We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't judge a book by its cover”
Review of Alaska Range Motel

Alaska Range Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaska Range Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Main Street Motel doesn't look like much from the outside, but our room on the west side was clean and cozy! Parked right outside our door. Decent wifi and satellite TV. Friendly owner and soft drinks and snacks for sale on the honor system in the office. We walked to Fast Eddy's for dinner. No AC but a fan is provided. Good blackout curtains. Met our needs for a one night stay in Tok en route to Whitehorse.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank secondrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This Motel was very clean, the room was quiet and the bed was comfortable, maybe it was dated a bit. The front desk personnel was friendly. I stayed in another motel before and paid a lot more. Did not even beat this place , I will stay here again. They have a fan if it feels to warm in the room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was tentative when we pulled up, but the proprietor was a wonderful gentlemen, who showed me my room and explained everything. Very fast and friendly checking in here. Just what the doctor ordered after a long day on the road. The room and bathroom were spanking clean and we took showers in the endless hot water. The door has a chain lock and that made me feel safe. It feels like a little piece of home way out on the road. So many times when traveling great distances, you show up and you don't know what you are gonna get. This place is a home run; I would always return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vyletsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not much choice when you are in the middle of nowhere so we picked Main Street Motel. Clean but cramped, no comforable chairs, no room to open suitcases. But for $99 cannot expect much, but would have rather paid a little more for a little comfort

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyhawaii34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmtok, Owner at Alaska Range Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for the review and we are sorry your stay wasn't more comfortable. We do have a couple of rooms that had the more comfortable armchairs damaged/removed recently and you must have stayed in one of those. A nice armchair makes a big difference and we are replacing those with new ones right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived about dinner time after a long day of driving. I agree it looks very basic from the road and the office was in a state of remodel but the young couple at check in were very friendly and quick and I appreciated that they had snacks and frozen meals you could purchase in a pinch. Our room was big and clean and welcoming. WiFi was quick, and the hubby was happy with the TV channels and a chance to watch some of the World Cup. Beds were comfy and the York mints a added bonus. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoMensMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmtok, Owner at Alaska Range Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for the review, I'm glad you had a comfortable stay. We get the rooms clean but Its also good you had a quiet stay as well, especially in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Since WestMark Hotels have left & gone...Tok has become a Ghost Town .... except for Young's Motel & Young's Chevron ... Young runs the Town. Well You Will Be Happy To Know for Business or for Pleasure the Main St. motel has clean and Comfortable Rooms at an affordable rate ...and are still Pet Friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Cyberwolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmtok, Owner at Alaska Range Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for the review. I'm glad you found your stay clean and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It doesn't look like much from the road, but the room was great with new, thick towels in the bathroom, comfortable bed, 2 chairs and great wifi. Staff was welcoming and friendly, and the horse shoes out front were fun, too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kassschwin2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msmtok, Owner at Alaska Range Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for the great review. The staff uses the expression "spanking clean" now and I'm always happy to hear that as the housekeepers spend a lot of time in each room. Glad you like the mints and horse shoes (fairly recent additions). Thanks too, for mentioning the WI-FI, I think we have the fastest, most reliable free WI-FI of any motel in Tok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tok hotels
61.5 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
0.4 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 9 in Tok
60 reviews
61.9 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Range Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Range Motel

Address: Mile 1312.7 Alaska Highway, PO Box 582, Tok, AK 99780 (Formerly Main Street Motel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Price Range: £49 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have super clean, warm rooms with free reliable, in room High Speed WI FI and lots of channels on a 32" LED TV. Car plug-ins, microwave, coffee, refrigerator. We are a wood fired motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Range Motel Tok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing