We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to veg out for a week”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great place to veg out for a week”
Reviewed 1 April 2011

it was our first time on a package so we were not sure what to expect. Thompsons flew us out on an older plane and the leg room was ok - the new plane on the way back though we were packed in like cattle. Not comfortable at all! The hotels locatation is good, great for snorkelling off the jetty though the Sol y Mar is right next door to the lamaya so same distance from there too really. The coraya is a 5 minute walk but you can go in from the beach there. It is VERY windy at the moment so snorkelling and diving is best first thing (pre 9am). Coraya divers are very well organised and not to expensive ( located between lamaya and sol y mar) The house reef is Ok - nothing spectacula though and not many people had seen turtles or dolphins or sharks in the last few weeks,though there are lots of spotted rays and lion fish. Adu dabab not so great at moment either as a huge storm in the mountains washed a lot of rain into the bay and the sea grass is silted up with bad vis. Water is around 21 degres so a little cold but ok with a 5/6mm and hood
Lamaya - the hotel is spotless, the gardens beautifully maintained and there are tons of staff around as it is really quiet at the moment. About 50/50 Germans/Brits. Plenty of places to lie aroud the pool. Only one pool is heated - the others are freezing! But really there are so few people we had it to ourselves many times. The rooms are great - we had a familty room with day beds for snoozing after lunch. So far so good. The staff are lovely and friendly but the only thing letting the hotel down for me was the food. One big resteraunt serving 3 buffet meals per day, a pool bar with snacks and a beach cafe with ok pizza. It was great when they had Egyptian food nights (twice in a week) but no seafood (wierd being next to the sea) apart from not very nice fish (always the same) in the buffet. We did have a fish themed evening with trevally and barraccuda but only once and it was a shame they didnt have this option on a few nights instead of tons of it on one evening. The salads were a bit German orientated (usually had meat added to them!) but all in all not terrible just ok apart from the egyptian food which was amazing. I had to ask for hummus though and flatbead - strange in Egypt. The drinks are free flow on all inclusive the wine is drinkable after the first few sips! Beer is gassy but ok and the spiris are fine in the fruity cocktails - just go easy on them if you dont want an upset tummy! This is a great place if all you want is some sun and relaxation. Not so good if you want to go out and about. There really is nothing around and the town is 2 hours away and not worth the bother. The 3 hotels in this bay are an oasis in a sand moonscape. Make sure you bring your essentials with you as there are very few shops and an expensive pharmacy. The diving with Coraya is priced in Euros - 25E per dive plus extras such as guide/boat/bus/reef tax. The diving through Thompson is really expensive with another company. The thompson inflight food is poor - we took sandwiches on way out and made a picnic from the hotel lunch on the way back. Much better! Would I go package again? Probably not as you get better value DIY but I thought this was value for money and great not to think about paying for any extras. Top all inc choice! Go!

Room Tip: sea view rooms this time of year would be windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    645
    158
    43
    25
See reviews for
888
1,064
78
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Went for a winter break in the sun and this hotel was perfect. Not relly like a holiday to Egypt (major expedition if you want to see the archaeology or ordinary life) but good (remote) location to relax, read and look at reef fish. These are spectacular, and the reef comes right up to the beach (which makes it difficult to protect)
Staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Room was clean and comfortable. Food and drink on AI were better than we expected in a package hotel. Only one tummy upset, resolved by a quick trip to on-site pharmacy. Altogether surprisingly good value trip. Would definitely go again although suspect it would be a bit crowded with pressure on pool and beach facilities at peak holiday times (beach is shared with several other hotels).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Loved this hotel, staff and location.
So clean and tidy, staff couldn't do enough and didn't expect tips. The place is always getting cleaned and gardened, beach area is the same well looked after and clean.
We did change room as did many that arrived on our flight as there was a small in the room, but after a trip to reception we were upgraded to sea view rooms, no trouble at all.
The place is very quiet at the moment as there are no Russians, so maybe if we went back we would see it differently as we didn't have to queue for drinks, food, sun beds were in abundance.
Would recommend anytime, if you are expecting shopping and nightlife don't go, this is a undeveloped and remote area, if you want peace and quiet, relaxation you'll be pleased.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Lovely hotel, good food, excellent location for jetty for snorkelling & dive centre. Pleasant jogging/walking path round bay.
Very quiet at the moment, go while there are no Russians.
Couldn't fault the hotel or its staff in any way.
Very short transfer from airport but no aircraft noise.
Very long day trip to Luxor, very tiring but worth it. Fascinating, relatively quiet at the moment & safe.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The Lamaya is a gorgeous hotel with wonderful staff who cant do enough to make your holiday enjoyable and relaxing. The restaurant serves a great choice of food, all of it piping hot. I regularly noticed the chefs checking the temperature of the food with electronic thermometers. The pools are spotless with plenty of fresh towels available all day. Swimming off the little jetty is a must, the coral and fish are beautiful so dont forget your snorkel and mask!
Another plus about Marsa is the 5 minute transfer from the small, modern airport which even has a Costa coffee.
I loved this hotel and will return at some point soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We travelled with Thomson from Manchester on Feb 17 - the planes must be the oldest in the Tui Group. Leg rooms was so tight and found it very difficult to move - I'm only 5ft! Thomson neeed to sort out their planes.

Apart from the plane journey, everything else was superb. From landing at Marsa Alam to arriving at our hotel was 55 mins, best transfer ever. The reps were there to meet us and I must congratulate how efficient they were.

On arrival at the hotel our bags were taken to our rooms very quickly and went for dinner. The food was excellent - cannot complain about anything. Plenty of meats, veg, pasta etc.

The weather was excellent - it did get a little windy which was a cold wind, but with highs of 85 it didn't matter. The hottest parts of the seemed to be around 10-10.30. By 3pm it seemed a lot cooler. A jacket a must for night time, it did get chilly.

Waiters were very good and were always cleaning your table as soon as you took your last bit of food of your plate.

There were only English people in the hotel - approx 94 of us in a huge hotel. This was beacause of the trouble in Cairo, you didn't even know anything was happening aprt from seeing it on the news.

Overall an excellent winter holiday and we would certainly return.

Thomson need to sort out their planes - we have travelled to Egypt with Thomsons 4 times now and the planes always let the holiday down. We would pick a different tour operator but Thomsons always gove the best service.

Debbie - Bolton

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Amazing hotel the only bad thing was that we only stayed for 2 weeks! the staff were top quality always there for you and always smiling. The animation team were extremely friendly and the pool staff were very helpful.
The food there was delicious (especially the breakfast!) and the waiters could not do any more for you. Comfy rooms, relaxing pools, lovely cocktails, luxurios beach, outstanding coral reef can you think of any more! they do trips to Luxor every sunday and believe me its worth every penny. They also do trips to a place called abu dubab were you can see loads of turtles (its amazing!). And lots of other trips to. So the people who rate it 1,2 or 3 star are just rich snobs who want everything to be pitch perfect so don't take any notice of them and just book this spectacular resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noahtoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#5 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing