We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel on the red sea”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

well run hotel, very helpful & friendly staff. One of the best check in procedures everything made so simple & quick. Food good always found something to eat, beach bar good & excellent service even on the beach drinks & fruit brought to the loungers. Rooms clean & spacious, lovely towel art every night. The bar staff are always friendly & help you make the most of your all inclusive!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Welcomed warmly at reception. Efficiency with the bell boys taking your suitcases to your room which was extremely spacious and kept to a very high standard of cleaning. Food in the buffet resturant was also of a high standard and caters for all diets. The pool area cleaned regularly throughout the day and the pool water tested daily. The landscaped gardens beautiful with an abundance of flowers and birdlife. The staff from cleaners to 'top men' are always willing and available to help. We have been twice to this hotel and will be returning again in September with a couple of friends. We both thank all the staff at the hotel for their kindness and in particular their friendliness.

Room Tip: Ground floors really safe and spacious, especially for older or disabled folk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Me and my wife has arrived to Lamaya in March and planned to stay here for 7 days. We were really amazed what we have found there! Beautiful sea and corall reef filled with totally magical fish and other creatures made us feel like in heaven. Great pool in front of the hotel, numerous activities and animations, perfect bars & restaurants where everyone could find something for oneself provided us with great satisfaction and pleasure. Cold drinks, great sun and lovely organized trip where we could see real egiptian nomadic life, speed little bit on quads - all this makes that LAMAYA is a great place to rest and forget about everyday life. If you want to spend time actively it is perfect if you want just to lay down by the pool it is also great! You have to come and see!

Room Tip: Take a room with a beach view so you could see setting sun from the balcony! 1240 or 1239 are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Once again my husband and I plus our friends have had a yet another lovely holiday at Lamaya. The staff are wonderful, so friendly (always remember us and we are now greeted with big hugs and kisses), they are so polite and always ready to help. We have always found the hotel to be clean and the food very good, even on a theme night when maybe for me the food is a little too spicy I have always found something acceptable to eat for dinner. The pool areas, gardens and public areas are all kept spotless, and the pubic toilets cleaned about every half hour. The bay and house reef are very carefully preserved therefore making the snorkling and diving superb. Our only complaint is to the Company (Iberotel/Jaz) it really is time that the diningroom and bedrooms had a makeover - they are now looking very tired and old fashioned. However you can be sure that we will be going back to Lamaya which is now just like our second home.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and bay have the setting sun - lovely to sit on the balcony with a G &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have been here for the week (to short) and enjoy it very much.
service, food, rooms and very nice garden, overall it is definitly a big 10.
We recommend this hotel for shure.
We had lots of fun with the staff, learn a lot of words.
The poolbar wow, amazing area and if you want to enjoy beach, it is 5m away. nice:-))

Shukran lamaya.

sabbah sabbah ya ami elhag (hope i wrote it right)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Never been to this resort before and were in for a nice surprise. We arrived at the airport and the passport control was very quick and the transfer was only ten minutes. The fishes and the corals is awsome. The staff remember you and give you all the help you can get.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Having been to Lamaya three times now it never fails to impress.

The staff remember you from the first visit and make you feel like you have never been away.

The beach may not be to everyone's taste as it is more grit than sand but the reef and the fish there are the most impressive i have seen.

The staff cannot do enough to help you and always have a smile and a laugh. The staff working on the Pool Bar - Mohamed, Nasser and Mohmued are fantastic. They love to joke with the guests and will do anything they can to make your holiday special. I cannot praise them enough!

The staff at the beach bar are friendly, helpful and also enjoy a joke with the guests although i suspect that the British are the only ones who they can have fun with. I would give special mention to Hussain. He is a lovely man and will do anything possible to male you smile.

During my second stay at Lamaya i did have a small accident which required a Manager's attention. Sayed was quick to help and made sure that i was attended to properly and i had everything i needed.

The housekeeping team were brilliant and i never failed to smile at whatever obscure item was made with my towels. I must say that the Elephant and the baby were the best by far.

The only down side to the hotel is the food in an evening. Depending on what you are expecting you may need to prepare to be a little hungry when you leave the restaurant each night. There is plenty of choice however i fund that the food on offer did not always go together.

I suspect that many people believe that these guys are only friendly etc with the guests because they are paid to do so, however i truly believe that they enjoy their work and the fun that they can have laughing and joking with the guests.

I will be returning to Lamaya this summer and expect that very little, if anything, will have changed. I have never visited a resort quite like this and i doubt i will ever again.

Please DO NOT listen to the bad reviews, give Lamaya a try - you wont regret it ;)

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter than expected and easier to access after a few too many beers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claireby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
533 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: £83 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing