We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brayka Bay Reef Resort Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brayka Bay Reef Resort Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Brayka Bay Reef Resort end October 2011. The staff (as we have found with all the Egyptian hotels in which we have stayed) are exeptionally helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The beach is very good and there are plenty of beds, but I would agree with other Reviews, in that, they are reserved by towels very early in the morning. Similar with the beds around the pool area. There is, of course, little that staff can do in this situation.

The hotel does look a little 'tired'. The bedrooms (we changed rooms to a higher level) had missing grouting, curtains loose, walls marked here and there - all minor things, but lending to a 'scruffier' impression. This is very unusual for Egypt. All the other hotels we have stayed in have been absolutely immaculate. It,obviously, would not be difficult to rectify.

The above are minor issues, but we were disappointed with the standard of food provided under the All Inclusive package. There was a large salad bar, and pasta counter, but the rest of the food available was very basic and of poor quality. We stayed for two weeks and the main courses consisted of casseroles, mainly vegetables (courgettes/tomatoes/carrotts) with odd pieces of chicken (effectively, a cheap stew!!!). .Variations on this were served each evening. On several evenings unless one wanted pasta/salad, there was nothing else on offer that was edible.

The evening entertainment was poor (we are aware that all hotels offer the warning that entertainment will be 'low key Egyptian'). It consisted of a male singer (occasionally two, one after the other), playing a guitar and using backing tapes. Although both seemed very nice, the choice of songs was archaic, to say the least!

As has been mentioned in other Reviews, a sister hotel is being built of the other side of the bay and if guests at this hotel use Brakya Bay and beach (and sunbeds etc), then it will be impossibly crowded. I would hope that they would use the bay at the other side of the hotel under construction.

Although there are negatives in this comment, we did like the Brakya Bay Reef Resort and the staff were excellent: the cosmetic changes necessary are down to poor management/housekeeping are easily rectified. However, I would suspect that most people on holiday look forward to a good standard and selection of food - this is where the Brakya Bay (in our opinion) needs to made drastic improvements.

Positive points: we have been to Egypt on five occasions and the Brayka Bay has the easiest access into the sea (i.e., straight in off the beach) and is suitable for even the most inexperienced of snorkellers. The range of fish that can be seen in even the shallowest of waters is amazing. Each time we snorkelled we saw fish we had not seen previously: the varieties are absolutely amazing. Our main reason for holidaying in Egypt is for the snorkelling and we were very pleased with this aspect of the Brakya Bay.

The Brakya Bay Reef Resort has excellent staffing, a beautiful location - its own private beach with amazing snorkelling facilities.The cosmetic improvements are simple to solve, but the one serious flaw is the very poor quality of food offered to visitors. If this were radically improved, then it would make a massive difference and encourage visitors to return and to recommend it to others.. The 'star' rating we have given overall (three star) is based primarily on the quality of the food offered.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    710
    204
    48
    34
See reviews for
712
649
81
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel says it's 4* but truthfully it is at best 3*+. But don't let this put you off if you're happy to overlook the awful finishes internally in favour of what lies just off shore. We rate the cleanliness down since it's very hard to overlook bad finishes all round to see if the place really is clean. Truthfully they are very quick to repair faulty fittings such as wall lights hanging off the walls showing wires which constantly blew the light bulbs. If things were done properly in the first place blah blah blah. The surface around the pool was badly finished and very slippery so care needs to be taken. There was a significant amount of mould around the edge of the pool too which we felt was the cause of our upset tummies since this is the first time in years that we have been ill in Egypt. We felt more sick at the prices the doctor charged in his clinic for the tablets needed to clear this up
He sold you enough of 1 tablet to last the required number of days but not enough of the other, forcing you to go back for more. All at inflated prices. The food was pretty good compared to some hotels we have stayed at in Egypt but of course you can't please everyone all the time. But the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful at all times and being disabled they couldn't do enough to help. But let's face it most of us go to Egypt for the snorkelling and scuba diving and here the reefs are excellent. We regularly saw turtles which were so friendly and wonderful to watch. We were also lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time to engage with a very friendly dolphin. The sheer number and size of some species is remarkable i.e lion fish, surgeon fish andand unicorn fish. What a sight!! So if you go to Brayka Bay don't expect too much of the rooms and buildings but you must must must get your mask and snorkel on and take a look at the best sights and colours beneath you in the sea.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nessa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

In many ways this is a great hotel, lovely gardens, nice beach and very good staff, keen to help and very smiley. The food was good better than some more expensive hotels and varied and fresh. This represented good value. The rooms were bright and light although we asked to be moved from the back to nearer the beach. No trouble. Downside is the place is huge and must be a nightmare at full capacity.( I have just returned and it was approx 40%) It has little connection with real Egypt and can be frankly a bit dull.( We were due to stay a week having spent previous week in Luxor but reduced it to 5 days and went back to Luxor.) Some details could be better, communal areas lack atmosphere and the rooms need redecorating. However it is fun for families and good value.

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if you are stuck at the back your sea view comes with views of blocks of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pondcreeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Bohinj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

i was in this hotel 2 days ago...and it was amazing...everything was good....people was really nice and the beach was really great and it was clean everything :)
the food was good just maybe meat had a little too much spice but other food was good :)
you must go to Luxor beacuse is really beautiful but you must know that is 6 hour driving to one direction so it's a little difficult to go but it's amazing :)
so people who don't like this hotel are.....IDIOTS!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Location is at northeast direction to the coast and then it is the most northern of the two bays close to each other. ( where there is a text on the road/map)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ties M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We loved this hotel: the most friendly and helpful staff we have come across in Egypt (reception, restaurant, gardeners, housekeeping - you name it, they were great). The grounds are immaculate and the beach is amazing. We were here on a diving holiday and Extra Divers were superb - huge variety, really well organised and again really amazing staff. If you get tired of the buffet (food is standard AI fayre) then there is a good Italian restaurant on site where you can buy dinner at very reasonable rate and still have all the AI drinks which is best of both. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AChandler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Arrived here for 1 week on the 5th October and so glad we weren't staying for longer. We have done all inclusive before and have always had a choice of restaurants eg: you could swap the main dining for the a la carte restaurant without any extra charge about twice a week. This hotel had 1 Italian restaurant which, if you booked the day before, was 50% off, the other two restaurants you had to pay full price for and were very expensive. We did eat in the Italian restaurant one evening and the Pizza was OK and cost us 12 Euros with the 50% discount. The main restaurant (canteen) was awful, people were queuing up even before it opened and it was like a rugby scrum with everybody pushing and shoving to get to the food first. The area where the food was laid out was not large enough considering how many people were staying in this large hotel. The food was very bland, with not much choice and cold most of the time, and when you go on holiday this should be an enjoyable experience not a chore, in fact we used to dread meal times. Needless to say the staff were fantastic and worked really hard, but unfortunately as soon as you had finished eating your plates etc they were whisked away.
Sunbeds...you will get a bed on the beach if you get up about 4.30am but be warned as there are people already sitting on them waiting for the sun to rise. It's not quite as bad around the pool but you need to put your towel there before 7.00 to get a decent spot. Also if you don't like loud music then do not sit near the swim up bar as the Going reps do the daily aerobics class.
The beach...we have been to much nicer beaches and certainly wouldn't call it stunning but the sea is lovely and warm and the fish are beautiful. The size of the beach area in the bay must exceed 1/4 of a mile, however only 110 yards of actual swimming - or access to the water was available. There is a beach bar but nowhere to get a snack, so lunchtime you have to trek back to the canteen for lunch. One major irritation here is the abundance of flies - they are everywhere. Also the place is awash with mossies...my partner has never been bitten before - even in the rain forest in Mexico - but this time was covered in bites. In the time we were there we didn't see the mossie man spray anywhere in the hotel grounds.
Italians...lots of them, noisy, rude, loud and everything is geared to keeping them happy and entertained. The Going reps were all Italian and didn't include other nationalities (they had yellow bands, everyone else had blue) in their games, so once again they played games on the beach which consisted of lots of shouting, so therefore do not go to this place if you want a nice quiet beach.
Evenings were OK - there was a resident singer who was in the De Marco restaurant each evening from 8.00 and people got up and danced, but everything finished about 11.00 - so no noisy evenings.
The room was very nice and had a view towards the beach and pool area. It was a fairly large room with plenty of wardrobe space etc and very clean. The gardens were beautiful and very well tended and the staff were superb, such a shame that it was mainly geared up for the Italians.
Overall the holiday was OK and the reason I have rated it as poor is because of the awful restaurant and not having another place to eat in unless you wanted to pay extra - also the lack of a snack bar on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pammy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
9.8 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
29.5 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
29.0 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
23.3 mi away
Three Corners Fayrouz Plaza Beach Resort
12.4 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brayka Bay Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brayka Bay Reef Resort

Property: Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Address: 17 Km North of Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam 11311, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brayka Bay Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brayka Bay Resort caters for couples looking for a romantic holiday, individuals seeking a peaceful break or divers who want to focus on their favorite sport. 320 spacious and elegant rooms giving breathtaking views on the sea or the lush and tropical gardens. Soft lounge music will make you forget about the hustle and bustle of daily life. The exquisite wellbeing center offering relaxing massages and other rejuvenating treatments is the ideal place to unwind and distress. Divers take advantage of the on-site dive center that is offering courses and open water dives for professionals as well as less experienced divers. The extensive house reef will fascinate divers and snorkelers with its diversity of fishes, corals and other underwater world creatures. An easy access into the sea directly from the shore is an added value for unpracticed swimmers. Brayka Bay is one of the three resorts of Brayka Resorts Complex that is offering a new and unique holiday experience. Brayka Resorts are much more than just hotels, they are a destination within a destination where relaxation meets family time along with fun and party with friends. Beautifully nestled in the stunning bay Brayka, they range over 1.3 km of coast line offering sandy beaches, tropical gardens, excellent leisure facilities and two stunning outer coral reefs that are home to an incredible diversity of marine life. Build up your holiday. Choose whether just to relax and delight in the best conditions of privacy and tranquility, or meet new people and unwind after accumulated stress, or take fun all day long and party. Meanwhile, you are invited to enjoy wide range of dining and recreational facilities in the entire Brayka Resorts Complex. One week will never be enough to try out all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brayka Bay Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brayka Bay Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Brayka Bay Reef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing