We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Lodging of a Cross Country Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleft of the Rock B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cleft of the Rock B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tok B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Lodging of a Cross Country Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

What a find. We absolutely loved our stay and have reservatioons to stop here on the way back to the lower 48. Our cabin was perfectly sized for the two of us, was vey secluded, we could park at the door and it was spotlessly clean. The hosts are warm, friendly people who serve a delightful breakfast.

It should be noted that this is ot the traditional B&B that is contained within an oversized house, but has, instead, individual cabins. Further note that intenet is only available at the hosts residence, not at the cabin location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We only had time to stay here for one night but would have happily enjoyed the hosts' hospitality for more. I guess we had chosen the smallest of the available cabins but it was adequate with a comfy bed, shower, fridge, table and chairs, etc. and space to park the car right outside.

The location is peacefully secluded a little way from the restaurant-centre of Tok and you will need a car, but it is well worth a visit. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere around the breakfast table where the hosts as well as other guests all joined in the friendly chatter and sharing of travelling experiences - we find we can learn so much from such occasions. The food, of course, was excellent and more than plentiful - this place is certainly on my "return" list

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed here one night but have been here in the past years ago. What a nice find!! We thought the breakfast was awesome and the hospitality easy going and informative. The cabin we were in was a bit small for us but they come in different sizes. We will definately stay here again when traveling through Tok.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divergirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

The Cleft on the Rock is practically build in a forest. The cabins are very clean, beds are comfortable, although the night is too short there. The breakfast is absolutely something you don't want to miss. Abundant, tasty, very Alaskan and very American. Appreciate the hosts want to have all the guests together for breakfast since they have the possibility to socialize, to tell about their experience in Alaska. A big pro for the reindeer sausages.
I also appreciate that everything was ready when I arriced there. The key was put at the main house door outside with my name on it. Great!
Thank you again Bob and Betty Lou. I will try to comeback.

Adrian, Romania

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianPloiesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

The owners were lovely with an excellent breakfast:
Blueberry pancakes, Reindeer Sausage, Eggs and Rubarb Crisp,
Free Wifi, quiet cabin. Best place during our vacation in AK.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamescowdery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed in the basement of the house. It has two bedrooms a lounge small kitchenette and a bathroom. We were 2 couples sharing. The entire place was spotless clean and the hosts very friendly. Nice walks around the property.
Breakfast was excellent and nice to share and talk with other guests. Very reasonable price and no tax.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDAVDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Very nice, very good, excellent breakfast, really friendly people. Nothing but excellent.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet and good hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniekNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
0.8 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
3.4 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 8 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
3.3 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleft of the Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleft of the Rock B&B

Property: Cleft of the Rock B&B
Address: 0.5 Sundog Trail, Tok, off the Alaska Highway, Tok, AK 99780
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cleft of the Rock B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy cabins plus rooms in the main house in a quiet spruce forest setting. Enjoy a hearty hot breakfast to start your day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cleft Of The Rock B&B Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing