We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weeks break, but not the full 5* package”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I'm not a complainer, and this is how I found the hotel and all that goes with it. Travelled with Thomson who I use 90% of the time, no prob, only to be told on the last day by some one else that they charged us £13 per person for the Egyptian visa on the coach and if we had gone to the bank at the airport it would have been only £10 pp. Arrival at hotel was 10 mi s or so from airport, very swift check in, quick delivery of bags to room. Block 1, 1st floor, large family room , free safe, lovely bed, nice big pillows. Tv picture quality poor, just like to catch up on what's happening whilst getting ready for dinner!! With BBC world news, only English Channel . The shower power is quite weak, when o called about it, it got a bit stronger, but not a lot. Beach restaurant for lunch and buffet, but only the buffet for evening meal, 5* hotels usually have 3 or 4 al a carte restaurants, although you can pay extra to go to the Italian. The selection in the buffet was adequate but not vast, (the children's corner was very poor, glad we didn't have our 18 month granddaughter with us.) the evening entertainment was laughable, not sure if they were new and trying out their routines before the high season arrives. However, the staff were wonderful, so friendly, Karim and Mohammed in the bar, and the rest of them plus the restaurant staff.(Tayeb) Drink selection is not the best. ( I don't drink much) but no amaretto or champagne !! The snorkelling was amazing, the fish were fantastic . I would go back for a week off peak, for the sun, fish, and relaxation. Can be windy, beach shoes are a must . I have done 5* Caribbean , Mexico and Cuba . I would give this 3*+ in comparison.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went here with two friends for a week from 5 march and had a great holiday. The hotel is in a nice spot, rooms very roomy and even have tea and coffee in the room. There is a nice selection of food, with themed evenings in the restaurant. The wine is drinkable and the drink measures are very generous! Highlight of the hotel is the friendly staff, couldn't do enough for you.

The dive school is 2 minutes walk from the pool and beach and they were the most organised dive school we have ever known. The dive school staff were friendly and very knowledgeable and you can dive whenever you want, not tied to time slots. House reef was great.

Hotel was 10 minute transfer but you don't get any plane noise at all. There were mainly German and Swiss guests but please don't be put off by everything you hear in the press. It is totally safe to go to marsa alam. It's not a place to go if you want nightlife, the evening entertainment was poor, but they worked hard during the day. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a complete rest or who is an avid diver. Tip, take US dollars if you are a diver as you get a discount if you pay in cash.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank MaryDave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I'm just back from this resort and I really liked the overall experience in spite of having some comments but in general it's good.

Pros are : Clean rooms with nice views ( both sea and pool), Long beach with all aquatic activities, awesome diving and snorkeling places, nice activities for the kids, night entertainment is fun for both adults and kids, animation team is awesome.

Cons are : Terrible food at all levels as I was shocked to find this in a 5 star hotel, no variety for selecting restaurants inside the resort, limousine service is so pricy and there's no other option to go anywhere, room service are very lazy and it took them forever to bring me a baby cot for my child which was annoying anyway.

Room Tip: Maximum stay for not getting bored is 4 days. pool view rooms are near to pool bar so you can get d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PE_Sayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We returned two days ago from our second visit to the Lamaya Resort in Marsa Alam, our first was 6 years previously and at the time our first experience of All Inclusive. Based on our positive experience then, we had since visited the Jaz Mirabel Beach in Sharm and last year the Sofitel in Taba Heights - but made the decision to return to Lamaya for a second time. We found every aspect more than met our expectations and recollections - the staff could not do more to make you feel welcome and part of the Lamaya family but without overdoing it. The food was excellent and the location is perfect - none of the chaos of Sharm Airport as there is only one flight at a time and the transfer from the airport is only 10 minutes. For a winter sun break it is excellent value for money and a fabulous place to relax.

We travelled with Thomson and our only advice to other Thomson travellers is not to take notice of the air crew telling you to go to the Thomson desk for your visa - we discovered after the event that they apply a premium of almost 50% - we paid £13 each and if we had queued at the 'bank' desk at the arrivals would have only paid £9 each - that is totally unnecessary and just plain greedy - for the sake of speeding up the queues by about 15 minutes!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SqueekMorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Came here for a week in February with two teenage daughters. We all loved it. All the management and staff were unfailingly charming, friendly, helpful, welcoming and positive. The food was excellent and varied, the rooms and all public areas spotlessly clean, the garden areas beautifully manicured, beach and pools gorgeous.

Room Tip: Our room 2231 was a family room for 4 and overlooked the pool area of the next door (quieter) hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djm143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from our fifth visit to this hotel and once again we were looked after superbly. The staff were as always brilliant, special thanks to the front of desk staff and Karim and Ahmed in the bar who made our stay so enjoyable. Have already booked to go again next year.

Room Tip: We had rooms 2229 and 2230 which were due to be undated but all the rooms in the left hand block as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nags2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

a top hotel
really nice food
the dive club was great
the animation team was amazing
everything was well maintained
staff was very helpful
the pool was heated and it was very kleen
the dives we made were amazing

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mefatot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
521 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: £75 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing