We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Young's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Young's Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nov. 3/4, 2013........Driving from Fairbanks to Anchorage.........had planned to stop here for the night, having made reservations on the internet with the motel.....never been there before!
After traveling throught communities with all or most "motels" closed for the winter, it was a pleasant stay at Young's! Room was in the newly constructed buildings, clean, new, warm (it was -2° on the morning of 11/4/2013!.......plenty of hot water, and quick! TV o.k., but fine for AK! The adjoining "Fast Eddy's" was a great restaurant, friendly, competent, presentable staff and a good variety of food choices with GREAT breakfast choices........
Having traveled a great deal, I would recommend this stop at any time of the year!
Robert E. Chamness

Room Tip: Rooms are right in front of your parked vehicle...........very convenient and safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grouch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
61
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Young's Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. Not a lot of amenities but it is Alaska! We were here in the winter and it was a warm room with a plug in for our car. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We love this place. We stayed here twice; once on our way to Anchorage, then again on our way back The rooms are nothing fancy but they are clean, pet friendly, and have free wireless.
The restaurant is awesome. Try the red velvet cake... do it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

After a long but spectacular drive from Haines Junction to Tok we were ready for a break. The motel was easy to find in this small town. The motel office is in Fast Eddie's Restaurant which is next door. The room was clean and comfortable, and a good price ($97 per night, no breakfast).
The bathroom did not have grab bars, and the shower/tub surface was slippery (no bath mat). I found a general store down the road with everything from food to snow shovels to rubbery shelf liner "paper") I bought a roll and tore out a length to use in the shower - perfect!!! It weighs nothing so we will always carry that with us in the future.

Room Tip: We were at the end of one unit, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreeksideGrassValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickamauga, Ga
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

its not a luxury motel with all the bells and whistles, but is clean and the people are friendly. reminds me of the types of motels we had when i was young. plenty of room and you can back right up to your door. The restaurant was great and prices were decent. if you read a review by someone complaining about the amenities, remember you are in the wilderness! after several hundred miles of driving in snow, a warm room with a soft bed and great meal was all anyone could ask for.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the lower numbered rooms and the internet was a bit to slow but overall a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walmartdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had stuffed up our booking and the staff were more than willing to accomodate us. They were friendly and helpful although it was obvious how busy it was at this hotel and attached restaurant . Wouldn't believe how many people stayed here, and yet it was so quiet . Basic rooms but comfortable and warm.it was nice to get a room a little cheaper and it still beso clean

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great spot to stay , when coming in or leaving Alaska, clean and friendly. All the money they seemed to have made they are putting back Ito the place. Newly painted and fresh mattresses the rooms are very comfortable. I have been coming here for three years in a row now, besides being here at other times.
Fast Eddys has all you could want food wise and a staff they will never disappoint ! Love this spot and have stayed in others

Room Tip: It's a traveling spot. In and out of Alaska and a lot of hunters
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigmarole57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
3.7 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
0.2 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 8 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
2.2 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Young's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young's Motel

Property: Young's Motel
Address: Mile 1313 Alaska Highway, Tok, AK 99780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Young's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*NEW* MODERN NIGHTLY RENTAL CABINS SUMMER 2014 This is why you came to Alaska! Experience Alaska in a unique way and relax in one of our cozy cabins. Two queen beds, flatscreen TV with 135 channels, WiFi, full modern bathrooms, coffee makers, and spacious porch. Reserve early, check-in at Fast Eddy's Restaurant next door. Also available 43 clean modern roms with WiFi, satellite TV, and private bath. Located next to Fast Eddy's Restaurant. FREE nightly entertainment within walking distance at Fast Eddy's Frontier Theater. 14 Rooms completely remodeled for 2014 season! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Young`s Hotel Tok
Youngs Hotel Tok
Young's Motel Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing