We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utopia by name - Utopia it is not!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Utopia Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Utopia Beach Club
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Utopia by name - Utopia it is not!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

This is a nice location with good beach, excellent weather let down badly by the food, the ice cream police, the shabby rooms, broken fittings, silly rules, noisy staff, dirty pools, electric cables hanging in the pool, dingy towels, slides out of order, liver for lunch most days. Limited wine even at advertised "allowed" periods, despite being supposedly all inclusive! Coffee/tea at any time other than meal times is extra. As a single person, I went to queue for wine in the dining room (no waiters!), only to find my meal removed when I returned.

Unpleasant odour in the evenings as the gardeners use toilet waste on the gardens. Lots of flies and mosquitos. Staff held shouted conversations from one side of the site to the other, regardless or inspite of the sleeping guests around the pools.

If another member of staff asked where I was from I swear I would scream. Only one blanket on the bed and no spare in the wardrobe. Even at Egyptian 3 stars this hotel is well over rated. When I tried to leave to site in a local taxi, it took 20 minutes of heated negotiations to get outside the gate, eventually I got out of the car and physically removed myself from the premises with my hands up daring the police guard to shoot me. It is more like a prison than a hotel. Local taxi charged LE60 to go to El Quseir, and back, hotel car (described as a limosine hoho) LE200. I need a holiday to recover from this holiday! Be warned, go elsewhere. In fact go to Magic Life Hotel up the coast a bit near Safaga, and experience how an all inclusive package trip can really be!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anotherblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    301
    149
    87
    46
See reviews for
177
317
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
leighton buzzard
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

We have just come back from 11 nights at this hotel. It was the best holiday ever!
The room was basic but clean and suitable for what we needed.
There was a good range of food for breakfast and dinner.
The staff were helpful friendly and generally pleasant. They went out of their way to be nice and greet you and i can honestly say that it was one of the bonuses of the holiday. The staff made a huge fuss of my 3 year old daughter.
The entertainment was good with childrens club and mini disco every day and a different show most nights. The entertainment staff were again helpful and friendly and there was lots to do all the time.
The complex was clean and tidy and we were impressed as to how often it was cleaned throughout the day.
The hotel was great for children with a variety of water slides and parks around.
There was a good range of shops restaurants and bars.
The dive centre was on site with lots of trips diving everyday.
The beach and sea were fantastic, definately recommend if you want to go snorkelling.
The entire holiday was fantastic and would definately go again!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, food and great facilities!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carty_punter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

We booked this hotel because we were on a budget and having said that, you do get what you pay for. We paid about £350 per person for 1 week all inclusive. (I wouldnt have paid more for it having now been)

We arrived - all fine, room basic, and air con worked (Thank god) Biggest problem was the food. This has to be the first holiday I have been on and ended up loosing weight and not putting it on. Be careful when choosing your food as some things arent cooked properly and nothing is piping hot. Breakfast is fine, make sure you get plenty bottles of water as the pool bar doesnt open until after 11am, so if your an early riser you will need to be prepared!!!

The other problem was the towel boys at the pool. They do come across rude and you can be standing around waiting whilst they speak amongst each other. (They never crack a smile, so dont bother trying - they were the most miserable people at the hotel!!)

On to the good things. Great country, great weather. The entertainment staff are wonderfull. They put in so much effort and love the english. Although a lot of what they put together is aimed towards the Germans, they work long hours and will always come and talk and make the effort. The bar staff near the entertainment stage are brilliant. Very friendly and quick.

The hotel is vey quite, and in the middle of now where which for me was perfect, however if your looking for a more lively hotel / resort this may not be for you.

Dont pay over the odds for this hotel. If you are looking for a budget holiday this could be perfect. (Try www.otbeach.com)

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JessandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

just got back spet 10 , hotel is in the middle of nowhere but enjoyed the peace , we stay in the utopia beach part of the complex on the thrid floor, over looking the pool plus the sea. the room was always clean and tidy so hotel staff do put the effort in to help to make the stay enjoyable. the biggest problem we had was with the food it was ever hot or nice , pasta , rice and boiled eggs is your cup of tea , then enjoy the as much as you can eat because what you did not eat the night before you can eat it for lunch the next day , pizza this the hotels great filler so every lunch you can have thin or thick base pizza , joy of joys ?? we did play spot the fruit each day ie,apple orange etc , we are still looking. the good thing you drink all the pop in the world , plus water. it is cheap to book this hotel over the internet , we should not complain but every day stomach problems so stay close to toilet. also TO ALL DIVERS WHO BOOK THE DIVE SCHOOL, it is very expensive we paid 435 euros for 12 dives if you do dive ask for sameh , ali, hanoon, as dive guides because they know the housereef and were everything is , do not go the german guides because they take on short dives and show rubbish , we did two night dive with sameh and he was great in showing us spainsh dancers plus many other thing , we call the german team lazy divers , we always seen bad practices in the safety of divers ie unguided we stopped one diver with his tank on back to front and regs upside down, plus nitrox this free , the amount of divers without nitrox computers allowed to dive we lost count after 40 and no computer so be care full ??? would i go back to this hotel NO NO NO eygpt YES YES YES

  • Liked — the sunshine every day
  • Disliked — food food food
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

We stayed in Utopia for a week in August. I was pleasantly surprised beacuse I read some reviews which were not so good. The hotel was nice and clean and staff were helpful. We were even considering extending our holiday for another week. The food was not terrible, but I could do with more choice and variety in different restaurants. Night entertainment could have been better, there was not much for the English people, there were many Italians and Germans. We went to see the fakir show one night, which was good and entertaining, but that was about it as far as I know. But to be honest after "exhausting" day in the sun we didn't mind enjoying just a quite drink and shisa with friends :o)
Overall it was good, as I mentioned people were very friendly and helpful (of course there were some exceptions, but that's everywhere). We made some good friends with the locals and it made us feel very welcomed. Overall I would rate this holiday 4 out of 5. It is really in the middle of nowhere, but there's plently to do during the day, trips and excursions - def try desert safari or a snorkling boat trip. Unfortunately we did not get to see the turtles ;(because we picked the wrong trip, so if you do decide to give it a try, go to Abu Dhaba where you are guaranteed to see turtles and dolphins! (We found out too late..) And if I could choose again, I would def go diving. Enjoy your holiday and do not worry, the holiday is what you make of it, so you can have the best time in Utopia!

  • Liked — Huge bed!!!
  • Disliked — shower not powerfull enough
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StaniSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

when we went our cases was lost but in a matter of 4 days we got them back and that was because we made shor our rep knew what was happining but overall it was graet.
the problems: the food was not hygenic its tastes nice but you an upset tummy, lots of flies, lousy staff: you could ask 10times they wouldnt help you, utopia simple rooms not good the tolets are not hygeinic, el quesser is not wow its no good,pushy people allways wanting to sell you somthng.
good points:the entainment is very funny must watch,sports at the beach is good fun,peacefull this is place to be, you can jump in pools, the beach water is so clear and the beach is amazing(you to go to abu d'bab it has the sea cow and lods of turtles + beach is so soft)shopping in hotel is good, you can use all the hotels factities in the resort,
overall it was good

  • Liked — its bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank x_mariya_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Utopia Beach Club, all i can say it has many problems that need addressing !
First of all, the Rep !!! Oh dear, a very nice man indeed however his welcome meeting needs to be revised, my girlfriend came out of the welcome meeting petrified, as all he talked about was the dangers of staying in this hotel !!!! They included, recent sexual assault cases, the paracites that you need to be aware of and a dodgy doctor ! Wasn't a good start ! Nasser is also very vague when it comes to the trips you can book through him ! We booked a boat trip, all i can say is what a joke ! It cost £100 (for 2), we spent more time on a coach than on a boat, we were told by Nasser we would be picked up from our hotel at 6am and then taken to the boat, well, they eventually picked us up at 6.50am and then proceeded to the boat trip ! Little had he told us it was 280km away ! This was not mentioned anywhere while booking, although he did say we'd be back at the hotel by 4pm, we actually got back at 9.15pm, having missed the evening buffet ! All in all, an absolute waste of money, beware of the Hamata boat trip, the trip itself is great, just a shame it's a 3 hour coach trip away, then another 3 hours back !
The hotel has recently under gone a revamp, so is of a good standard, although we booked this as a 4 star hotel, which it clearly is NOT !
The food is mostly ok, not a great deal to choose from at night, however the had just opened another restaurant the day before we left, which was much more promising. My girlfriend is still having stomach pains and we've now been back a week ! General cleanliness is not high on the list of priorities at this hotel, the glasses are just rinsed under the tap, and thats them washed apparently ! Same with the plates etc etc......
Also don't go to see the hotel doctor ! He is a rip off merchant ! We met a couple who visited him to treat a couple of mozzie bits ! He tried to charge them 350 euros for the pleasure, he made a load of treatment up which he pressured them to sign to agree he had done, altough all he actually did was rub some cream on them ! All he wants to do is claim off insurance companies so please beware !!!!
The evening entertainment was next to none, although they did seem to look after the kids well ! Beer is served by the glass, which is fine, but the bottle they serve it from seems to be just on the side so the contents was inevitably warm !
Certainly won't be going back to the Utopia, and i wouldn't recommend it to anyone either !

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — Cleanliness / hygiene
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsa Alam
0.1 mi away
Pensee Royal Garden
Pensee Royal Garden
#8 of 11 in El Quseir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam
#31 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
27.3 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.4 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
2.8 mi away
Hotel Onatti Beach Resort
Hotel Onatti Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in El Quseir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
43.8 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Beach Club

Property: Utopia Beach Club
Address: 20 km south of El Quseir, Marsa Alam 84733, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Utopia Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Utopia Beach Club is a family managed Beach Resort. A natural paradise for divers, snorkelers and sun lovers. Located on one of the most breathtaking shores of the South Red Sea, Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utopia Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Beach Club Hotel Marsa Alam
Utopia Beach Hotel
Hotel Utopia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing