We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Bay Resort(Marsa Alam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abo Nawas Resort(Marsa Alam)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Oasis(Marsa Alam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Elphistone Resort(Marsa Alam)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,341)
Filter reviews
1,341 results
Traveller rating
685
489
121
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
489
121
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsextra diversfishanimation teamadventure safariwellness centreswim with dolphinsbeach barrelaxing holidaymain restaurantdiving schoola ground floor roomshallow waternice resortsea cowtable tennisan amazing holidayon a daily basis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 1,341 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We've just returned from an excellent holiday at Brayka Bay. We travelled with Thomson. Marsa Alam airport is new, clean and very efficient. Visas were obtained quickly and easily for £13, organised by Thomson's agents. The flights were on time and transfers were comfortable and easy. The hotel itself is huge but immaculately presented. Our room was comfortable, with efficient air-con and fresh bottled water every day. The staff were without fail friendly, courteous, good-humoured and efficient. Standards of cleanliness were high, with our room well serviced every day, food cleared quickly from the eating areas and the grounds immaculate. Food in the all-inclusive restaurant was consistently excellent. Although the catering was for large numbers the food was fresh, tasty and generously available. The evening barbeques were particularly good. Don't expect celebrity-chef gourmet food, just good, solid fare with plenty of variety and styles. The restaurant style and furnishing is not really up to modern 5-star standard but it's more than compensated for by the lovely poolside setting. The only slight niggle for non-smokers is that smoking is permitted in eating areas, even indoors, but we always found there was plenty of space and fresh air to find a clear spot. The grounds are wonderful - lush lawns, hundreds of palm trees and flowers and shrubs everywhere. For us, the hotel's high spot was its beachside setting and coral reef. The hotel is set on a C-shaped bay, with a sandy beach at the centre and coral reefs extending out to sea along each side. You wade in from the beach then within a few yards are at the reef. The corals and fish were incredible - certainly the best we've seen on a resort beach. It would be a safe place for novice snorkellers to learn. You can see fish in water just knee-deep and gradually venture further into the sheltered bay as your confidence grows. The sun loungers and parasols are well-spaced, although once the huge new extension to the hotel is complete (planned for spring 2010) the beach will become very crowded if the resort ever comes close to full occupancy. The common currency in the hotel is Euros. We changed £Sterling to £Egyptian in the UK and wished we hadn't bothered. £Egyptian are accepted but most things are priced in Euros and the exchange rate is poor. If you intend to stay in the hotel, and maybe just take a few organised excursions, then consider just taking a credit card and Euros. That's what we'd do next time. The hotel is completely self-contained and there is nothing outside except sand. There are plenty of organised excursions. We went on the Hamada Islands boat trip and it was excellent, with friendly, knowledgeable guides who accompanied the snorkelling swims, along with a safety boat. Nightlife is very low key - just a short variety show mid-evening. Overall a very relaxing, stress-free and easy holiday with great snorkelling and very good service from both Thomson and the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holidaymaker033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We have just returned from Brayka Bay and this is an honest oppinion about the resort. The resort itself is beautiful, the pool area is nice and the beach although a little cluttered is great. My partner went snorkelling which he said was amazing so big thumbs up here. The rooms are basic but very clean- no probs here, the service at the restaurant is good, the chefs are hilarious but meal times I must say are hectic. The hotel holds 1200 people, there were 700 when we were there which was enough to cope with with people pushing in and barging past you - be wise with the times that you go for dinner. The food is excellent - you cant possibly get bored of it - we have returned with dodgy - very dodgy tummys though so again be careful. The bar area is a little shabby but again ok, it is looking a little tired though. The hotel is full of Italians with attitude -try and smile at them and they growl back! |The gym is great - we went 3 times in the week - it looks over the beach and pool area - great to get you motivated! All in all though we would recommend this hotel but wouldnt go back - beware of the tummy bug - I've had it for the last 5 days and its not eased up even slightly!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nantwich01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My husband and I have just, this morning, returned from a week at Brayka Bay. We read previous reviews and emailed a couple of previous reviewers and went, pretty sure that it was going to be good. Brayka Bay was everything we expected and a little more. The resort, staff, snorkelling and service could not be faulted. Of all the resorts we saw from the airport to Brayka Bay, I would say we chose the best one. I will add that when the rest of the new developement is finnished, it may not be so good, as will the whole resort of Marsa Alam as from what we saw, there is going to be a lot more hotels built. So my advise to anyone going soon, is enjoy it while you can.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrs_roly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Just returned from a fantastic week at Brayka Bay.

Flights and Transfers
Flights with Thomson went well; we landed, got to the coach and were greeted by a Portland/Thomson/First Choice rep. Transfer to the hotel took roughly 1 hour. On the coach we paid a £15 Visa fee per person. We paid this in Egyptian £ but we could also have paid in Euros or most likely English pounds too.

Check in and Room
Check in was quick, they had already allocated our rooms and our baggage was taken to our rooms for us. Our room was in a semi-detached bungalow with private bathroom. We didn’t have a sea view and were at first disappointed but then realised it was in a good location, no steps to climb and also quiet and peaceful. There was air conditioning which came with a recommendation to have it on 25 degrees centigrade. We at first found this too hot but we persevered and by the time we’d come back from dinner (on till 10pm I believe) we found we’d acclimatised and this was the perfect temperature. We left it on this setting the rest of the time and it was fine.

Food
The food was good, we didn’t get ill. Everyday you get 2 x1.5 litre bottled waters in your fridge. If you don’t drink them they won’t replace them. If you needed a top up there were dispensers from bottled water around the hotel. Breakfast was a selection of pancakes, omelettes and fried eggs being cooked in front of you to order. There were some hot foods which I didn’t really eat (being quite content with eating lots of pancakes). There was toast, pineapple and orange juice and sometimes Hibiscus juice (a local speciality). Fruit and yoghurts and the usual selection of cakes.
Lunch and dinner were similar always having the fresh pasta option but dinner had the additional benefit of fresh cooking outside on the grills. While we were there (a week) we had many different meats and some local delicacies which we always tried and found that they tended to be the best options always being really hot and fresh. I’ve been to one other hotel in Sharm El Sheikh and Brayka Bay was miles better.

The Beach

The beach was big and beautiful. The sea was lovely and warm and the reefs were teeming with gorgeous fish. Possibly not as good as in Sharm but still great. I did see a sea snake which have since found out was most likely poisonous but I was fine, thank goodness. I liked that you could walk straight into the sea without usin a Jetty to see the fish. It was also very shallow for a large proportion of it which was good for playing games in and also for children.
The pool bar served cocktails, fruit juices, coke (proper coke and coke zero from bottles) and popcorn (2 for 1Euro). If you asked, you sometimes got crisps but they ran out of these fairly often. One day we left our snorkels by accident at the beach. Remembering at midnight we trekked down to the beach to find them gone. We were so upset but on returning in the morning the nice towel boys had found them and hung them safely inside the towel hut. Never had a problem finding a sun lounger at any time of the day.

Entertainment
The Italian entertainment team provided nightly shows and were absolutely hilarious. We went to all of them in the week there and laughed at all their funny sketches. They were humour without words so all nationalities could understand. We enjoyed getting drinks from the pool bar and walking over to the open air theatre to watch.

The All inclusive

Covered pretty much everything bar massages, shisha (1.5 euros), popcorn and internet (5Euro an hour).

Right well I think that’s it, all in all exactly what we were after. A relaxing beach holiday, in the sun, on a budget. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We didn’t get ill and we didn’t think the hotel was too busy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lufbra_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

went early april, we were in rooms 3204/3205 they were good rooms with nice view of the pool and beach, rooms were clean and large with a walk in shower, ac, tv and fridge which had 2 large waters left in each day, had clean towels and sheets each day with bed art each day! food was excellent with a wide choice i.e. soup salads meats pasta rice and barbeque outside, the food looked lovely and tasted good to. drinks were local beer, wine, water and branded pop also tea coffe. the grounds are lovely but you cant sit on the grass as they spray it with bug reppellent to keep the bugs at bay which worked as ther wer'nt many flys. the grounds had many flowers and cranes wandering about. the beach is good ,one busy one and one quiet one, to get in the sea you have to enter from the busy larger beach as there is a coral reef which you cant walk on, the reef is very good with many fish stingrays and even a turtle and the coral is colorful. the entertaint is good but a little strange which in a stange way makes it good. the spa is good but do haggle as you get it a bit cheaper. the gyms ok with views over the pool. staff are very good and friendly. the pool chap is very friendly and helpful.
regarding tips i tipped the room man 70 ep each week the pool man 5/10 ep each day and the waiter at the bar in tiffanys 5/10 a night but you dont have to. the rep was very good her name was gillian from thomas cook. went on 3 trips luxor 2 day with ballon very good but long journey 6 hrs, turtle/seacow trip good but would have liked more time, and dolphin trip which is good as you swim with dolphins which we did but you may not see them we were lucky. all in all a very good hotel and holiday

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bolsoverderbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews