We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
377
359
87
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
359
87
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral gardens diving center two weeks fish air conditioning smattering germans dive reef pros cons sea visibility luxury bay waiters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It's very nice , primitive full of adventure riding camel , divining also you can fishing near the location

No tv , you can enjoy the tent and chalets you can also take divining courses in case you don't know
The place and the people are very nice it's far away from the capital cairo by around 900KM

three hours a north you can enjoy many places like shel Hashiesh , hurghada and soma pay

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Hakiem007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I'm going to Lahami resort since 2001 (not every year but often). Usually I stay one week between may and july. Despite of being so jelous of such an astonishing place that I'd love to enjoy without sharing with anyone else, I can not refrain from expressing my highest consideration for this unique place on the whole red sea. Enchanting location, very nice resort, high profile team, excellent cuisine, fantastic diving center.. what else?

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voxdei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

We have been to Egypt at least 15 times each and this trip was by far the most expensive & the worst. Nobody has mentioned on Trip Advisor that you can only buy drinks in the hotel and a lovely freshly squeezed orange juice costs £3.50, a can of coke is £2.50 (the price is the same on the dive boat), five times the normal amount of the rest of Egypt, but first you must find somewhere to buy your drink, whilst we were there the poolside bar was shut, as was the swimup bar, and the ice cream parlour, and other places, in their place there was boards behind which the sound of powertools went on during the day.

The internet computer in reception did not work when we tried to use it, the cafe/bar on the beach was very nice, and a slightly cheaper option of lunch rather than the £15.00 buffet lunch as we were only half board. Breakfasts and dinners were quite good and there was some things for vegetarians. Towels are given to you by the pool, once they have your money they are not interested in whether you enjoy yourself or not, unless you are paying more, one Divemaster went around the boat asking passengers for a tip! I think that because there are not so many people visiting now they feel they have to get as much out of their guests as they can, even tried overcharging on the final bill. As usual though the Egyptian divemasters were fantastic & did try to make people happy.
All in all this could have been a good holiday if the hotel was fully open without the building work, and the if the dive team cared a bit more about giving their customers service for their money.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Nada S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

From leaving the house door, changing transportation, flying Niki ( excellent) from Vienna and after the two hours bus drive, 20 hours after, almost sleepless, we arrived at the Lahami Bay resort, in the middle of desert nowhere.. We have booked the more expensive sea view room.The room which has been assigned to us was one of the rooms at the far right end (south) of the resort, almost the last in the row. We did not want to put our baggage in the room, calculating that, to reach the far left side of the resort, we would have to walk about 15 minutes one way with all our underwater equipment, including the photo gear, which is a delicate thing in all that heat. It would have been a 1 hour walk for going two times a day to the reefs.So, we have spent all of the afternoon, in long trousers and shirts, waiting and talking to the reception,walking around the resort, trying to change the room for the one on the far left side of the resort, from where there were only a few minutes to the reefs.Since the resort was only 30% full, we have thought it would be easy. It turned out that the for same type of the rooms on the far left we would have to upgrade for 30 euros a day of more money.Our Neckermann reservation surely did not mention that in any way and Neckermann did not specify that there is any difference between the sea view rooms..Since we had already the all inclusive sea view room, we ,on principle, decided not to climb that ladder of constant upgrading, the price would have been the same as we went instead to the Maldives, which was a nonsense for us. So we voluntarily downgraded ourselves to the standard room, which was very near to the far left side of the resort, and so lost about 400 euros of our package. But it turned out to be the right decision, being much nearer to the reef and not risking the heat stroke while walking to the previous assigned far right end.
The resort complex is two floor, spacious, and when not full, a nice place. It is much smaller than the normal red sea resorts, so it has not a factory feel.
Anyway, we went there for the snorkeling, free diving, underwater photography, as always, so we have put aside all the nonsense witnessed.. We spent around 4 hours a day for the next 14 days snorkeling and free diving, taking photos.
The Lahami bay resort reef is not the classical, by the beach Red sea reef in north-south direction. It is a fantastic system of reefs, islands and pinnacles, stretching all around.There is always some part protected from the north wind. The visibility was ranging from lousy 2 metres to fantastic 40 metres, all depending on the sand winds and currents. We stayed 14 days, which is a must in this conditions, if one wants to explore the most of the reefs.
The currents for the good swimmer are nothing to worry about, but beware, the one way swim to the first pinnacle after the banana reef is one hour one way and on hour and half back, because of the currents.
The reef system is fantastic, the corals are a beautiful mix of all the Red sea reefs we have been , from Ras Nusrani (Sensatori Sharm), Jackson reef, Ras Mohammad and Gorgonia reef resort. It should be declared a National Park. One of the best beach entry reefs in the world. The coral is absolutely healthy, all kinds of it. The fish life is good, with some species we have not seen elsewhere in our decades long reef hunts around the world and there are some fish we have not found in any book or on the net. So, maybe we can name them!?
So, turtles 5 to 7, different, shark,arab angel,napoleons (4) ,spadefishes, pipe fishes, albino surgeonfish!, and all the rest...
The food was good, thanks to Matteo, the Italian chef. Also the sweets were surprising, not some colored pastry as elsewhere, even in the Maldives, but butter, cream and real dark chocolate! Thanks to Ahmad Ahmer, the sweets chef!
Anyway, if you are the reef and fish lover, go !
Take a standard room and if you do not like it , upgrade on the spot, much cheaper.
By the way, the postcards (not cheap), posted in the hotel, never arrived.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank pathfinder_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Air conditioning effective but noisy. Great food, great pool and natural environment.
We was there during Ramadan, Egyptian staff was something brusque, but in general welcoming. Italian tour operator staff (Turisanda) was very friendly and supportive.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews