We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go, just dont go. All inc and you still have to pay for water!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Reviewed 5 June 2009

4 star? not a chance, more like 2 star. Looks very impressive at first but then after a couple of days you start to see they have no attention to detail. Tiles still missing in one of the swimming pools. We went all inc, food ok but nothing fantastic (you have to pay for ice cream 2 euro) all drinks served in small glasses so frequent trips to the bar. If you like a sauna that will be 5 euro, massage about 25 euro Internet 7 euro per hr. Not all entertainment is included so you have to pay again. Remember to save your bottles of water so you can fill them at the water dispensers or you will have to pay for bottled water. As luck would have it we did not pay to much for this holiday, Go and spend your money on another hotel not this one we will go back to Egypt but not The Tulip Resort. If you need to ask anything please do RussWHoward@aol.com not on line often but will return your email asap

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,154)
There are newer reviews for Magic Tulip Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

we have just returned from two weeks at tulip resort in marsa . We have a brilliant holiday .The food was good and you would never go hungry as there is something for everybody and if there is nothing you like the cooks will make you something else . The shops in the hotel are pricy and the resort is very quite but it does state this in the broucher. The jetty is fantastic and we even saw the dolphins a few days at around 3pm .
The trips that the reps offer are pricy too but they had 10% off we went to some islands on a day trip and this was fantastic and i tried snorkling with a life jacket and the crew on the boat was fantastic . The hotel did have a lot of italians but you get used to them after a few days . Overall we have a fantastic holiday and we are looking forward to going back . If you are wanting a chilled holiday this is the place . Go with an open mind and make your own opinion .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laughinglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Me and my partner stayed for one week ,we travel a lot so we little know about good / bad holidays.

FOOD
was great ,if u like something diffrent that the best hotel for u ,many choices,Egyptian/Italian etc
But if u fancy English food go better to Blackpool or just stay in UK
People complain because probarly there wasnt their favourite Sheppard Pie -This is EGYPT !!!! I wouldn't expect that kind of food abroad !!!

STAFF

very friendly and helpful ,they wont hassle u and they dont expect u gonna give them a tip all the time like eg in Mexico or other Latin countries

HOTEL

Very pleasant ,quiet ,people who expect clubbing ,parties let they first read all reviews about the place where they go , so they wont be dissapointed what they get


THINGS TO DO

- Snorkeling - absolutely amazing what u can see under water -must go ! Just what u need is your own equipment ( u can buy from rep £10 ) and u can snorkeling as many times as u like in the end of the jetty ( about 300 metres long) where the water is deep
- Quads ( 35 - single or 55Euros double ) fantastic 3 hr desert tour with camel ride as well included
- Extra Trips ( get from Rep )
Luxor ,Aswan , Cairo,etc We went to Luxor ( paid 110 US ) The journey takes 7 hr by bus one way ,its worth to go but be prepared to get up at 2:30 am

MONEY
All trips from REP must be paid in US dollars but
Hotel requires euros

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAB_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Just arrived back from two weeks staying at Tulip resort Marsa Alam, travelled as a family of couple and two older teenagers.
1. Food quality is poor and choice limited, be prepard for upset stomaches.
2. All locally served spirits taste the same( disgusting) and you cant buy international ones.Plus they are served in horrible plastic cups.
3. All inclusive stops at 11pm,so you have to buy all drinks from then on.
4. snacks only served at 3pm same chips, dried pizza and quater of a burger in a dried roll, no snacks in the evening.
5. Take care in the pool one of our party caught an ear infection.
6. Entertainment is laughable geared towards the large Italian clientle.
7. The disco is poor, and unless you get togeher will other like minded holiday makers to have a laugh you wont step foot in there.
8. No tea and coffe facilities in the room, if you want them you have to pay 12 euros per week.
9. Beach party cost 10 euros but music is generally european techno, and can be stopped when management feel like it.
10. Gift shops on resort are very expensive and make up their own prices.
11. All trips are expensive, they rip you off because they know youre stuck in the middle of knowhere.
12. Be carefull when paddling in the sea,there are sting rays and snakes, wear footwear.
13. Dont take Egyptian pounds you will be ripped off, they prefer sterling or euros and you can also see what your spending.
14. The rep at resort is useless she is not interested if you have a complaint and will try to deflect everthing.If you have a serious complaint insist on an official complaints form.
15. There is nothing for teens or young adults to do here so bring your ipods or hand held games and a good book, pack of cards.
Overall the holiday was quite a nightmare we lost quite a lot of weight through lack of food, and what we did manage to eat went through us.As previously mentioned all is not well at this hotel but if your lucky like us you may meet some other families who help to make the stay more managable and hopefully have a laugh. I dont want to put people off and i know everyone has different experiences, but just be prepard for food that is very below standard, and to be ripped off left right and centre .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socolalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

My friend and I travelled to the Tulip Resort arriving on April 29th for 1 week. We flew from Manchester on Thomas Cook and cant fault the flight.
On arrival at Marsa Alam you would think that you had literally landed in the desert! the whole place is in the middle of no where!
The transfer was a quick 20 minutes ( through the desert!!!) and we arrived at the hotel to recieve fresh orange juice and a hot towel.
Before I continue it is probably worth mentioning that me and my friend were totally terrified of getting food posioning (after reading the reviews on here) so we went all out to totally avoid ANYTHING that might upset our stomachs! this included anything that might have been washed in the local water, the orange juice as we were told it was made with powder and local water, meat, veg, salad and fruit!!!! i love my food but i lived on pasta for the whole week - pasta, tomatoe sauce and cheese! breakfast was the best and generally the bread was lovely! The food looked OK, nothing flash although as i didnt try any of it i wouldnt like to comment. As far as the upset stomachs went we were fine but as i say we lived on pasta for the ENTIRE week!!!
Regarding the drinks the beer was lovely and the red and white wine very drinkable! other than that we lived on water (from the stations).
One major compliant that we had, as 2 young females is that although we were after a quiet holiday there was very little to do after 11pm and any drinks after this time set you back £5 a glass!!! there was a beach party that we bought tickets for but as they didnt sell enough they cancelled it! other than that there was a disco upstairs in the complex but it was awful and as i said the drinks were stupidly priced!
The hotel itself was fairly clean and the room was cleaned everyday , with clean beach and room towels. The swimming pools were nice and pool area clean and tidy.
Currency - take Euros!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i took american dollars and other than the visa the hotel wont take this currency!!!
A note of warning - if you travel as a young female and paticuarly have blonde hair be prepared to be pestered! I got hasseled all the time and although they werent nasty or creepy it did get on your nerves and it was hard to say no when they asked to keep taking my picture! Even the man at passport control at marsa alam airport tried it on!!!! crazy!
the best part of the holiday was undoubtly the beach and the amazing pier - i walked it at least 3 times a day! the beach was amazing and made the holiday!!
another word of warning is to take loads of factor 20 plus sunream. I am fair but i have never burnt or tanned like i have in marsa alam - that sun is RED hot and we would have run out of cream had it not been cloudy the last 2 days!
in general the hotel was average. There was room for improvement in all areas of the hotel although the staff were very friendly and did try very hard to be polite and offer a good service.
I would travel back to the tulip although i would not pay more than £400 per person for the week. it wouldnt be worth it. as a cheap holiday, for a week in the sun it was fine but if your lookign for action, late nights, trips etc.... you will hate it. AND.....i wouldnt recommend it for more than a week.
things to take......snorkels, euros, hygienic hand wipes, a few snacks or chocolate and anything else that you cant live without! ( There is no shop on site to buy anything so if you forget shampoo, suncream etc.... you,ve had it.
If you have already booked have a lovely holiday and please dont worry too much - the hotel is average and you will enjoy the relaxing week and maybe even go home thinner than you went which is a bonus!

sarah

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahjane323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

we have just returned from tulip resort and what a great week we had very relaxing we thought the hotel was great nice and clean and the rooms was also very good we had a sea / pool veiw and could not fault this lovely hotel in any way the food was very nice exellent choice the drinks too are good the all inclusive is very good value for money the manager and staff are helpfull and polite and the waiters and bar staff cant do enough for you the pool bar is great the bar man is a good laugh and will look after you we came back feeling refreshed and have a nice tan the health club is a must for massage and good value we met some english people in the pool bar who was good company and a good laugh we ate loads of food and had plenty to drink and we wasnt ill in any way although some people say there is a bug at tulip we didnt get it but that can happen where ever you go my overall opinion of this hotel is very good and hope to go back later on in the year

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Having read the reviews, I thought Italian - no problem. What a mistake! My partner is still ill after 5 days. There is a stomach bug going around, so take some hand sanitizer from Boots as a precaution and use your room loo instead of the ones in the hotel itself. Am sure it is not the food, as I ate the same as my fella, and had no problems.
We booked independently and flew with Thomas Cook (no on-board meal, unless you pre-order and pay, and it was awful apparently!). Our return flight was with Monarch, and we were given a meal, although Thomas Cook would have made us pay for it, if we had chosen that option! If you are leaving the resort to go to maybe Luxor or Cairo, you will need a Visa at $15. Otherwise, don’t bother. We got a transfer from the airport, which is modern and close to the resort - just 20 mins transfer and far cheaper than TC, and the rep, Gillian, was rather annoyed with me for doing this. She needs replacing, as she does no justice to the resort or TC. She was apparently insisting on all “her” tourists buying a visa for £13 on the transfer to the Tulip, but some of our group never needed one. Ask her if you need one to go on the snorkelling or dolphin trips. Reception will keep your passport, so you know if you need a visa!
The resort really is in the middle of nowhere, but we already knew that, as we had gone to chill out. There are shops in the hotel for trinkets and the bare necessities, with more of them on the beach for souvenirs.
We were greeted with damp handtowels and a juice on arrival, and were in the room within 10 mins but the TC travellers arrived over an hour later and had to queue to book in. The room was quite adequate, with decent bathroom, a shower head that needed replacing, but no tea or coffee making facilities. The kettle costs an extra £12 per week, and needs to be ordered at the reception.
The food was not good, and rather boring, breakfast being undeniably the best meal of the day. There is a permanent pasta station for lunch and dinner, but it was all cooked in oil, making it very greasy and far too boring. There is a great use of peppers, the fish is imported frozen, and the desserts run to a maximum of 8 to choose from. There is also little fruit on offer. Considering where it is, apples, oranges, green bananas and some hard, green peaches is a little poor. I would suggest the breakfast egg station be on for all the other meals too. The English really are not catered for, but I would love to have the opportunity of being able to give them some ideas of what we do like!
The beach is shallow for quite a long way out, and subject to loads of jellyfish, but once the tide has gone out, it is warm and you can explore on foot, but difficult to swim unless you are 3 foot tall. Wear something on your feet, as we saw a few people with foot injuries due to the urchins which are hidden under the sand. The walkway to the coral reef is a good 15 minutes, but there are about 6 sunbeds there and the snorkelling is great. It would be a idea if they could put up a board showing the common species seen there, but there is a leaflet in one of the hotel shops giving this info, if you are interested, as we were.
We met a fantastic group of English people (some of who were staying on after us), hi to you all, you know who you are - and we met at the swimming pool bar. The barman, Sayed, was brilliant, remembers your name, and ensured we were never without company. My advice for your first day would be to head to this bar to meet with the few English staying there. You will at least have some more company, and they have more than likely been there for a week anyway and can give you the necessary info on the resort. All the spirits smell toxic and very similar. Sayed knows what “shandy” is, and the lager, Luxor, is ok. Wine is included in the all inclusive and you have to sign a bar tab every time you get a drink from a bar, but not at meal times.
I had a Cleopatra body wrap and massage at the Spa there as a gift from my partner, and is negotiable on price, and aimed to help you tan, so try and get one on your first day. They want charge €57, try to haggle - it seems cheaper when the reps come around in the afternoon. English is not well spoken at the resort, so try and take a friend, as it will be cheaper. After it, they will try and get you to take more massages, so be warned.
One of our group got the rep to organise a trip to El Quasir costing £18 each and it shows the real area. Don’t go. It’s as I imagine Beirut to be, but on a very bad day. Would have liked to try somewhere else, like Marsa Alam itself, but we were told that the shop keepers there swarm all over tourists, but that’s exactly what happened on our trip to El Quasir. We took the shuttle bus to Port Ghallib, which runs at 11am and 6pm every day costing €5 each and returns two hours later. The driver acted as our tour guide, and is lovely. The place is very new and devoid of life. There is a TFI Friday, Pizza Hut, Costa Coffee, trinket shops and a security guy every 20 metres. The bank had no cash in their ATM, but neither did the hotel’s ATM. Take Euros, as they are not interested in their own currency and Sterling make the price go through the roof as soon as you mention it.
The pools are cold, but who cares when its hot? They still need some work on the missing tiles. You get a card per person for beach towels, which you can replace daily.
The airport has ciggies at $17 a sleeve at the airport, with loads of brands to choose from, and the booze is relatively cheap if you are after vodka, gin or whiskey. Liquors are more expensive than at home. No, we wouldn’t go back to this hotel, as the Radisson at Taba put it to shame (see my other reviews) , but hope to meet up with everyone we met there again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anouke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
6.9 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
40.8 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#16 of 68 in Marsa Alam
512 reviews
12.3 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#22 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,253 reviews
4.2 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
8.4 mi away
The Three Corners Equinox Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Tulip Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Tulip Beach Resort

Address: 17th km South Marsa Alam Airport, Marsa Alam +12345, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#32 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: £38 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magic Tulip Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic Tulip is perfectly placed to allow you to explore Marsa Alam's pure waters and coral reefs, Magic Tulip Beach Resort is surrounding with the rich and beautiful natural mountains, colours of the sea, and the mysterious untouched reefs and marine which guarantee an unforgettable holiday. You can enjoy the warmth of the sun and explore the Red Sea's coral reefs during a snorkelling trip through our in house Diving center or play a game of tennis. You can also work out in the gym and the animation team will entertain you day and night. Hotel facilities, including one main restaurant serves open buffet-style meals and Beach Restaurant serves Sandwiches and pizza at Lunch, English Terrace, nightclub pub, large swimming pool (heated during winter season) with pool bar and a Health Club, 24-hour information desk and a resident in-house doctor is permanently on call. You can enjoy a romantic candlelight dinner at our Beach restaurant "A la cart" mixed with the sea breeze and moonlight. (Booking is kindly requested against surcharge). All rooms at Magic Tulip resort including a balcony with views of the Red Sea come equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, safe box and cable LCD TV, Each room has a modern bathroom with a hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Tulip Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Hotel Marsa Alam
Tulip Resort Marsa Alam
Tulip Resort Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing