We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING: don not recommend. My wors holidays ever. Resort for Italians only!”
Review of Elphistone Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elphistone Resort
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Reviewed 4 August 2013

WARNING:
I recommend not to select Elphistone! We spent there 2 weeks in July 2013 and:
NEGATIVEs:
- this is the hotel for italians only. Others, non-italians are strongly discriminated!
- Music, animations and all events in Italian only
- All animators are from Italy and they do not want to speak any other languages (elglish, german etc..)
They behave like monkeys. For example when walked into the restaurant they friendly greeted italians but from non italians

they used turn back showing ignorace. I dont think that they are so uneducated that they could not understand simple

english.
- Non-italian children are discriminated, they may not enter play groud facilities and may play separate from italians
- Football field, volleyball field-occupied by italians only led by one animator
- loud discos till late night usually till 01:00-02:00) close to hotel buildigs and many guests who did not take part in

their parties could not sleep and the hotel management did not do anything due to complaints just promised only
- air conditioning very loud so in the night you have to wake up to switch it off (no remote for AC provided at all). At

least in building B (loud and no remote) and F (quiet, no remote)
- Mostly italian food only and I hope that in the meat there were not horses served
- Extremelly dirty beach. In most of the days there was so little water due to permanent low tides that we had to walk

approx 500-800m deep in the sea to swim a bit. many stinking algaes which made the water close to hotel-disgusting. Coral

reef is not accessible from their side. If you want to see it you can go to the neighbour hotel and they offer a jetty

wfrom which you can do some snorkling (paid 5eur/person a day)
- they have canoes but for italians only as well
- in the hotel there are a few shops but do not buy anything there! They will show you references written in you own

language (in our case german and my girlfriend's - polish) because as we went to shops at the airport-everything was on

average 50% cheaper (papyruses, clothes, fake watches and other souvenirs)!
- There is a jetty on the beach but under construction for 10 years and it is no possible to use it at all

PRSITIVEs:
- room service very good
- mostly food very good with big selection but all meals described in italian only
- swimming pools with sweet water
- bars next to pools
- very frinedly egiptian people (kitchen, room service, bar etc)
- weather :)
- Fortunatelly no bunga-bunga parties;)

Strongly do not recommend this Elphistone! That was our the most sad holiday:(
We did not know that italians are so unfiendly.

Anyway this is the subject of the case which is being prepaed for the court. This can not be like that!
Our tour operator was Itaka from poland and the hotel was operated by VERA Club from Italy.
So when you hear VERA -select something else unless you are IT.
Hope to let you know more soon.

Room Tip: Not in building B (very loud air conditioning, no remote control-wae up frequently in the night to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThomasBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Elphistone Resort was our fourth hotel we've visited in Egypt and the first one in Marsa Alam (previous three times we visited Sharm el Sheikh). Comparing all hotels previously visited we can easily rate it as a very good hotel, of course regarding Egyptian standards that are rather different then European.
The strongest side of this hotel was food. Elphistone is visited mainly by Italian tourist, so the food is focused on Italian style like pastas, pizza, etc. (they have an Italian Chef in a restaurant). Of course there are also dishes typical for Egypt and local sea food. Through the day you can eat many sorts of snacks and drinks prepared for you at the poll bar. Generally, as for the food mostly served in all Egyptian hotels, food served in Elphistone was a level higher then others (those we visited).
Hotel is located directly by the beach and has it own hotel private sandy beach with palm umbrellas and sun chairs. There is another beach option, because hotel has other beach located few kilometres from the hotel. That one also has umbrellas and sun chairs, but also you can find there a jetty, from which you can access the neighbouring reef.
Hotel rooms are standard for Egypt, rather large, nicely decorated with personal air-conditioning and balcony. Everything was very clean.
If you are a sport fan you can find many attractions there. Animation crew is very good and the hotel infrastructure provides: grass football field, beach volley, cross bow shooting range, etc. There are also two swimming pools, but only one of them had heated water.
We spent there one very relaxing and quiet week. If you are looking a place to relax and chill out, you can easily choose this hotel. However you should notice, that Marsa Alam is a very windy place (it definitely confirmed during our stay). Other thing is, that outside the hotel all you can find is a sand and dust... no civilisation. So walking trips outside the hotel are rather risky.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paradigm_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had to spent a week there because one of my relatives got a seasonal job there so I visited out of curiosity. I am not into all inclusive cheap resorts in general, leave aside when they are close to a pointless sea (no direct access to deep sea) and in a sloppy-looking place. Food is a nightmare - bad prepared, poorly presented, no taste. I, just like many others guests, felt stomach sick despite not having touched vegetables and tap water (not even to brush my teeth). The resorts offers all sorts of annoying entertainments - the staff are individually nice and fun guys, working hard to please all customers but the outcome of their little shows and games is poor, offensive (e.g. frequent homophobic/racist jokes) and very cheap. Still, the average customers appear to appreciate it and I guess the staff just do what their typical customers like - which is sad and scary anyway. Rooms are decent though not exactly clean and most of them are located far from the dining room, beach and swimming pools. Local staff are always checking you out weirdly (particularly if you are a woman) and they do not feel shame in complimenting you or knocking at your door with all sorts of excuses. In fairness, after having made it clear that I would have complained about it, nobody approched me again. Check in and check out were both painful - on check out, the guy tried to charge me twice for the room. Lukely, I had the receipt and the director helped me out in clarifying things. Veratuor assistants, Ilaria and Elena, were the two only professional staff - helpful, kind, flexible and easy-going. The beauty centre is really nice. Excursions offered by the resort are good - I went to Luxor and even though is really demanding in one day, it is worth. Do not buy souvenirs, at the hotel or outside - not worth and the negotiation pantomime is just annoying after a while, Outside the resort there's nothing: NOTHING. Beautiful beaches can be reached in some 5 minutes through a free shuttle service provided by the resort, which is good. For the rest, real nothing. I would recommend to go elsewhere in Egypt. If you have to go to Marsa Alam, this very resort is not the way to go!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you go to Marsa Alam I would very highly suggest you stay at the El Phistone resort. It is located due west of El Phistone island (fantastic for scuba) and south of Abu Dabab and Marsa Mubarak bays -- both excellent places to scuba, swim, and snorkel. All rooms in the El PHistone are large with balconies and ocean/beach/pool views. All of the amenities are present but the best 2 things are the food and the service. The service from the highest to the lowest levels are very helpful, kind and multi lingual. The food is served buffet style but the chiefs make a wide, exotic, and very tasty array of food. I haven't enjoyed buffet food this much in years. The El Phistone is owned and operated by an Italian company -- and the service, quality, amenities, and food strongly reflect this.

Room Tip: This hotel has 'quiet' room areas so, if you want to party, ask for one near the action. IF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

i have been to the resort a couple of times and every time the quality of food and service amazes me. What's amazing there is that i felt that i was every staff member's priority and the friendly environment made me feel just like back home. Me and my family needed a getaway and that was the perfect destination with its beautiful scenery and clean rooms. The staff were very friendly and polite, the food was very delicious and the waiters were very keen to serve different varieties of food. I advice anyone who wants to have a peaceful vacation, to experience Marsa Alam Elphistone Resort, you will never regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This hotel is practically like my second home! I always go their and I for sure recommend this considering the great hospitality, cleanliness, food, entertainment, breath taking view from the room.Even the staff were all polite and friendly as well as professional, could not have asked for better, beautiful surroundings and great choice of food/bars

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It was really nice vacation, so nice hotel and excellent services, the room, food, coffee, night club, sea and the services , every thing was really nice and so lovely ppl, also its near from the air port , the hotel was calm , i recommend all my friends to have a vacation there and i'll visit it again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kareem O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
5.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
40.2 mi away
Resta Club Marina View Port Ghalib
12.2 mi away
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
#32 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach
CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach
#40 of 68 in Marsa Alam
345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#10 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,306 reviews
47.5 mi away
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam
#39 of 68 in Marsa Alam
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphistone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphistone Resort

Address: | 25 Km north of Marsa Alam City, Marsa Alam 99999, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#25 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: £27 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elphistone Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has WIFI internet all a round for Extra Charge.The hotel has Taxi against Charge, Four Swimming Pools , one of them Relax,Spa center with Gym Free and Massage,Jacuzzi, Sauna,Steam and Hammam for Extra Charge also Billiard Table against Charge in addition to Facilities Such as Football Play ground, Tennis Court,Beach Volley,Tennis Table are Free of Charge. The Hotel got a discotheque and 2 Restaurant,one of them called Sea Gull for Fish Market only at Dinner,we have 2 International teams,also am theater for the evening shows. As well as Fully equipped diving center with qualified instructors. Courses (PADI-ISDA), Diving and Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elphistone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphistone Hotel Marsa Alam
Elphistone Resort Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing