We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Downhill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All Downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have been to this Hotel many times in the past and this trip was the last time we will stay here. Although not all was bad, it was the important things you want when staying/paying for all inclusive, good food, plenty of choice, and prompt service when you first sit down, none of the above were applicable.

Although the food was typical of being in a foreign country if you were not in the queue when the doors first opened then you would struggle to fill your plate with enough food of your choice that you wanted to eat. The silver food bowls were not refilled when they had been cleared unless you tried to track down a waiter and asked for it to be done, in which case you would still have 5 minutes standing waiting for that one bowl to be filled, this could happen at least twice each meal time so by the time you did sit down to eat, what you did have on your plate was cold. Bread was normally fresh on a morning, not bad on a lunchtime and stale by dinner time.

The same could be said regarding ordering drinks while dining, unless you asked for a drink before you sat down then don't expect your beer before you start on the puddings (if you are lucky), mentioning which, the same as the above regarding the selection and quantity of the puddings.

After returning from the first day of diving our wives (non divers) informed us that the bar staff who we (the men) had not met yet had been quite rude while serving drinks during the day, i had to have a little word with the said waiter telling him these 2 women were very special and they had to have special service during the day. We returned the following afternoon after diving to find 2 happy wives, as was the case for the following 4 days.
There is no free wi-fi within the hotel, this is only accessed with a payable code from reception.
The rooms are good with plenty of space, but no air con working which lead to hot sleepless nights.
The pools were cleaned daily although relying on the sun to heat them could take the breath out of you when taking a dip.
The hotel employs an entertainment act during each season, and to tell the truth some nights were quite funny, but by the end of the week we were glad to be home so as not to have the Mr Entertainment forced upon us within the one and only indoor bar area.

Since our last visit the hotel has built its own beech just within the marina, although only about a 5 minute walk with a bar/hut on site and wind breakers it was quite bland and any dips in the sea could only really be made if you donned a pair of rock shoes as access was made over the top of the shallow reef which is now dead.

The hotel runs a water taxi service which used to run every 10 minutes, now it runs every 30 minutes which is in fact every 60 minutes, it will leave the hotel on the hour, wait at the other side of the marina for 30 minutes, return to the hotel on the half hour and sit and wait for another 30 minutes even if you are the only people wanting to get to the other side, should you just miss the water taxi then its a long wait to catch the next one. Even when you do get to the other side all the bars except one of them have stopped serving alcohol, even tgi's. The Lebanese restaurant is the only place to have a drink while eating. This is all due to the death of the rich prince who built the marina, his sons have taken over and are deeply religious which in turn has lead to the ban of alcohol in all the property's they own.

In a nutshell the hotel has gone downhill in a big way and even though the issue's we had were all reported to reception and in our eyes were all justified as per what we had paid for compared to what we were getting, none were resolved by the time we departed which does not tick any boxes to us wanting to return anytime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaLodge2012, Manager at Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and the comments about our service.
We value your feedback and we will certainly work on improving our Restaurant services, we always seek to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service. Customer feedback forms a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you very soon back to Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    477
    162
    76
    53
See reviews for
392
620
202
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. It was quiet. Food was overall pretty good with enough variety to find something to your taste. The waiter was very attentive, bringing hot water for my coffee so that I could enjoy my own brew. He also kept filling my water glass which was a nice touch. The cleaning staff for the room made characters out our towels and even bed covers. The water taxi schedule was a bit erratic which is why I put only 4 stars for location. I think a board with a timetable would be good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaLodge2012, Manager at Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your wonderful comment on your stay at Marina Lodge , It was a pleasure to have you back with us during your last stay with us at Marina Lodge Port Ghalib Hotel . We have shared your comment with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you will be coming back again and look forward to welcoming you soon with all family member .

Best Regards Amgad Helmy,
Executive Assistant Manager , Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

first time we were there it was named the coral beach diving hotel then onto the marina lodge,first time we had no expectations as it was our first time in egypt and were doing dayboat diving emporer were fantastic the hotel staff from a 3* were pretty much what we expected on a half board basis and had no probs clean tidy and nice pools staff friendly helpful no probs so when we returned in 2010 oct it was pretty much the same except more built up on the otherside not an improvement in my book thats why 4 not 5 on my rating.the staff quality had however imrpoved and looked after us really well from getting us a tin of tuna to tune a friends bcd so funny to cooking fresh food for us and great little private beach for us. the staff as i said had improved and even did birthday cakes for 2 of our party and danced for us and sang to us ,i think if you treat them with respect and are friendly with them thats what you get back. and emporer were great as ever letting us play sillies in pool after weather washed us off the diving.anyways i would recomend this hotel no end

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaherSyam, Front Office Manager at Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 17 July 2016
Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. I am glad that you and your better half felt pampered
At Marina Lodge Port Ghalib hotel, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.
Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Just back from one night in this awfull hotel.

The pro's:
?
The cons:
- bad service: we asked for 15 minutes extra time after 12.00 and Ahmed said if we left the room one minute after 12.00 there was an automatic charge of 20 euro's.
- bad location.
- bad food: i was one week on a live-aboard and stayed one night in the hotel. The cook in the small kitchen on the boat was able to overrule the cooks from the Marina Lodge. Shame on you.
- bad service: the personel is on a constant trainee-ship.
- bad rooms: 4 stars? I wil rate it maximum 1.5 Egyptian star.
- swimming pool is plastic.
- loud music.

We were verry happy to leave the hotel and never come back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DivingDutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaherSyam, Front Office Manager at Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 17 July 2016
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Marina Lodge At Port Ghalib hotel, on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

I sincerely apologize and ask for your forgiveness. I do hope you that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

The hotel Is fantastic so quite ,clean and the staff was so friendly ..the food was great and the service they give is fantastic many thanks to the staff and the management ,,,,,also what is great that you have the diving center in the hotel and the boat in the front of the diving center it was diving holiday I enjoy it so much you have all the week plan on the board boat trip ,mini bus trip and house reef the management and the guide was so friendly with us many many thanks to Extra divers port Ghalib Team ( Sara,Ronny,Mo and Kimo )

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaherSyam, Front Office Manager at Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 17 July 2016
Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services. I am glad that you and your better half felt pampered
At Marina Lodge Port Ghalib hotel, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.
Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Marina Lodge is a very nice and comfy hotel. You have the feeling that you are one big family.
When you ask something, they will always do it immediately with a smile.
The food was good, everyone could find something what he likes. Fish, meat, vegetables, pasta, ..... Everything was very clean, restaurant, public toilets, rooms (which have a nice size and are in Egyptian style). A nice and clean beach with a bar and towel-service AND with a house reef where you can see amazing things.
Every night there was animation organaised by two nice people.
The diving center at the hotel (Extra Divers) has good prices and really good service.
All of them are very friendly, will always help with a smile and you can see that they do their work with passion. I took the advanced Adventurer course (5 dives) and it was a great experience. Also went diving with the boat (Dream Life boat is right in front of the hotel) Fantastic 2 days. We have seen a lot of wonderful fish and korals.
I brought my own diving-equipment, but you can also rent equipment in the diving center for a good price. You get a box where you can put your stuff in afterwards and wash and hang your suite and jacket in the diving center.
At night you can go to 'The other side' which is the town of Port Ghalib.
You can find a lot of shops, bars and restaurants.
Only one remark, they should make Wifi for free, because now you have to pay a lot if you want Wifi in the hotel.
But one conclusion: We had a fantastic holiday!!! I will certainly go back there next year

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaherSyam, Front Office Manager at Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 17 July 2016
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback about your recent stay in the lovely hotel. I am sure that all our friendly team members is happy to read your wonderful praise specially those you have mentioned.

Will be waiting for your soonest return :)
Thanks a lot for such a positive feedback and I am pleased to learn that you had a wonderful week.

We will be always looking forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a very honey moon holiday in the lovely Marina Lodge hotel
all staff was very friendly and so kind of there treatment during out stay
every day the room cleaner fulls our lovely room with flowers and furniture tricks
the restaurant staff and chefs offers us different kinds of the delicious food
every thins in the hotel was fantastic
it was really an excellent honey moon holiday
we will do and repeat our experience in that hotel again
also, we will till our friends about it


many thanks for all Marina Lodge staff and management,
they are all really deserve very big thanks for there kind feelings towards us

Room Tip: room 614 is the best room at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eslam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaherSyam, Front Office Manager at Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib, responded to this review, 17 July 2016
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback about your recent stay in the lovely hotel. I am sure that all our friendly team members is happy to read your wonderful praise specially those you have mentioned.

Will be waiting for your soonest return :)
Thanks a lot for such a positive feedback and I am pleased to learn that you had a wonderful week.

We will be always looking forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
14.1 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
5.6 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#24 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Ghalib Resort
Port Ghalib Resort
#20 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Port Ghalib
The Palace Port Ghalib
#5 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib

Property: Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Address: PO Box 12, Port Ghalib, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Marsa Alam
#14 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#17 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Lodge At Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam
Marina Hotel Marsa Alam
Marina Hotel At Port Ghalib

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing