We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visited 02 to 16 July 2014 with my wife and 16 year old daughter. Second time to Lamaya after an 8 year gap. Will try to keep repetition to a minimum, so am in total agreement of Anitamary2013's review and here's a few additions - niggles first - the room had a few loose fittings but nothing to worry about, the beach is segregated by hotel which was a big disappointment as it meant that there was quite a bit of a walk to enter the water, and as we like to take several cooling dips when on the beach we decided to spend most days by the main hotel pool. Our chosen position by the pool meant we didn't suffer the early morning chair grab, as most the chairs by the pool edge were towel-reserved by 6am, we chose a corner away from pool edge which was always available. Positives - everything else!!!!!! Plenty of food choices for all tastes in both restaurants, plus snacks and drinks by the beach. Very friendly and hard working staff - Karim in the main bar, Sam from the Animation team and Ahmed the Thomson rep to name a few. Highlight for me was the house reef, it was far better than both the Maldives and Mauritius, but clearer early in the morning. We didn't want to leave and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichnDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
There are newer reviews for Jaz Lamaya Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was our first time in Egypt and what a positive experience it was. Fantastic hotel with excellent facilities and served by a professional staff group. Nothing was too much trouble and we can only praise all of the team for their warmth and professional attitude at all times. Accommodation, food and service all to a very high standard. The reef was abundant with marine life and simply stunning. Was reassuring to see that the hotel are taking steps to protect the reef especially the reef which is accessed directly from the hotel. The animation team were tireless in their pursuit of engaging young and old in activities and kept our 16 year old entertained. We hope to return within the year. Finally Ahmed the Thompson rep was approachable, helpful and incredibly knowledgable about the resort and local area. He genuinely takes great pride in his role and is very committed to his job.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

From the time you arrive to the time you depart you are a member of a small family, your family are the only ones there or so it seemed. considering the number of people at the resort ,nothing is too much whenever you need anything . Our 6 year old daughter was treated by too many to mention with such warmth and good humour , she no longer wants to go to Lapland , but back to her friends next year, deposit paid the day we got back.
If you find something not quite right don't let it mar your holiday report it and just watch as things are done to fix it, wow a what team,
I won't name names, too many for starts, but try eating at the beach cafe and watch the performances unfold, led by the the manager himself (Hassan)bless him luv.
this is one resort that can't be lost , one plane a week is a loss to tourism , if you think other resorts have a good sea life , you will stop looking after this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just returned earlier this morning from a superb 2 week holiday at the Lamaya Resort in Marsa Alam. We cannot fault this hotel for its service , location, house reef and amenities. we have travelled quite extensively over the years and when you find a hotel of this quality it deserves to be praised. not only the hotel but the entire holiday excellant , couple of hiccups but nothing detrimental to the hotel , so lets start this review

firstly , the airport . from the time our feet touched eygptian soil to sitting on the coach was approximately 20 minutes !! no joke , this airport is small so is the resort and we were the only flight in so no queues anywhere , we were first off the bus , (bonus of being last on !) so first to have our visas, first for immigration and then our bags were about 6th on the carousel, so easy , straight to the coach and what a bonus a ten minute transfer. on the coach you receive your welcome letter which contains your hotel registration docs and also luggage stickers and your room number . so on arrival at the hotel you simply get off , put a sitcker on your case and walk in , where you are greeted with a cooling drink then you are given your bracelet and finally you have a quick introduction before being shown to your room. as we were delayed at gatwick we missed dinner but the hotel organised for sandwiches and fruit to be delivered to our rooms, very impressed.

our room , simply superb. room ? junior suite and large. well equipped bathroom , lots of hanging space , shelving etc. two large single beds pushed together. as it was dark we had no idea of what our view would be, so next morning we could not believe our eyes , we faced directly onto the sea, in all our travels no view has been better than this one . there is a mini bar its chargeable , not expensive normal hotel rates but the water is free.

heading down to breakfast we passed the pool , which we noted was very quiet , it was to be the calm before the storm as will explain later ! in the restaurant we found well set out tables, outside dining too, waiter service for tea and coffee ,and all the usual, breads, cakes, fruit, yoghurt, cooked food , cereal and omelette and egg stations. If you are a expecting a full english its not going to happen , they do not have bacon or sausages,as we do at home they have little chicken sausages or beef bacon in a gravy not a problem for us as we dont expect english food but just incase you do , you will have to find a supplement !
evening meals have plenty of choice, generally a themed night every night , personally loved the mexican night , and what stood out to us was that what we percieve to be the senior chefs in full chef outfit were always checking the food for presentation and quantity and chatting to diners. outside dining is always available too but the heat always tempted us to be inside just to benefit from some airconditioning !!

on our first morning we had our welcome meeting with the superb Ahmed . we had met him on the coach briefly the night before and had read previous reviews who said he was excellant. this man is the best rep we have ever met, he is the jewel in Thomsons crown., so informative and friendly , he sorts out all the niggly problems , he is superb, he not only does his job he goes way beyond his job . also very impressive was the fact that at the welcome meeting the General Manager and all sectional managers of the hotel came and introduced themselves, ie housekeeping, recreation, catering, pool etc.

the pools, there is the main divided into two sections , one section has steps into allowing for swimming at different levels. im a shorty so i found that the full depth of the pool was a bit deep, i could keep my head out on tiptoe only but im only 5ft 2". the other section is one depth only - deep!

there is also a childrens pool with slides and things and then on a lower level what i would call the quiet pool , smaller but still with the stepped levels but probably less than 50 sunbeds and not really in earshot of the main pools entertainment.

the beach restaurant, quite simply excellant. burgers, salads, pizza , steak sandwich (real steak), pasta, wraps all cooked to order , also icecream and cakes plus all the normal drinks. waiter service for everything and they were all excellant but for us NASSER was superb, such a lovely guy , a credit to the hotel .

on the beach there are food huts too, didnt use them but a quick glance and i saw hot dogs, burgers, candy floss, drinks , pastries but as i didnt go over i cant comment on what they were like but im guessing good as they had queues

the beach . little disappointing , but this is unspoilt reef so i fully appreicate that you cannot access the sea from the beach , there are corals everywhere and they should be protected , so access to the sea is from the jetty only , so if you dont like deep water its the pool im afraid . you can access the sea from further round the bay but its a bit of a hike and the heat made it a no. the reef is amazing, im a novice so hang around the steps but just there i saw a lion fish , and a turtle !!! masses of colourful fish , having been to sharm and hurghada , this is by far the best with the best corals. steve says snorkelling at 6am is the best time, less people so more fish .

the entertainment - animatiion team. i cant comment on evening entertainment as we didnt go to any we sat by the pool bar and enjoyed quiet drinks but there was a show everynight apart from saturday i think . on the terrace outside the restaurant was a singer , seemed ok and from the pool bar we could just about hear it in the distance. during the day they were very enthusiastic during the day for pool games and pool gym etc and very friendly .

oh and they have a waterpark too , its just over the road and if you cant get a sunbed and you wont lol , you will here !! get there early around 10ish plenty of beds and 6 slides , we loved it, its quiet compared to the main hotel .

so as you will gather we had a superb 2 week holiday and were sad to leave which would bring us to the only area that we feel and are told by Ahmed will be dealt with by the hotel are the problems that all centre around the pool which are , although well signposted the pool rules are pretty much ignored by the non uk guests (we believe the occupancy of the hotel to be 40% german 40% polish, few french and not many of us !!) for example whilst we were there we witnessed 2 accidents where older children whilst running around the pool slipped and hurt themselves, you will find, steve also says by mid morning the pools have changed into some type of child and floating boat soup, there are everything from swim rings and armbands (perfectly acceptable) to large dinghys , full size lilos various large floating green crocodiles, and assorted snorkels and fins and all sorts of ball games ranging from ping pong to ruby going on in the pool,plus some children seem intent on drowning other children ! non of this however will you witness from your poolside sunbed unless you get up at 5am to ensure that you put your towel on the sunbed to reserve it BEFORE the higher occupancy group at the hotel !! which leads me to the next problem, steve left the towels on the sunbeds at around 6.30am and went snorkelling then returned to the sunbeds with me prior to going to breakfast , unfortunately when we got there one of the towels had gone, quite literally as some other reviews on here will tell you ,,,,,, stolen and at that point incurring a hotel charge for loss of towel. however, with Ahmeds assistance this was resolved with the hotel general manager and the charges were waived . so i would strongly suggest that you take a towel from home to put on your bed if you manage to get one as this will have no value to other guests, it would appear that towels are stolen to replace those lost on trips by whoever to avoid them incurring a charge ............ charming .

with regard to all the above we are told by Ahmed and the management that the reservation of beds and towel problems and also the enforcement of pool rules for safety and comfort are going to be addressed

Beyond that , did it spoil our holiday , no it didnt and we will most certainly be returning as the hotel , the management, the facilities, the food , the rep , the reef, everything was stunning and more than met our expectations

We would also at this point like to point out that as parents and grandparents we have no problem with children playing and enjoying themselves, but whilst on holiday we like to relax so we too have learnt a lesson this year which is check the calendar not only for uk school holidays but european as if you were taking children here they will have a fantastic time during this month and next , we as a couple will return a month earlier next time purely as we prefer it quieter.

Quite simply the hiccups were minor, we loved marsa alam and we are coming back Ahmed !!!!

Room Tip: block 2 rooms overlook either the sea or the bay
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank binkynsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went to the Lamaya as part of at Thomson Holiday’s package. Overall we had a really great time and would recommend the resort to others. We ideally wanted to give the review 4.5 but as we’re not able to give 0.5 marks, we could not justify a 5!

Check in

The whole process is really well organised, with a welcome drink and parts of the buffet dinner kept open for the late arrival. They took our bags to the room whilst we ate, and after navigating flooded walkways from the recent heavy downpour, we got our room to find that the bed for our child wasn’t made up. We had to request this (despite the booking clearly being for a couple + child), and this took over an hour. This was not great given our 2.5 year old was already grouchy come 11pm after being awake for 17 hours! They did apologise and on the plus side, we had requested a quiet room on the top floor and our wish was granted, with the added benefit of a sea view.

The rooms

The rooms are really wonderful. Very spacious, and worth paying the extra to have a dividing door between the rooms. The facilities were well looked after and cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis. The large balcony was a great addition from which we could watch the sunset. The room (2347) overlooked the sister Samaya hotel, directly above the Lamaya playground, and was very quiet. Our little boy would open the curtains each morning with wide eyed excitement at the thought of playing on the Frog and Rabbit slide. We explained to him that it wasn’t part of our hotel but our amazing Thomson rep Ahmed spoke to the manager of the other hotel to see if it was okay if we took our little boy to the pool occasionally, which it was.

We did have a number of power cuts whilst we were there, usually around the time you were getting ready to go for dinner and were left in the shower in pitch black, but they were all rectified within a couple of hours or so.

Pool & Gardens

The pool and garden areas are substantial and once again, spotless. The staff really does pride itself on high standards of cleanliness. It was only about 70% full but we always managed to get a sun-bed, however rarely in the shade. The majority of the guests are German / Russian and would genuinely reserve sun-beds from 6am onwards. We often witnessed families reserving sun-beds in the shade by the kids pool whilst they spent the morning by a different pool, only so they could then come up to the kids pool in the afternoon and be guaranteed a spot. On one occasion, they left their towel on these sun-beds for 7 hours and when we reported it to the Customer Services manager, nothing was done about it. He was really reluctant to take the towel off and after 8 hours, the family came up and took the towel back. Whilst they have numerous signs saying that this is not acceptable, it is quiet clear they do nothing about it.

Beach & Sea

Lovely and clean, but very difficult to get a sun-bed! On a number of days we could not get one allocated to Lamaya until gone 3pm in the afternoon, due to them being reserved, and had to resort to only attempting the beach in the afternoons when we had more luck. One thing we weren’t aware of through our method of booking (corporate website) was that there was no direct access to the sea from the Lamaya sun-beds. You have to walk 10 minutes around to the other hotels to get into the sea but can’t use those sun-beds. So if you like lazing on the beach and dipping into the sea occasionally to cool down, you’ll have to take your towel onto the sand.

We thought snorkeling in the bay reef was poor however we heard the diving was much better. Mr Nice the Coraya dive donkey was a regular highlight to our little boy’s day!

Food

The food was as expected, nothing spectacular but sufficient. One bonus was that there was always a great selection of local / authentic food available and very limited fast food! One night they put French Fries in the kid’s buffet corner and it was quite embarrassing to see many adults queuing up to get their fill of the fries when there was an abundance of rice, potato, salad and pasta available. Also, all the salad and fruit is washed in mineral water so there’s no reason to avoid the fresh produce.

Water Park

There is free access to the water park for all those staying in the resort hotels. We went 3 mornings in total and the place was practically deserted, which was great for us! There were slides for all, with an excellent children's pool and area. The staff spoil you there too, bringing over flowers, drinks and popcorn throughout the day and asking how you were (all included in your holiday package).

Trips

We booked possibly the best boat trip we’d been on in all our travels, with Colona Divers (via Thomson). The boat was immaculate and our guide (Swedish gentleman, can’t recall his name) was very knowledgeable with impeccable English. All of the staff kept our little 2 year old entertained throughout the day. The food (payable extra for a small charge) was divine and worth every penny. We stopped at two snorkeling / dive sites and were lucky to see an abundance of marine life and even a handful of turtles. One tip would be to take £GBP. All the Thomson trips are priced in £GBP which they convert to $Egyptian at a poor rate.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra to get the actual door between the rooms. Rooms overlooking Samaya hotel are...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank TheLynams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our 4th trip back to this hotel and once again it did not disappoint
Staff couldnt have been more friendly and the diving just kept getting better and better
As previous trips I had no problems with the quality and variety of foods served
Hope to be returning next June

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good if you have trouble climing stairs. The rooms on the 2nd floor have the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUW J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I went with my 16 year old daughter and we could not have had a more lovely time.
The hotel was stunning, the room was large and very well equipped, all of the staff from the reception to the bar to the dining areas to the cleaners were always so polite and friendly and couldnt do enough for you.

The communcation from the Thomson Rep and the hotel was first class, notes being left inviting you to various meals/cocktails with the management etc. It really was excellent. Little gifts like traditional Egyptian tea, Egyptian scented joss sticks being left in your room for you and of course the towel art!

The snorkelling was fantastic and the beach/sea was wonderful.

Plenty of sitting areas, eating, bars and drinks stations.

We would definately go back here, met some lovely people who have holidayed there lots of times before, it was a very happy holiday.

Annie and Ella July 2014

Room Tip: The family room also has a separated room with sofas so creates even more space. Didnt notice any no...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
486 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: £73 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing