We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back last night........awesome, defo booking again!”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back last night........awesome, defo booking again!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We arrived back last night and feel that I should review what is one of the best beach hotels i've stayed in. Accomodation very good, food, good, Bars, beach, Staff, setting......amazing! We will definitely return (hopefully this year). In particular, a lad called Waleed behind the bar makes the best cappucino outside Italy!!
The bay setting with the snorkelling Jetty made for an extra special time and amazing sea life is seen in the shallows, be sure to do the trip to sea the sea-cow (Dugong) and turtles, brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonah140873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    683
    166
    47
    26
See reviews for
953
1,133
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent two weeks here with my wife and two daughters in Jan 2013. Could not be any happier about the atmosphere, food, service and cleanliness. The staff was really friendly and really made our holiday unforgettable. The kids had an amazing time too, where ever we went the staff took time to entertain them.

In addition to great personnel the Lamaya resort also offered a great place for snorkeling. There is a really nice reef in front of the hotel. Just dive to the ocean from the pier and you are in the middle of an underwater paradise.

The reef, several swimming pools and the aqua park made sure there were no dull moments for us or the kids. I wish we could have been there longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rednamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Such a fantastic resort, the whole staff were friendly and amazing. Beach was perfect, wish i could have stayed longer than a week. Cant wait to go back and see them all again. Rooms were amazing and beautiful. The resort itself was clean and kept very well. Had the most brilliant time and miss them all already. Recommend this resort to everyone :)

Room Tip: All were perfect, any room is great. Tip the people that sort your room out every day they totally d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed two weeks at this hotel and can honestly say it is one of the best we have ever stayed at, if not the best!

Hotel:

Very clean and well presented throughout. Reception staff always did their best to help with any questions. Large area behind reception with chairs and tables, good area for evenings and the escape the heat!

Rooms:

Very large for an all inclusive hotel. Once again kept very clean. Large bathroom fitted to a very high standard. Good air conditioning system. Large balconys.

Food:

Good selection, ignore what anyone says about cold food etc. Everything we had was delicious and could try different things every night. The themed nights were also good.

Beach Bar:

Served a good range of burgers and pizza based snacks. Always served quickly and was nice to do this rather than going to the buffet restaurant every day.

Pools:

Good to have two pools at the hotel. Top pool was normally where all the activities happended, and the smaller one was mainly used by adults.

Reef:

Excellent reef to see fish from, which can either be accessed from the beach or the Jetty. Great thing to do, which we did every day. Bring your own snorkling equipment, or if not be prepared to haggle to get a good price!

Sun Screen:

This is not the hotels fault, but opposite to the hotel there are some stores selling sun screen - ensure you do not buy from them. The one we g'ot was full of another oily liquid - once we went back and challenged the guy on it he was very quick to give a refund. Instead pay a bit more and go to the pharmacy.

Thomson Rep:

Hanny was excellent throughout, saying Hi every day and making sure we were happy with the hotel.

Safety:

At no time did the hotel feel unsafe, even outside the hotel was fine to walk around.

Management:

Excellent Management of the hotel, always visible and asking if everything was OK. They really do seem to care about what you think and try to do everything possible to improve your stay.

Overall:

We would strongly recommend this hotel, for the cost it is even better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Norfolk-CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The swedish west coast
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Me and my son of 4 years stayed for one week in feb 2012 and we had a good time. Much funny thing to do during the days, the heated pool was great and minidisco in the evenings. The food was excellent and the room was nice. The hotelgrounds were very beautiful and well kept and the hotel lobby had great architecture. Really can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madelenefromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 wonderful nights at the Lamaya from Jan 1st to 8th. We are a family of 4, 2 kids (12 & 3)

We were greeted with a very slick check in procedure. You basically held your wrist out, 1 person put the all inclusive band on, someone else cut it to size and another was there to hand you a drink and cool towel. You then made your way over to a table where your room key and welcome pack were waiting, it look less than 2 minutes from getting off the coach. You luggage is taken to your room (we were advised to tip about 50p a bag - the bell boys do except English but you may be politely asked later to change a larger denomination of gb pounds back into Egyptian pounds. £10uk = £100 Egyptian while we were there)

Room: we had a superior family room which consisted of a large bathroom, 2 x single beds for our children partitioned off from the main bedroom which consisted of a queen size bed. We also had a balcony area. The room was great, air conditioned and well maintained, it was cleaned daily with different towel creations and various gifts and information left for us and the children, these included Egyption tea, chocolate Santa, toy hats and a poster my son has brought home to show his friends.

Pool: 3 pools were heated and comfortable to swim in, 1 wasn't and was very cold, only the brave swam in that one and not for very long! One of the heated pools is a small children's pool that is covered to protect from the sun, we thought this was a nice touch. No problem getting sun beds, the pool bar serves hot, cold and alcoholic beverages while the animation team encourage people to take part in water aerobics, water polo, volleyball, bowls etc in and around the hotel. You do get asked infrequently if you want a massage or diving trips, say no, they go away. At no time did we feel iit was excessive or made to feel uncomfortable.

Beach: This is man made and not great for sandcastles but there are area further around the cove that would be ok, again we had no trouble in getting beds, wicker wind breakers were put up to protect you from the breeze and you didn't notice the breeze when on the beds. As people mentioned, the jetty takes you over the coral and you can snorkel or dive from here. This was fantastic and I would recommend everyone takes a snorkel and mask and tries it once. Not only is the coral something to behold in itself but the marine life you see is out of this world, while we were there people saw turtles, stingrays and octopus just in and around the jetty, some without actually getting in! A free highlight worth the money of the stay alone. There is a beachside restaurant that server burgers, pizza, salads and drinks if you don't want to get back to the main restaurant for lunch.

Activities: the animation team try and keep you busy as above, but you can visit the waterpark (2 minute walk from hotel reception - free entry with water and popcorn free, other soft drinks chargeable) this had 8 larger slids and a smaller pool with about 7 small slides for pre-school children. The pools were heated and staff very helpful when one of our children grazed his back after falling over. You probably won't spend the whole day at the water park but it is a good way to kill a morning or afternoon, it does close over lunch. We had a massage at the hotel, this was done in the beachside hut and was very nice. I fell great afterwards and the prices are very reasonable compared with uk (£30 for 1 hour). Our tour operator offered a wider range of excursions, we did the one with Ocean for the boat trip. Great day out, fantastic diving and snorkelling, swam with turtles and a sea cow plus many other fish. Lunch was included on the boat and it was a great day all round with knowledgeable and helpful staff - highly recommended. There are 2 pool tables near reception, these have to be pre-booked at reception and did get quite full at times. There is a ping pong table and a dated darts and table football poolside.

Food and drink: I have already mentioned the beachside restaurant, nothing special but fills a need, staff were great and had no problems eating there. The main restaurant is much larger and caters for all main meal. There is a wide selection of choice, salads, fish,meet, veg, pasta station, grill area and a massive area for sweets. The food on the whole was very good, there were times where you could think it was repetitive but the choice meant that you could try a bit of everything or have a nice fish meal, of a nice meet meal, with different soups and salads each day. The quality was very good, staff and chefs were friendly and bent over backwards to make sure you were well looked after. Those people complaining about the lack of chips possibly didn't look hard enough, we had chips provided 2 nights and different kinds of potato wedges on others in keeping with the theme of the meals (Mexican night, fish night, etc) Chips are provided at the beachside restaurant too, if that is your thing. My sons enjoyed the pasta station, grill area that nada differently meats of fish cooked I front of you and sweet selection. Fresh waffles and pancakes were a nice treat for breakfast. Nonone suffered from any issues with food or drink and as I said before the staff and management were great and attentive.

We were very nervous about our first time in Egypt and th weather in Jan. Overall the weather was great, between 23-26 degrees most days, the breeze did make it feel cooler when getting out of the pools but once dry it was nice. It was cooler at night but were sill fell comfortable in long shorts and short sleeve tops, although a cardigan may be needed if eating outside. The hotel staff and management do everything that can to make a sure you enjoy your holiday, they meet you at the welcome meeting, you can approach then as you see them around, the grounds are well kept and it is obvious they takes great care of the hotel. We are already looking to book again at this hotel and I hope you feel my enthusiasm for the hotel and holiday comes through on this review.

Big shout out to Alan from Tompson who was excellent. His knowledge of the resort with a friendly and helpful approach made us feel very comfortable from day 1!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Bibblemywibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Escaped to Egypt for Xmas and stayed at the Lamaya for 1 week with my wife & 14 year old son. The hotel was great!! The rooms are clean and all come with a balcony. The snorkelling from the main jetty was fantastic and only a stroll from the hotel. There was plenty to keep us entertained during the day and you could take or leave it. The Buffett offered a wide selection of quality food and we had no rumbling tummies during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hozmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#5 of 68 in Marsa Alam
463 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#9 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing