We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Holiday!”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect Holiday!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband, myself and my 17yr old daughter have just come back from an amazing week in Egypt and the Ibertel Lamaya Resort. This hotel has everything you could possibly want from your holiday. When we arrived we were greeted with a refreshing towel and drink, while our luggage was taken care of we found our rooms. We arrived late but sandwiches and fruit arrived for us in our room. The next morning we found the view from our room was amazing looking out over the pools and the sea to our right on the third floor which was nice and quiet.

We had a welcome meeting from the management and our wonderful rep Ahmed who all introduced themselves, while we had another refreshing drink! Everyone is extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. They are desperate for the english to visit again, after all of the problems in Egypt over the last year they have dropped considerably, which is a real shame, Marsa Alam especially is so far from any problems you don't feel at threat from anything whatsoever.

The food at this hotel is superb with all tastes catered for, there is the main restaurant with indoor or outdoor areas, also on the beach there are three huts which serve food during the day with pizza, pastries, toasted sandwhiches, popcorn, candy floss and drinks. There is also an a la carte resaurant which we were invited to for an indian evening which was again superb.

There is a diving school at the hotel which was busy everyday taking people out, we snorkelled off of the jetty which was amazing.

We went on a couple of trips with Thomson which were excellent, especially the day out with Corona V a diving boat where my daughter had two dives on the same day while we again snorkelled everything was managed very professionally, thank you to Jimmy and his crew, again extemely friendly. We also went on the quad biking trip which was incredible not for the faint hearted!

The hotel bar in the evening served not bad cocktails Mai Tai a favourite! We noticed they did have some entertainment in the evening but we didn't see alot of it as we usually chatted to other people we had met, usually about the dives and experiences of the day! We did notice that people who had been going to Egypt regularly loved it and were going back two sometimes three times in one year, and those, like us, who hadn't been before were planning to go back as soon as we can! For a few years we have wanted to go to Egypt but always been put off by people, most of who have never visited, but now having been I wished I had done it years ago.

Please, Please come to Egypt especially this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Finally thanks to our lovely rep Ahmed who we met coming out of the airport and who we left at the airport after a brilliant week, he is so kind and goes out of his way to make sure you are enjoying your holiday, my daughter sketched a cat for him when he heard she liked drawing them, he brought her a lovely neckless which she was very touched by. On our last evening everyone of the staff we met said they hoped to see us back so much so we could have cried!

What beautiful people Egyptians are inside and out! Thankyou!

Room Tip: We had third floor room which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    645
    158
    43
    25
See reviews for
888
1,063
78
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ROMFORD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We returned once again to this hotel for a two week stay. It was great to be greeted by so many old friends and looked after so well. The staff at this hotel are so friendly and eager to please, nothing is too much trouble and they will do everything in their power to make your stay an enjoyable one. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the food is very good quality and plentiful, the gardens impeccable. This was our third visit and we were well remembered (hopefully for the right reasons!). There were not so many English this year as I imagine people have been deterred by news of the troubles in Cairo. Marsa Alam is a quiet place many miles from Cairo. The Thomson Rep, Ahmed Ragab, is an excellent guy who is knowledgeable, very helpful and always at the hotel when he is supposed to be. He makes a point of patrolling the hotel pool area and the beach to ensure that his guests are OK. This hotel has excellent management and deserves to do well. We are certainly intending to return. It is no possible to mention staff by name, but suffice it to say that each and every one of them will welcome you with a smile and a willingness to assist in any way they can. Come on Brits Egypt is a great place to holiday and this hotel is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and each of them has been spacious, well appointed and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HENRY2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My friends and I enjoyed a very pleasant week at the Lamaya, the food was lovely the animation team were enthusiastic without being pushy, Mo Mo and Carla made everyone feel special. I must mention Ahmed the Thomson rep he really is the jewel in Thomsons crown and went above and beyond for everyone. The house reef at the end of the jetty was truly magical, like swimming in a fish tank.
I would go back but at a cooler time of year.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room the reception staff will do their best to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sutou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remich, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We ( my husband my daughter 3,5 years old and myself) arrived in May 2014 (2 weeks) into this amazing place... Despite how much media warns us from going to Egypt I say DO GO and especially to Lamaya hotel. Everything was tip top! Rooms, food, services, beach, surroundings , staff, entertainment, spa , kids playground , sea and reef and so on. I was trying to find weaknesses of that place and I could not. We were amazed about the hotel standards bars, rooms, swimming pools beach kitchen everything unbelievably clean and well looked after every day! (Omg even the grass was amazing).
We were afraid most about the food quality, but what we have found there was way above our expectations! Big thank you and BRAVO to the Chef! Heaven in the mouth. Huge variety for everyone, meat eaters, fish eaters, vegetarians and lovers of deserts. Every evening different cuisine type... Wonderful rooms especially those sea-view located. Ours was facing main swimming pool, beautiful view also. Everyone is treated there like a king. Staff is extremely nice. All staff!!! from the maintenance guys through waiters to entertainment crowed. You will not be bored there that's for sure . Designated person organises entertainment at certain time of the day , you can hear ..." Volleyball" "boccia" ;)
If you go with kid(s) you will have possibility to leave child with the two lovely ladies (entertainment team). Worth to add that there's also aqua park. On the beach are three small self service mini restaurants plus one big. Several bars and assistance everywhere at any time. Also diving center, shops etc.
Tips welcomed among the staff. But you will not be treated respectful less if you don't tip. Wonderful spa with very nice staff. Every evening life music, Cocktails shisha...28 degrees. What more is needed? Congrats to all management for the excellent organisation of the staffing and the resort.
We are going back in October this year. Can't wait.
'Victor- revenge in boccia.'
Thank you all for the most wonderful time. And for those who decide to go there we wish to come back with the same emotions.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank agnieszka a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fantastic holiday, first time to egypt a lovely quiet resort but still enough to do for kids like water ball, archery the animation team would go around the pool to ask if you'd like to join in but would leave you be if you didn't . People are very friendly towards children mine are 13 and 9 , kids also loved the water park and snorkelling in the sea by hotel was amazing lots of fish up close and you didn't need to go too far out so 9 year old wasn't out of her depth . Food was good fresh bread was lovely not a lot for English kids food wise in main restaurant so kids would fill up at beach restaurant late afternoon with yummy fresh pizza salad chips ect , also little beach huts were great with pizza ,fresh cakes, popcorn ,candy floss, waffle sticks with chocolate sauce and ice creams . Hot chocolates in the evening were lovely at the pool bar . Thomsons rep was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were made up every day which was nice . Sunset cocktails over looking the jetty is a must . All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milowka, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport, about 5 km, at Coraya Bay, in the vicinity of other hotels: Iberotel Samaya, Sol Y Mar Solaya and Iberotel Coraya Beach. I was in January. The sun and warm sea made ​​me feel like in paradise. Water in the bay was about 23 degrees, and coral reef. Near the hotel is jetty and diving centre Coraya Divers so I could go to boat trip. It was great. Was very varied and very good food, very nice staff. It was nice and on the beach, and by the pool. Very good colorful cocktails, and bar on the beach with very good pizza, shawerma and kofta. When I had a problem with the shower after 10 minutes someone came to fix it, it was very fast, like express. I spent a very pleasant two weeks and for sure I will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda-Goralka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A jewel in the Egyptian crown. The staff were so friendly and unlike a previous visit to Sharm they didn't have their hands out for a tip in order to provide a good service. The hotel was well maintained and the all inclusive provision was the best we have ever experienced. Food and drinks were available from 6.30am to 12.00 midnight every day. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt very valued and welcomed. We will definitely return and have already told friends and family what a wonderful place it is. There is everything you can want, peace and tranquility or organised games and entertainment. It is a child friendly hotel but also has an on site dive centre for the more adventurous. Why there were not more English visitors I do not know, the Germans, Italians and the French seem to have discovered marsa alam but at no time did we feel uncomfortable being in the minority. The one negative aspect is the wifi service. It can be accessed at the reception but nowhere else. We were also unable to use FaceTime but it is in hand and the hotel are working on making wifi more accessible.

Room Tip: No tip except if you are unhappy with the room just tell reception and if they can move you they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#5 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing