We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay but it is Egypt so get real” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay but it is Egypt so get real”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Lamaya in June 2010 and had a lovely time so for this review i'll start from the begining. I do understand Marsa alam airport has less passengers than Sharm but the visa process is far easier here than Sharm and the transfer to the hotel takes less than15 minutes.
On the coach you are given a hotel pack with baggage tags for your cases, on arrival you are greeted with a cool towel and a melon cocktail whilst the management check you in, your cases will be collected from the reception.
After a short welcome speech you are shown to your room your cases arrive 10 to 30 minutes later be warned if you have left your room your cases are left outside the door, I witnessed very apolegetic reception staff trying to explain that they said the cases would be delivered to the rooms not put inside them if you have gone out, apparently the complaining couple had swimwear in there hand luggage and gone straight down the beach for 3 hours.
Our room was clean a spacious on the second floor looking over the Samaya hotel pool area with 4 single beds in 2 seperate sleeping areas, talking with other residence the rooms in different blocks have different layouts.
Food wise the main resturant is good, dependant on what time you go for your meals depends on how busy it is, the waiters and chefs do there best a busy times to get tables clear or food in the serving trays, the dishes are for a cross section of nationalaties so some dishes can look a bit strange but there is allways something to eat even if its a bread roll and ice cream, just remember to wash your hands before you handle food and cutlery, I reccommend the beach bar for lunch times as the service is more personel and the food choice is a bit lighter.
Plenty of space around the pool areas and on the beach with a free beach towel service.
Only down sides are:
1. Kids club entertainments looks good but eveining entertainment for the adults well all I can say is they do there best but i thought it was a comedy act each night.
2. On a couple of days there was a bit to much touting for services like trips and spa treatments but a few complaints at reception and it all stopped.
3. The 2 familys who kept complaining that the Lamaya should not be part of the Thomson's premier hotel package, well read the bochure a premier package is the before extras in the airport and luggage allowance not any extras you get in resort.
4. Weak drinks but thats the same in all resorts in egypt.
5. Expensive prices for cigarettes and perfumes in the Medinat shops, wait until you get back to the airport.
All in all a nice place to stay, very relaxing resort with friendly people if you are friendly to them and very hot.
I will be going back soon.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank heath-jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,421
    611
    155
    41
    25
See reviews for
838
1,010
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Since this was our first all-inclusive trip, We did not have high expectations. We are more the off the cuff type of travellers who like to seek out restaurants and entertainment but we did want to go somewhere for some well deserved down time.

Other travellers mentioned that the greeting they received was quite nice with the warm flannels and juice. Sine there were only 2 families getting off our bus I guess they excluded the flannels for us. It was like they weren't expecting us.

The room does have an odour, however since we were on the top floor we could keep our balcony door opened and when we called the front desk someone came immediately to put in a new air freshener. I have to say the room was quite nice and large, no complaints.

For the most part the staff are fine. The waiters and cleaners are very friendly and helpful, the staff at the spa are great, the person that tries to get business for his hairdressing shop is too aggressive and I can't complain about the animation staff as they did not bother us once we said no. The front desk people are another story, obviously people skills are not required for this position. Unhelpful to the point of being rude.

Our daughter is 14 and other than the pool and the waterpark next door there was not anything for her to do. They have a Kids Club for the younger children but nothing for tweens and teens. The shows were so bad that you felt embarrassed for the people on stage. The Christmas Eve show was mor like the dating game, highly inappropriate we thought as did most of the audience because they left less than half way through the show.

Since we are not buffet goers I suppose our food review is biased, but we found that most of the food tasted the same. There were pastas, meats veggies, soups and fries and nuggets for the kids but it was all rather tasteless, especially the desserts. Most of the cakes had no more flavour than rice cakes. We tried the Italian extra pay restaurant and decided not to go for the oriental one the next night. We were the only patrons. The appetizer, a tomatoe salad was nice, the pasta and sauce were flavourful however the Shrimp in the pasta was extremely overcooked. The Surf and Turf was overcooked as well, the chicken and beef were hard and chewey and the shrimp again overcooked. I do not recommend paying the extra to go we actually wished we had gone to the buffet and we really didn't like the buffet.

We went on the Safari with the jeep ride, Quad ride and Camel ride. Kind of tacky. The driver of the jeep was trying to be a cowboy and driving rather carelessly. The Quads were very old and mine dripped oil all over my feet, as well as stalled several times. They take you into the dessert on a path used so many times it has become a corduroy road, very jarring. The camel ride is what it is and our daughter enjoyed it.

Marsa Alam is not the place to go for sightseeing as there isn't anything around you must travel. If you want rest and relaxation and you don't mind mediocre food then this hotel is OK.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenyseWarsaw_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

1. Cleanliness
* The matress in our room was drenched with remains of sweat, urin and vomit on arrival. It took the hotel two days to replace it. Needless to say no sleep the first two nights.
* The staff in the restaurant El-Diwan did not follow simple rules in food preparation. They did not change plastic gloves after putting the hand inside a waste basket, they did not change utensils after dropping them on the floor and so on.
* The floor in the restaurant was sticky through the whole week.
These are just some examples of many.
2. Safety
* The door to our terace could not be locked.
* The safety deposit box could be carried away since it was not bolted in the wall.
* Electrical lines were lying free with unsheltered endings on walkways and in the pool area. It's a wonder no one got hurt.
3. There are no microwaves available at the hotel or in the restaurants.
4. The hotel staff is in general quite indifferent and especially towards women who they barely look in the eye when spoken to. In some cases, the staff was aggressive and inpolite.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForestierHabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We stayed 8th - 15th December. Welcomed with cold flannels and a melon cocktail to refresh us - nice touch. Attractive hotel with lovely gardens, pools and terraces. Well looked after areas - very clean. Bedrooms are spacious and clean - no dirty towels! Yes it did smell funny but I had taken my own air freshner and as we changed our room to an upstairs room we left our patio doors open to air the room during the day. Food was varied with plenty of choice, I really don't know how many choices of food some people expect, there is only so much you can put on your plate. Entertainment was pretty poor but we didn't go on holiday for that. All the staff at this hotel were very friendly. No problems with getting a sunbed, preferred beach at Brayka Bay hotel nicer beach, snorkelling and coral. This hotel was overrun with children unlike Brayka Bay, very popular with Eastern European families. You can avoid the children by eating your meals at a later time and going to the beach as the beach is not child friendly - no nice sand to build sandcastles and no direct access to the sea from beach in front of our hotel. Biggest problem on the beach is the constant pestering from the animation team to get you to join in all the activities on the beach and at the pool - they come and look for you. If you want to join in you would you don't need to be pestered. We did a trip to Abu Dubab to see the turtles and also saw guitar sharks, we booked this though Tiger Marine for £20 each who happened to be touting for business on the beach along with the constant procession of masseurs for the Spa who also do this on a daily basis! The only reason I would not recommend to my friends is this hotel is popular with families and all our families are grown up and don't particularly want to be surrounded by kids. Finally, the weather was beautiful and that is why we went to Egypt - guaranteed sunshine.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

We spent 2 weeks at Lamaya from Oct 28th-Nov 11th. Our room was large and very clean and was kept like that for the duration of our stay by Yaseen. A very friendly young man who liked to have a joke with my husband. Apart from keeping our room clean, Yaseen changed our towels daily, NO used towels were ever put in our bathroom or we would told him. Sheets were changed every other day. He also made towel art occaisionally which he left on the bed , including a 3' birthday cake made for my husband from blankets and towels,( very clever ). There was a smell in the room when we arrived, but when I told Yaseen, he sprayed fresh air around and it was gone.

Other areas of the hotel, reception, bars, restaurant were all kept very clean and the gardeners worked very hard to keep the grounds looking beautiful.

There was always a plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and evening dinner, something for all tastes. You had to be a really fussy eater if you couldn't find 'anything' to eat. The chefs were always out of the kitchens, checking the food and filling up when needed. If anybody had a complaint for whatever reason, it was dealt with straight away. I never heard a complaint about cold food and the chef wouldn't know about it, if they weren't told.

The beach cafe is where we used to eat at lunchtime, the food is very tasty, there's a choice of pizza's made fresh, burgers, spaghetti bolognese, and soup and rolls and french fries if you want them. You can also get ice cream, which were like a Cornetto. This is a waiter service, not self service. Not only was the food good, but the views from your table looking over the beach and bay were stunning.

All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and hard working, from gardeners to management, always with a smile no matter when you saw them. We had a really good relationship with the waiters and bar staff and had some great fun with them all. It makes all the difference to their working day when guests make an effort to have a bit of fun, and also learn a bit of their language.

The pools were lovely and clean, and there always seemed to be enough sunbeds to go round, although we prefered to go down to the beach, there was always plenty of beds for biggest part of our stay, but the last few days there did seem to be a few people looking to find beds after lunch. The beach was kept clean and tidy and plenty of room between beds. The coral and fish you could see from the jetty were amazing, you didn't have to get wet to see beautiful coloured fish. There was a blue spotted Stingray laying right a the side of the jetty as though it was sleeping which gave people a chance to take photos of it. My husband snorkled most days and said it was Amazing!! better than he'd seen in Sharm. The new jetty was completed before we left and would make a huge difference to the divers.

The animation team work really hard and put on some decent shows. The fire and glass show is well worth a watch. They also work round the pool doing belly dancing, keep fit, organizing water polo, table tennis and other activities and down on the beach with volley ball, which is always well attended, plus French boules.
There is a diving centre which gets really busy, with groups of 6-8 going out every 30 mins.

The weather was in the high 30's for the whole two weeks and gave us some fantastic sunsets. We hope it's not too long before we're watching them again from the beach or our balcony at Lamaya. And calling at the pool bar to get a capuchino made by Nassa, Hasan, or Haitham . Hi! if your reading this!!

Thank you Mr Namnam and staff for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthYorksJomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm on Tees UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Not sure why Thomson regard this hotel as Platinum – mediocre food – tired rooms with strange smell from cane furniture – inadequate room cleaning (sounds like we may have had worse experience with our cleaner than most guests ) - mediocre reception staff – insufficient beds on beach for number of guests.
Despite friendly polite helpful staff, guests seemed very surley to us - not particularly polite to staff or other guests - not really rude just unfriendy and impolite - still it meant the polite people (British usually !) got excellent service from an appreciative staff.
However there were enough good points to ensure we enjoyed our holiday – attractive grounds and pool areas – excellent bar and waiting staff – interesting reef and beach for snorkeling (although could get a bit crowded!) good access to reef via pier with walk in steps and two vertical ladders – and easy access via shallow sandy beach just along bay. Because there is a group of hotels all around the sheltered bay there was somewhere to walk to (unlike some hotels we saw which were on their own with desert to either side (or “prison” as one guest (inmate?) on the Island trip said as he got off the coach at his hotel)
We booked here mainly because it looked like the reef might be more interesting and accessible than we experienced at Sharm but it was more cloudy due to disturbed sand, much busier as shared by 4 hotels with less variety of fish – and chose the hotel because the pier was there - if we were to go to this resort again (unlikely!) We would try the Coralla which gets better reviews – looked more intimate and had fine access to the reef from it's beach.
The only trip we did was the Island trip which was interesting but would not recommend unless you like snorkeling ! The Islands were insignificant small coral patches and the coach journey was long and tedious (although we were happy to do it to get to see just how barren the countryside was and how isolated many hotels were).
The hotel did seem to cater extremely well for families with lots of facilities and activities for children and despite there being many families there from a variety of countries they did not intrude on our peace or pleasure (perhaps because there were few English children !) The animation team were friendly and enthusiastic without being "in your face" and the evening entertainment was fun.
We paid for an extension of 3 hrs on our room on the last day and were interrupted 5 times by cleaners and luggage collectors dspite a "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door - distinct lack of communication between reception and staff (We should not have been surprised that the sign was ignored - our room was not cleaned three times despite the "Make up my Room" sign being left on the door from breakfast to sunset)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

The room was very good and the cleaner ,We think he used towels that had been used on a nomber of times.As a profesional in the hygen side at one time I think thay should have some lessons do not put fingers into glasses and cups pryor to serving.
If you like to eat food that is cold off cold plates ok and is only half cooked ok. At the bars normal drinks but no vermout etc coffe ok.
My wife had the runns for 4 days I for about three. not the best of holidays.There is nothing to do They tell me the correl is very good to see. I am 75 with a few problems so I did not go diving .All in all a very poor holiday, and we have about 6 a year 4th time to Egypt .Loads of children with no perants going wild about 10 nationalities.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TonyRLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#9 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#24 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing