We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Resta Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Resta Reef Resort
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

my family and I had a fabulouse time here. The staff and service we received was outstanding. Cleanliness was very very good. Just what we needed and would love to go again. Yes the place could do with a bit of paint on it in places but if you want 5* you should pay 5* prices. There isn't alot to do outside the hotel but if your happy with a beach/pool, sunbed, sunshine and outstanding service this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    625
    174
    71
    37
See reviews for
355
788
103
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

With the rate offered by this hotel, I was expecting the usual 4 star hotel but I was wrong! First the rooms are quite spacious, we had three separate beds in there and still didn't feel crowded. The bathroom and towels are very clean. We were on the all inclusive package, with huge amounts of food available all day long. The best thing was the ice cream at noon. The beach is not too wide but we didn't have a problem, also it is very rocky, so you must bring beach shoes. However the water is crystal clear that you can actually see the fish swim around you. Snorkeling there is amazing, don't miss it. There are beach volley and beach soccer games which were a lot of fun. We had a boat trip with Emperor diving center which should not be missed either, especially swimming with the huge 300 year old green sea turtle. I think the hotel is family friendly with the animation team doing fun stuff for kids in the evening. There is no nightlife in Marsa Alam.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

booked last minute holiday not really knowing what to expect, but the holiday was truely fantastic, all staff are so friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome! big thank you to the animation team, especailly charlotte and fabio! food was great! drinks were good, especially our waiter hamada who knew what drinks we were having before we even orderd they were brought over! overall amazing hotel, amazing staff! definatley recommend for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Had a fortnight in the sun on a fantastic resort and cant wait to return next year.
Rooms were basic, but cleaned to a high standard everyday. I'm a fussy eater but had plenty to choose from the menu each day.
The staff were great, very helpful, friendly & welcoming. Charlotte, Fabio on the animation team were fantastic, got the kids involved everyday.
The only negative was the prevailing wind, that made sure that the black flag was up on the jetty, only snorkelled off there twice in 2 weeks.
Having said that, the reef was breathtaking, and you could still snorkel in the shallow lagoon which had plenty of fish to see.
Highly recommend a trip with Emperor Divers which we booked on our welcome meeting with Thomson's. It was amazing, swam with sea turtles, all our family absolutely loved it, worth every penny. Tracey and team at Emperor Divers were brilliant, been on trips with other companies in Egypt but these guys were the best.
Stella, our Thomson rep was first class, very helpful lady who took time to talk and explain when needed.
Transfer from Marsa Alam was 10 mins, airport very modern & clean. Thomson's have stopped providing a meal on these flights which is ridiculous on a 5hr+ flight!
So if your after a chill out holiday in the sun on a resort that ticks all the boves, look no further.
Thank you all at Resa Reef, see you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms away from beach are quieter due to the entertainment in the amphitheater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hodonin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have been in Resra Reef Resort in Marsa Alam. My second holiday here. The hotel staff was kind, heplful, friendly. I am diver on wheelchair. Perfect place for relaxing and diving. The animation team were amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great place to relax and enjoy the beauties of the red sea @ Marsa Alam. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Place is clean and equipment with a number of facilities. I also recommend the boat trip at the Emperor diving center inside the hotel if you are into snorkling/diving.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just back from two great weeks at the Resta Reef Hotel we are already making plans to return later this year.

The hotel is in a lovely beachfront location and everything is close to the beach and pool. We had a seaview room at the front which was really nice with a great view, and was very clean and comfortable. In my opinion, these room are well worth the extra money for the view (I think it was about an extra £56). We understand that the hotel has undergone a lot of work in the last couple of years and I think this is now starting to show. The manager also showed us the couple of rooms that have recently been updated which look good, although this is still a work in progress, but the new furniture an linens do give the rooms a more modern feel. The beds in our room were firm to say the least, but that would be my only complaint. Most of the exterior of the hotel has now been repainted and pathways have been re-paved and we understand a lot of landscaping has been done.

This was my 8th trip to Egypt and even though I have previously stayed in 5 star hotels, I found that the food a Resta Reef was they best I had experienced and of very good quality and variety. The chefs obviously put thought into the menu and we found that you could put different options together well. There didn't seem to be any repetition in the two weeks we were there (some of the dishes we would have been very happy to eat more than once!) but there was always a good choice of beef, chicken and fish each day, with the pasta station each meal as well as the outdoor bbq grill most evening. We are not huge drinkers but found that there seemed to be a good choice of alcoholic drinks as well as a good choice of juices and soft drinks available all day. Between the different restaurants and bars you can literally eat and drink all day with snacks available straight after breakfast until after dinner! Also, if you go out for the day, you can order a packed lunch from reception.

The best thing about this hotel though is the staff who were all fantastic. I have to make a special mention to Jamana on guest relations who was always so helpful and friendly, as well as Sherif the Hotel Manager and Ramy the Operations Manager who all took the time to spend time with guests and made us feel like VIPs. We will especially miss Ehab and Saad who were so friendly and helpful and we look forward to seeing you when we return.

Unfortunately we were unable to access the reef at the hotel for the first 10 days because of the black flag due to high winds, but as strong swimmers we fully understood this on a red flag day where you really do need to exercise caution when getting in and out of the water. Whilst there was a black flag we did find that the lagoon had an amazing variety of quite large fish which are very curious and not afraid of people, and there are also fantastic snorkeling trips run by Emperor Divers (http://www.emperordivers.com/marsa-alam-diving.php). These are well worth doing as they will take you to amazing reefs where you will see turtles, beautiful corals and a huge variety of fish. We even got to see the Dugong (sea cow) and a couple of large reef sharks thanks to "Skinny Mohammed".

The Thomson rep, Stella is was very helpful and friendly and actually lives at the hotel so you will always see her around, and Charlotte and Fabio from the Animation Team are both lovely - look forward to seeing you both again.

All in all, we had a great holiday and plan to go back as soon as possible (I would go back today if I could), but if you want to know anything else, just let me know.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
5.1 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#17 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#8 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resta Grand Resort
Resta Grand Resort
#23 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Three Corners Sea Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Reef Resort

Property: Resta Reef Resort
Address: KM. 65 Quoseir - Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resta Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly in tune with the landscape around it, Resta Reef Resort is a luxury retreat right on the shore of the Red Sea. Resta Reef Resort has a beautiful sandy beach on its doorstep, and a number of swimming pools set amidst lush gardens and tranquil waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resta Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Reef Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Reef Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing