffet, from European cuisine to Egyptian cuisine. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the main restaurant, where you can choose to sit inside or outside (with a beautiful view over the Red Sea)

Every staffmember is very helpful. Normally I hate checking in at hotels, because it takes a while before you sorted out all the paperwork. At Coraya you are in your room within no time! I just love that!

It is a very joyfull hotel. The swimming pools are nice, snorkeling in the bay is awesome. You just do not get bored around this hotel. I enjoyed the "blankets on the beach" evenings, with a great singer!

I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugenieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Coraya Beach. Thanks to all the staff for being there for our every need. The animation staff ,Jamaica,kiko,shaddy and Helen for there hard work,and making us laugh so much. Also thanks to Amanda for joining in with all our practical jokes.
Can't wait for a return visit to marsa alam, does not look possible due to Thomson's stopping flying from Manchester next year. C'mon thomson what about your travellers from north of Watford ,we do exist!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Palace Port Ghalib
The Palace Port Ghalib
#4 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#16 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
28.0 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#6 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Property: Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Address: Marsa Alam Road | Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Qusseir, Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing