We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can our family do to make your family's stay better?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

That's what it said in the room ! Family owned and operated, this clean, quiet motel/ RV park is just right for Tok. Friendly folk, good wifi, and laundry facilities. Wood fired hearting system fills the air with just a hint of a campfire,

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

After a very expensive trip through British Columbia, we were so glad to cross the Alaska State border...home. What a sincere welcome! We rested well, did laundry at their very reasonable and spacious facility, and enjoyed breakfast at the motel. We'll return!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kawehilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here twice in the course of a week. We picked it off the internet and had no real expectations. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room (very large in the older part of the motel) and the large bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable. In addition, there is continental breakfast served (coffee, tea, juice, cereals, toast & bagels). The internet service is slow, but it comes by satellite, pretty much in the middle of nowhere. You can park right in front of the room which makes unloading and loading your vehicle pretty easy. Overall, it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: The older part of the hotel has the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here on my return from Alaska because the rooms are clean and the staff will bend over backwards to attend to any of your requests. Has a laundry room which helped on our long trip. Has a basic Continental breakfast. You can't go wrong with this place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The motel was as described in other recent posts. Room was clean, but very plain as expected given the small town, parked right outside the room window so we could watch our car. Staff were very friendly! Breakfast room has a large screen TV. Coffee available in the evening and staff turned on the large TV so we could watch the Tour de France. Very nice after a long drive

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyeskarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Didn't think this motel would promise too much as we drove into it, but we were presently surprised. The family that runs it is super friendly and nice and the room had everything we needed. We also had a nice Thai takeout dinner from Jen's truck down the road. In the mornign they put out a very nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Me and my family checked in late, so unfortunately we haven't had the chance to eat the breakfast yet. However, the room itself had comfortable beds, a T.V, working Wi-Fi unlike other hotels, and overall a warm feeling.
Here are the bad things: the T.V. is small and has a whopping 10 channels, a door was missing, the hot water was not working...at all, and the toilet seat was very, very small. Hopefully you're only looking for a nice bed,because that's the main highlight of this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tok hotels
2.6 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
60.7 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 9 in Tok
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bear Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

Address: Milepost 124.3 Tok Cutoff, P.O.Box 500, Tok, AK 99780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Bear. A full service, family owned and operated, motel, gift shop, RV Park, coffee shop, and restaurant. We have 60 rooms furnished with both double, queen and king size beds with private baths, Direct TV, and a large den open to guests where they can enjoy the 71'' big screen TV, the 10'ft tall grizzly bear display, and plenty of room to socialize with friends, family, and other Alaskan adventurers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing