We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel - Excellent Service, Coral Reef, Clean...”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed two weeks at this hotel and can honestly say it is one of the best we have ever stayed at, if not the best!

Hotel:

Very clean and well presented throughout. Reception staff always did their best to help with any questions. Large area behind reception with chairs and tables, good area for evenings and the escape the heat!

Rooms:

Very large for an all inclusive hotel. Once again kept very clean. Large bathroom fitted to a very high standard. Good air conditioning system. Large balconys.

Food:

Good selection, ignore what anyone says about cold food etc. Everything we had was delicious and could try different things every night. The themed nights were also good.

Beach Bar:

Served a good range of burgers and pizza based snacks. Always served quickly and was nice to do this rather than going to the buffet restaurant every day.

Pools:

Good to have two pools at the hotel. Top pool was normally where all the activities happended, and the smaller one was mainly used by adults.

Reef:

Excellent reef to see fish from, which can either be accessed from the beach or the Jetty. Great thing to do, which we did every day. Bring your own snorkling equipment, or if not be prepared to haggle to get a good price!

Sun Screen:

This is not the hotels fault, but opposite to the hotel there are some stores selling sun screen - ensure you do not buy from them. The one we g'ot was full of another oily liquid - once we went back and challenged the guy on it he was very quick to give a refund. Instead pay a bit more and go to the pharmacy.

Thomson Rep:

Hanny was excellent throughout, saying Hi every day and making sure we were happy with the hotel.

Safety:

At no time did the hotel feel unsafe, even outside the hotel was fine to walk around.

Management:

Excellent Management of the hotel, always visible and asking if everything was OK. They really do seem to care about what you think and try to do everything possible to improve your stay.

Overall:

We would strongly recommend this hotel, for the cost it is even better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Norfolk-CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 2,801 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

Me and my son of 4 years stayed for one week in feb 2012 and we had a good time. Much funny thing to do during the days, the heated pool was great and minidisco in the evenings. The food was excellent and the room was nice. The hotelgrounds were very beautiful and well kept and the hotel lobby had great architecture. Really can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madelenefromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We spent 7 wonderful nights at the Lamaya from Jan 1st to 8th. We are a family of 4, 2 kids (12 & 3)

We were greeted with a very slick check in procedure. You basically held your wrist out, 1 person put the all inclusive band on, someone else cut it to size and another was there to hand you a drink and cool towel. You then made your way over to a table where your room key and welcome pack were waiting, it look less than 2 minutes from getting off the coach. You luggage is taken to your room (we were advised to tip about 50p a bag - the bell boys do except English but you may be politely asked later to change a larger denomination of gb pounds back into Egyptian pounds. £10uk = £100 Egyptian while we were there)

Room: we had a superior family room which consisted of a large bathroom, 2 x single beds for our children partitioned off from the main bedroom which consisted of a queen size bed. We also had a balcony area. The room was great, air conditioned and well maintained, it was cleaned daily with different towel creations and various gifts and information left for us and the children, these included Egyption tea, chocolate Santa, toy hats and a poster my son has brought home to show his friends.

Pool: 3 pools were heated and comfortable to swim in, 1 wasn't and was very cold, only the brave swam in that one and not for very long! One of the heated pools is a small children's pool that is covered to protect from the sun, we thought this was a nice touch. No problem getting sun beds, the pool bar serves hot, cold and alcoholic beverages while the animation team encourage people to take part in water aerobics, water polo, volleyball, bowls etc in and around the hotel. You do get asked infrequently if you want a massage or diving trips, say no, they go away. At no time did we feel iit was excessive or made to feel uncomfortable.

Beach: This is man made and not great for sandcastles but there are area further around the cove that would be ok, again we had no trouble in getting beds, wicker wind breakers were put up to protect you from the breeze and you didn't notice the breeze when on the beds. As people mentioned, the jetty takes you over the coral and you can snorkel or dive from here. This was fantastic and I would recommend everyone takes a snorkel and mask and tries it once. Not only is the coral something to behold in itself but the marine life you see is out of this world, while we were there people saw turtles, stingrays and octopus just in and around the jetty, some without actually getting in! A free highlight worth the money of the stay alone. There is a beachside restaurant that server burgers, pizza, salads and drinks if you don't want to get back to the main restaurant for lunch.

Activities: the animation team try and keep you busy as above, but you can visit the waterpark (2 minute walk from hotel reception - free entry with water and popcorn free, other soft drinks chargeable) this had 8 larger slids and a smaller pool with about 7 small slides for pre-school children. The pools were heated and staff very helpful when one of our children grazed his back after falling over. You probably won't spend the whole day at the water park but it is a good way to kill a morning or afternoon, it does close over lunch. We had a massage at the hotel, this was done in the beachside hut and was very nice. I fell great afterwards and the prices are very reasonable compared with uk (£30 for 1 hour). Our tour operator offered a wider range of excursions, we did the one with Ocean for the boat trip. Great day out, fantastic diving and snorkelling, swam with turtles and a sea cow plus many other fish. Lunch was included on the boat and it was a great day all round with knowledgeable and helpful staff - highly recommended. There are 2 pool tables near reception, these have to be pre-booked at reception and did get quite full at times. There is a ping pong table and a dated darts and table football poolside.

Food and drink: I have already mentioned the beachside restaurant, nothing special but fills a need, staff were great and had no problems eating there. The main restaurant is much larger and caters for all main meal. There is a wide selection of choice, salads, fish,meet, veg, pasta station, grill area and a massive area for sweets. The food on the whole was very good, there were times where you could think it was repetitive but the choice meant that you could try a bit of everything or have a nice fish meal, of a nice meet meal, with different soups and salads each day. The quality was very good, staff and chefs were friendly and bent over backwards to make sure you were well looked after. Those people complaining about the lack of chips possibly didn't look hard enough, we had chips provided 2 nights and different kinds of potato wedges on others in keeping with the theme of the meals (Mexican night, fish night, etc) Chips are provided at the beachside restaurant too, if that is your thing. My sons enjoyed the pasta station, grill area that nada differently meats of fish cooked I front of you and sweet selection. Fresh waffles and pancakes were a nice treat for breakfast. Nonone suffered from any issues with food or drink and as I said before the staff and management were great and attentive.

We were very nervous about our first time in Egypt and th weather in Jan. Overall the weather was great, between 23-26 degrees most days, the breeze did make it feel cooler when getting out of the pools but once dry it was nice. It was cooler at night but were sill fell comfortable in long shorts and short sleeve tops, although a cardigan may be needed if eating outside. The hotel staff and management do everything that can to make a sure you enjoy your holiday, they meet you at the welcome meeting, you can approach then as you see them around, the grounds are well kept and it is obvious they takes great care of the hotel. We are already looking to book again at this hotel and I hope you feel my enthusiasm for the hotel and holiday comes through on this review.

Big shout out to Alan from Tompson who was excellent. His knowledge of the resort with a friendly and helpful approach made us feel very comfortable from day 1!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
10  Thank Bibblemywibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Escaped to Egypt for Xmas and stayed at the Lamaya for 1 week with my wife & 14 year old son. The hotel was great!! The rooms are clean and all come with a balcony. The snorkelling from the main jetty was fantastic and only a stroll from the hotel. There was plenty to keep us entertained during the day and you could take or leave it. The Buffett offered a wide selection of quality food and we had no rumbling tummies during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Hozmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed over New Year period (family of thee, son age 12). We wanted a winter break to enjoy some sun and the weather was great although very chilly in the evenings.

Hotel spotlessly clean everywhere be it rooms, grounds, beach etc.

Food - slightly worried after some previous reviews but unfounded the food excellent, good choice, well cooked, no problems at all so cannot understand comments about living on stale bread for a week.

All inclusive, not really our preferred type of holiday as if can feel a little 'factory' based at time and agree with previous comments over the dining hall, however this is very much a personal thing and if you are happy with this concept fine.

The beach / reef - without doubt the best asset of the hotel, saw amazing variety of fish in a safe beautiful environment. Topped of with the last snorkel dive of the holiday swimming with a turtle that had come to visit, truly amazing and natural.

New Year Eve Gala - food again fantastic but evening entertainment somewhat disappointing in the run in to midnight with people 'hanging' around until 12, again too cold to really enjoy being outside sipping cocktails - suggest a band to keep the atmosphere going would be better.

However despite no issues felt something missing, it was all 'too perfect if that makes sense almost 'no heart' to the place. Possibly because you do not get to feel the real Egypt and in fact could be in any similar hotel anywhere in the world?

Couple of minor points for Tui / hotel to maybe look at.

Wifi - why in this day and age should you have to pay for usage at the very least make the first say 30mins free, time enough to check email etc.

Fridge - what is the point of a 'chargeable' mini bar at an all inclusive resort, we just emptied it out and filled with water.

Pound coins for £5 notes, the staff want to change £1 coins for notes, this started to get annoying after a while, particularly as in some parts of the world this is a scam involving 'fake' coins (not that I’m suggesting this is the case here), can this not be sorted 'in house' without the need to trouble guests ?

Finally Tui rep Alan - super guy, very helpful and one of the best reps we've seen at a resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T&NBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

we have just come back from this holiday we went for christmas and new year we had a great time the weather was very good it was sunny every day the sun went down about 3.30 every day then it got a bit windy. The food and drink was geat so much to choose from. The only complaint here here weas sometimes some was a bit cold. In particular i had fish and the cover was not on and 2 burners underneath were not on and the chef was stood over it. I did complain and after that the chef i complained to was there waiting for me every night and served me my own fish dish every night how great was that never had that before anywhere cant remember his name but he had a gap in his teeth. All the staff were great smiling all the time they couldnt do enough for you only comment here is a lot of the senior managers walk around but they look so serious all the time they need to take a leaf out of the staffs book and smile particularly the restaurant managers. The staff in the lobby bar also need to smile at you more They have cleaners all day cleaning tables and floors who do a great job remember to tip them like everyone else
The bedrooms were big lots of room and the bed and pillows the best. Had a big shower area would have liked a bath.We did ask for no stairs and near to reception this we got except would have liked it little neare we were next to the clinic. The rooms were cleaned at different times of the day sometimes they were not cleaned until 4.00 you could i believe ask for the room to be cleaned at a time to suit yourself so its not a critiscm. The cleaner left you a flower on your bed and made my towel into a heart and put flower petels on it was such a nice touch. We had to ask for a new light bulb in one of the lamps they came within 10 minutes the next day someone came to see it had been done and then it was followed up by a memo amazing service. There was lots of sun beds and space which was great, didnt notice towels being reserved on beds which was good. The pool entertainment and night entertainment let the hotel down it was poor and very amatuer. I gave up going to see shows at night as i only managed to listen to it for longer than 10 minutes. I paid for spa trreatments this was very disappointing i had a boby massage good but when i went to go for the other 4 i had booked they seemed to be all the same i felt i hd been cheated by the people going around the pool. they also couldnt get me in to times to suit me who wants a treatment at 7.00 pm not me the staff were not friendly and kept talking over me saying look at me how rude so i went to get the senior manager over the pool and leisure and he was very helpful and got me my money back watch these jokers they take your money but cant book you in to suit yourself. Aparently just outside the hotel entrance there is a shop who does the same and a lot cheaper check him out. I wouldnt go there again.
The gala dinner on new years eve was amazing from the cocktails which were amazing the decor and party poppers were excellent. The food was amazing so much choice the fish was excellent lobster, salmon, prawns i was in heaven. the sweets were unbelievable the work that went into the chocolate and confectionary displays was out of this world. Only critism here was everyone got up atr the same time to eat so it was a lot of queing and your food got cold think this needs to be relooked at either do it in sections or in sittings or serve you at the table. The entertainment was not so good in the theatre we were just listening to music for part of the time and the acts were repitious we moved to the lobby bar and that was good lots of atmosphere and someone playing music.
One downside my husband got an infection in his foot and couldnt walk it all swelled up the hotel kindly loaned him a crutch and we went to the doctor he has very good gave him tablets, cream and injection of antibiotics the next morning it had gone down a lot and he could walk the doctor saw him 4 times which was great, the doctor and nurse deserve a big thank you we were a bit worried about how much this cost but it was only 213 euros which was very fair and we will get it back on insurance. And finally we wernt aware the country took euros, stirling and eqyption pounds and dollers. Also we had to pay £13.00 each for a visa on the coach. Its worth looking at getting this st home it might be cheaper of free. I would recommend this hotel its one of the best i have stayed at the service and staff are exceptional. Egypt is high on my list to return and this hotel a big well done to alan the thomson rep he was excellent a real assett to th company

Annmarie |Mannion and Alan Seal

Room Tip: ground floor rooms were nice and quiet didnt hear a think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanjamesseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Very nice hotel. Nice pool areas and beach. Wonderful reef just outside the hotel, very easy to access from the hotel jetty.

The very best with the stay was the wonderful staff. They were so very helpful in every way. They were so happy and had always a joke of some kind for our daughter, which she loved.

On the downside, the hotel is slightly worn. Not that is bothered us though.

The spa is good, however, I had to share a room with another woman (I had never met her before). This I found quite strange.

Very good resort for children.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2105, on the ground floor. A very good room if you want to leave your child sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
550 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#11 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: £80 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing