We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel in any way. Excellent service, accomodation, food, facilities etc etc. Second visit here for us and we will return. Perfect spring break and unbelievable value for money. Staff are brilliant and lots of lovely personal attention which makes it somewhere very special to spend a holiday. .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,559
    658
    161
    45
    25
See reviews for
909
1,100
85
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was there from 05-12.2014r. In my opinion it is the best hotel in Egypt. This is my 4th trip, second to Marsa Alam and I would come back to this hotel next year. The hotel is located between the Hotel Coraya and Samya. The hotel is located in a beautiful bay with a beautiful coral reef. The beach is clean and sandy. There are two descent to the sea one of the bridge, the other mild. The rooms are clean, beautifully decorated. Food variety, tasty, thematic cuisine. The staff is professional, courteous, helpful and multilingual (they speak English, German, French and Polish). Guests are mainly Germany, is also a little Frenchmen, Swedes, Swiss, and Poles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorota L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Lamaya, having visited in February 2010. The hotel recognises returning guests and gave us a complimentary late checkout, a nice touch.

The hotel hasn't changed much except with the exception that there are now complimentary beach refreshment, pizza, popcorn, drinks and other snacks.

Overall the hotel is a great experience. As we wrote previously it is a very short transfer from the airport, approximately ten minutes. There are three adult pools, two of which are heated. The food is very good and tasty when you consider the number of people they are catering for. There are three a la carte restaurants, but we did not feel the need to try them out, perhaps if we had been for two weeks we would have tried them out. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating and as such contributed to a lovely relaxing week in the sun. There are plenty of activities such as archery, water polo, aerobics, volleyball etc. if that is for you, we were there to dive and relax.

The hotel is ideally situated for divers as it is next to the dive centre. Thomson recommend a dive centre in Port Ghalib that we have no experience of. For convenience we dived with the on site dive outfit Coraya divers and would say that they are one of the best dive outfits we have seen in nearly 300 dives. The convenience of being able to dive the house reef at a time of your choosing is a great benefit.

As we wrote previously there is not much in Marsa Alam other than hotels and desert, but there are some gift shops in the hotel complex, as well as a free water park.

Anyone who wonders why the title says "better than the Coraya", we have stayed there previously and were not impressed by the attitude of the staff. On this trip we went to see some friends who were staying there and were made to feel like criminals because we were from a next door hotel. The staff seem to think they're working at the Savoy!

Will we go back to the Lamaya? Yes.

Room Tip: Divers might want to try to get a room in block 2 as it is slightly nearer the dive centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands england
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just returned from the Lamaya after three excellent weeks, this was our eight time there, No we are not sad, this is a excellent hotel. The food is very good, and very variable , The waiters excellent and go out of their way to help and please you. Bar staff in the pool bar are again the same and always with a smile on their faces, The Morgana restaurant staff are a joy to be with, always having a joke with you, and very interesting to talk to. and the food is excellent. Beach boys are great, and again they love talking to you. All of the other staff, from management, Lobby bar, Gardeners, Front desk, House boys, are just the same they all are friendly and talkative to you. For the first time we had rain, thunder and lightening, but it soon settled down to very hot sunshine, The snorkelling was very good, and this time we saw four dolphins in the bay, and also a Turtle quite near to the beach. The animation team lead by Carlos are also excellent. Yas the thomsons rep is first class, always around, and likes to get involved with his customers and arranges pool competitions, which may i add, he is not that good at. The rooms are very good and kept very clean by the room boys,.

We suspect soon there will be some negative comment about this Hotel, after the last round of questionares. which had a very demoralising effect on the staff. eg, Morgana food not cooked properly------------- wrong we have eaten in the morgana every lunch time and never once was the food not cooked.
Waiters in all bars and restaurants very rude------------ wrong again, they always go out of their way to help, even if they have to put up with people clicking their fingers at them, and demanding a table, its the customers who are rude.
Maintenance not undertaken quick enough.---- again wrong, we phoned to reception because the shower was loose on the wall, within five minutes the maintenance man was there.
Towels not changed by the room boys,----------again wrong, our towels were changed every two days when we put them onto the shower floor, like you are supposed to do. We hope this may help to dismay some negative comment, that may soon be published. This is a first class hotel, not 5 star but a very good 4 star, and yes the next visit is booked

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Welcome sunshine after the rain.

The first thing to say is that this part of Egypt is open for tourism business and we were asked to stress this point by everyone from the hotel manager to the beach boys. It is sad to see such lovely hotels with so few guests, though ours was quite busy but not crowded.
This was our first visit to Marsa Alam, which we chose as an alternative to Hurgada and Sharm that we had already been to a couple of times.
Our choice of hotel turned out to be a good one; the Iberotel Lamaya was welcoming with a cocktail and a very comfortable room. From the time we arrived to the time we left, nothing was too much trouble. The night we arrived, we could not get the key out of the door lock and in 15 minutes a man had appeared and changed the lock cylinder and handed over the new key. All this at 10.30pm !
The gardens and the lawns are immaculate and everywhere you go you see staff cleaning just about everything, from windows to the lamp standards that border the garden paths.
During our stay we were invited to spend one evening at the beach restaurant for an Indian dinner which turned out to be quite spicy, but nevertheless very enjoyable for me though not everyone in our party of four felt the same. On the Sunday that us two men went on the snorkelling boat trip, our wives did a tour of the kitchens and were impressed with what they saw.
Although this hotel has a very good pier on which to get to the edge of the reef for diving and snorkelling we were disappointed to find the easy access of the stairway closed off, so we had to use the less easy way of going down the ladder. For me I have to say that the snorkelling did enable us to see fish but not in the variety that we had hoped for and the coral was rather bland, compared to other dive sites we have been. It was probably better for those who were able to scuba-dive. However on the boat trip that we decided to book up for, I did get to video a turtle which made my day.
The food in the main restaurant was good though not the best we have had. There was a great variety for each meal and it was generally kept hot, something that some other hotels don’t manage. We sat outside for most lunchtimes which was very pleasant, but for dinner it was always possible to find a table inside, as the evenings were a bit cooler.
Then of course there are the shows put on each evening by the animation team.
These were supposed to start at 9.30pm but were rarely on time and some were definitely better than others; I should point out here that I am not a great lover of these shows, its not what I go on holiday for, but the guys & gals on the team here were very hard working and active all day. They all interacted with the guests during the day to ensure that we made the most of the activities that were on offer.
Later in the holiday we were invited to a managers cocktail party where we met and talked to most of the heads of departments; it was at this meeting we were all implored to tell people back home that Marsa Alam is very safe to visit and to try to help increase the visitor numbers.
It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at this hotel, from the beach boys to the management, the gardeners to the waiters, all wanted to be helpful.
On most afternoons on the beach, a chef would appear carrying a plate loaded with strawberries or melon and this was in addition to the food and drink that was available for the newly built snack bars.
Weatherwise I think we had it all. The first two days we had some rain but after that we had very strong winds in the brilliant sunshine. On the first Saturday at night we had a spectacular thunderstorm that left wet floors everywhere. After that it quietened down until the very last day when the strong wind returned, that’s force 4 to 5 !
Mentioning the wet floors reminds me that if, like us, you are assigned a room on the 3rd floor, the corridor and stairs are open to the elements and when it rained were awash until they were dried by the sun.
On the subject of the Marsa Alam airport and the entry visa, our holiday company, Thomson/First Choice, failed to tell us what the visa cost was because they charge extra for it ! If you go to the bank in the arrivals hall it costs £10 per person, whereas Thomson charge £13 per person ! On departure you still have to queue to check in even though you may have boarding cards that were pre-printed at home, but you do still get the same seats.
So, all in all a very enjoyable holiday that was made even better by the staff of the Lamaya.

Room Tip: We had room 1326, where 1 is the block, 3 is the third floor and 26 the room number Would advise wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I'm not a complainer, and this is how I found the hotel and all that goes with it. Travelled with Thomson who I use 90% of the time, no prob, only to be told on the last day by some one else that they charged us £13 per person for the Egyptian visa on the coach and if we had gone to the bank at the airport it would have been only £10 pp. Arrival at hotel was 10 mi s or so from airport, very swift check in, quick delivery of bags to room. Block 1, 1st floor, large family room , free safe, lovely bed, nice big pillows. Tv picture quality poor, just like to catch up on what's happening whilst getting ready for dinner!! With BBC world news, only English Channel . The shower power is quite weak, when o called about it, it got a bit stronger, but not a lot. Beach restaurant for lunch and buffet, but only the buffet for evening meal, 5* hotels usually have 3 or 4 al a carte restaurants, although you can pay extra to go to the Italian. The selection in the buffet was adequate but not vast, (the children's corner was very poor, glad we didn't have our 18 month granddaughter with us.) the evening entertainment was laughable, not sure if they were new and trying out their routines before the high season arrives. However, the staff were wonderful, so friendly, Karim and Mohammed in the bar, and the rest of them plus the restaurant staff.(Tayeb) Drink selection is not the best. ( I don't drink much) but no amaretto or champagne !! The snorkelling was amazing, the fish were fantastic . I would go back for a week off peak, for the sun, fish, and relaxation. Can be windy, beach shoes are a must . I have done 5* Caribbean , Mexico and Cuba . I would give this 3*+ in comparison.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We went here with two friends for a week from 5 march and had a great holiday. The hotel is in a nice spot, rooms very roomy and even have tea and coffee in the room. There is a nice selection of food, with themed evenings in the restaurant. The wine is drinkable and the drink measures are very generous! Highlight of the hotel is the friendly staff, couldn't do enough for you.

The dive school is 2 minutes walk from the pool and beach and they were the most organised dive school we have ever known. The dive school staff were friendly and very knowledgeable and you can dive whenever you want, not tied to time slots. House reef was great.

Hotel was 10 minute transfer but you don't get any plane noise at all. There were mainly German and Swiss guests but please don't be put off by everything you hear in the press. It is totally safe to go to marsa alam. It's not a place to go if you want nightlife, the evening entertainment was poor, but they worked hard during the day. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a complete rest or who is an avid diver. Tip, take US dollars if you are a diver as you get a discount if you pay in cash.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryDave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#6 of 68 in Marsa Alam
431 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing