We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFULLY RELAXING”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“WONDERFULLY RELAXING”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Travelled with Thomson, pretty cramped flight but plane decent. As others have stated get visa from kiosk in the hall immediately on the left £10 each as oppose to £13 by the reps. Time to hotel 5 minutes and although so close not disturbed at all by aircraft noise. Immediately welcomed on arrival with towels and drink and taken to room, straight forward and Stress free.
We were in superior family room, large with partioned room for children with 2 single beds. Little spartan but extremely clean and kept that way throughout holiday, bags arrived within 5 minutes. Had been concerned prior to departure about poor reviews. No signs of any problems with beds rashes or anything else.
Beautifully maintained grounds with walk around bay and good access for snorkelling and diving on site. Husband dived with the Coraya school on site and was extremely impressed with the set up. Minimal travel to sites good variety of dives and extremely professional school. He would certainly recommend it.
Enjoyed the food though l think it could get a bit repetive after 2 weeks, Didn't bother with the shows though the entertainment staff worked really hard. Very impresed with all the staff. Polite and pleasant without being intrusive, friendly
Caught the shuttle bus to go to port to the North approx 60 kms away (Forget name). Described in bochure as authentic experience. Have to admit, very disappointed very deprived area, bit scarey at times glad to get back on bus after 2 hours.
Very impressed with Marsa Alam airport. Having travelled through Hughada on a number of occasions and waiting in chaotic situation for almost 3 hours to check in, it took 30 minutes from leaving hotel to being sat in departure lounge.
I would certainly return to resort and probably same hotel again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ad803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    683
    166
    47
    26
See reviews for
953
1,133
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Just returned form Lamaya on Feb 25th, had a great holiiday with our friends Liz and Jez or Jiz has the staff called him. We were all impressed with with the hotel, service and location and the weather was fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel, you will struggle to find a better one with such great,friendly staff that cant do enough to help you.
Book it.

Dezzer and Lainie

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dezzer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We have stayed in Iberotel Luxor twice before and have always been happy with the service and the hotel in general, so had no reservations when trying the Lamaya for the 1st time in Marsa Alam.

The hotel is within a small complex of about 5 hotels around a fantastic bay. The walk from one side of the bay to the other is approx 1.5km, unusually for Egypt there is no mithering from locals as the complex is secure. The hotel is very clean, although dimly lit in most areas including the rooms. The staff are fantastic, cannot do enough for you. We initially thought the food selection was limited, but there is an outdoor bbq area as well as the main dining hall that we didn't try until our 4th night, plenty of authentic food as well as usual all inclusive meals of a varying theme each day, the quality is excellent and always fresh!

There is a free water park little more than 2 minutes away from Lamaya, and one day we had it to ourselves for 20 or 30 minutes, brilliant! Not once did we need to wait for any of the slides. There isn't much to do except for what I've already mentioned, so for a week of relaxation in the sun it is ideal here! The weather was fantastic in the low 30's every day between 11 & 18 Feb 2010.

We had 2 interconnecting rooms, decent size, good decor, air con essential, ample bathroom but the shower pressure was inadequate in one of the rooms. There is a fridge in each room, all in all very pleasant surroundings. The grounds and pool/terrace areas are lovely, the beach is typical gritty desert sand in Egypt but has endless private wicker type wind breaks and palm canopys. The jetty into the red sea has a snorkelling platform and one exclusively for divers, the marine life is outstanding seeing corals, fish, octopus, squid, stingrays myself and some divers saw sharks, turtles and dolphins.

There is a health club on site that is free, massages are at an additional cost but from experience these are recommended. There are also a few small shops associated with the hotels, jeweller, gifts, snorkels, a bank and pharmacy plus a traditional Egyptian barber.

In the airport, buy your visa from the window on the left in the arrivals hall, it costs $15 US. This is the fee charged by Egyptian authorities. Do not be conned into being directed to the kiosk straight ahead in arrivals and then paying for your visa on the coach. The cost of a visa this way is £13 and your tour operator pockets the profit of £3 per person, i know its not much but the extra goes straight into the profit column in their accounts, thats £750 profit approx per plane for doing absolutely nothing!!!!!


We will go back!

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ashdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Hotel was great with an excellent location. Staff very polite. My two young children thought that the entertainment staff and kids club was fantastic. All 3 kids did not get bored and did not want to leave. Only negative was that the food was a bit naff at times but there was always something to get by on.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooleyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Just had the most wonderful time at this hotel ! very relaxing if thats what you need ! this was our second visit to the lamaya beach and enjoyed ourselves as much as the first time. the food was lovely and the deserts are to die for fresh fruit was always available and the skin cut off for you by a member of staff.the rooms were big and cleaned daily and fresh linen also changed daily nice soft towels in the bathroom too.the staff are very helpful and very polite nothing is too much trouble for them. my only downside would be the no smoking areas of the bar being far to close to the smoking areas but we didn't let it spoil our time there !
the snorkling was amazing soo many fish although the water was a bit cold a wetsuit solved the problem
the weather was good to us apart from 1 day when it was overcast and quite cold we had temperatures in the high 20s take a jumper though as the nights can be a bit chilly.
night-time entertainment was ok but we didn't go to many of the shows so won't comment on the content of them but the animation team do work hard especially round the pool during the day getting you involved in the daily activities if you so wish ! we did not, much preffered to lie and sun bathe with a cocktail or 2, all in all from Jan 27th to Feb 10th we had a lovely time and if you decide to go i'm sure you will enjoy yourselves also.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My wife and I visited the Lamaya from the 3rd-10th February.

We were both nervous having read about the bed bugs problems. These appear to have been resolved as we did not come across anyone with any problems. We did see some bed heads being carted away, so if there is any remaining problem it is obviously being addressed.

The hotel was excellent. It was very clean and the staff friendly and cheerful.

The food was varied, and good whilst not outstanding; we managed to find something every day without thinking about using the two a la carte restaurants. Each evening there was a choice of a vegetable, fish, chicken or beef main course as well as a pasta station and a barbeque station. If we had been there for longer than a week we may have become a little bored but for a week it was fine.

There was also a fitness centre containing a gym, jacuzzi and various massage services (very good). There was a water park a 5 minute walk away, that is free to guests. In addition there were two pool tables which need to be pre-booked at reception. There did not seem too much in the way of organised day time and evening activities; this may be because it was the quiet season but suited us just fine. Anyone visiting Marsa should be aware that there is a coral reef, a few hotels and the desert, so there is no entertainment or places to eat/drink outside the hotel complexes.

The beach was made up of ground coral, as is common in Marsa, rather than soft sand but it seemed popular. There were also volleyball and petanque pitches here.

The hotel is only a short ten minute transfer from the airport, though you will not be disturbed by flights as Marsa is a very quiet airport, we only saw two flights all week.

The prime purpose of our visit was to dive. The on site dive centre Coraya divers was very professsional, although reception staff could be a little unfriendly and disorganised; the guides were excellent. They have two house reefs (north and south) that you can dive unaccompanied if you have 25+ dives. Marine life was abundant with all the usual Red Sea suspects, Lion fish, Clown fish, Masked Puffer, Blue spotted wrays etc. We even saw 5 dolphins at the end of the dive. In addition the dive centre run afternoon and morning speedboat and truck dives, with an additional option of day boat trips from Port Ghalib just ten minutes drive away. If you do dive, we strongly recommend settling up your bill the day before you leave as we found it very laborious and time consuming! This way you don't lose any time the day of your departure. If you return in the future to dive here you are eligible for a 10% discount which sounds like a bargain!

For those just wishing to snorkel, there is a dedicated pier to allow entry onto the reef. This was extremely popular.

We have stayed previously in Marsa at the Calimera Habiba 30km south of this hotel and much prefer the Lamaya. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We go on half a dozen holidays a year and have been to Egypt 20 times in the last 20 years but this was out first trip to Marsa Alam.

We were a bit worried about our trip before going after reading several reviews on this site but were pleasantly surprised on arrival. The flight out was awful as we were 2 of the passengers who went without a meal even though it stated that we were entitled to a meal on our ticket!

However, on arriival at the hotel we were met with a welcome drink and a refreshing towel and shown to our comfortable room, very peaceful, situated in the gardens.

We found the food good, the wines and beer were fine but the gin was poor quality and the staff did not understand the word "small" gin so in the end we made our own gin and tonics. Not the greatest quality gin but this is Egypt after all!

We loved the beach and swimming pools and walking around the bay every morning after breakfast. We also loved to look at the fish, especially when the water was calm. The animation team were friendly but not pushy and I did the stretching class and water gym class every morning. We also played boules on the beach. The shows that the animation team put on in the evening were dire (more suited to the Russians and Germans). We tried the disco one night but it was mainly aimed at the 3 animation teams in the local hotels showing off which scared offf most of the tourists (including us!).

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed chatting to them and teasing them about football etc. Egypt won the African cup while we were out there and we had a lot of banter about the world cup etc...

This hotel is very good value for money to enjoy a week in the winter sun to escape the English weather but we feel a week is long enough and we would not visit in the summer or in school holidays.

The hotel manager invited us to a cocktail party on our last night to ask about our comments. We told him that we had had a lovely holiday - we mentioned that the lighting in the room was poor (not strong enough to read when the sun had set) and that the pressure in the shower was poor. Apart from that, a wonderful relaxing break to take us away from the miserable English winter.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MinxiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#5 of 68 in Marsa Alam
463 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#9 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing