We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in Tok.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Plum Grove, TX
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best stay in Tok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

In September, many hotels close or lay off staff. The Golden Bear was fully open and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The desk suggested restaurants and was very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. Try the Grumpy Griz for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ondbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
541 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed here one rainy night in June while en route to Dawson City. The room in the back "new" building was very clean, albeit a bit worn around the edges, but no complaints. My bed was quite comfortable and I slept soundly. The area that night was quiet. The staff were all friendly and cheerful folks.

I ate at the restaurant on site, and boy those two women working that night (the cook and the waitress) could put fancy 5-star places to shame. They had a packed dining room and meals were served hot, fast, and with a smile and some chit-chat. The home-cooked special offered that night was just what I needed after an 8+ hour drive in the rain. Free hot coffee or tea in the morning at the front desk. I would stay here again.

A side note: internet is available but it is not free. One hour was $2.95 and I think one 24-hour period was $6.95.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed here with our dogs and the rooms were clean and basic. They were a bit worn around the edges but we may have just been in an older room with the dogs. Overall it is a clean friendly place to spend the night on your way north or south.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

we have paid a very cheap price for a very nice motel.

the rooms are big and clean, everything was fine

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thor_odt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

Very firendly staff, ask to stay in the new part in the back, We stayed in both the newer and older on different stays and found both to be clean. Love having laundry avail as we were travelling with kids. Breakfast was provided and was great - lots of choice incl fresh fruit etc. Also went to the Grumpy GrizZ for dinner on thier recommendation and it was great!
Cathy Parmenter
Kelowna, BC

  • Liked — Great breakfast, very friendly staff and laundry facilities
  • Disliked — older section of motel getting tired
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank catgaypar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

The Golden Bear does not look as good as the pictures in the pictures on the web. No bed bugs or clenliness issues but dingy, threadbear and old. Very cheap looking (as is much of Tok) but you just about have to stay in Tok if you are driving to or from Dawson, Whitehorse or Glenallen. Look carefully at the other options.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveAlaska2008, Family Owned and Operated Business (Daughter & Manager) at Golden Bear Motel & RV Park, responded to this review, 1 August 2008
This review is inaccurate and hurtful. We have no idea how to respond to the breadth of inaccuracy in this review. The pictures on the website are current and the entire property over the last two years has been updated. We cater to both large tour companies such as Sunshine Tours, Utopia, Jerry VanDyke, etc. and individual families who swear by our quality of service and accommodation. Most of our guests thank us for being the nicest place they've stayed along their trip to Alaska. Mr. O'Gorman was extremely difficult to work with during his stay and appeared to be having some personal issues which impaired his ability to accurately evaluate his stay. I strongly feel this review was made as a personal slight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2006

We stayed on Friday, June 9, 2006 for one night - 2 adults and 2 children (age 4&6). Its an older hotel but I found it better then the Westin (across the street where we had stayed on an earlier trip.) Our room was located in a seperate building in the back. Turned out to be a great bed (Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress) with new sheets. The comforter is a bit worn. Lighting could be better. Bathroom water on the cold side. Laundry facilities and a restaurant on the property - did not check it out. Small park within a short walk - great for the kids. It was better than I expected. Check out was a breeze - drop your key in a box at the front door.

Helpful?
6 Thank TX_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
2.6 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
0.9 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 8 in Tok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Log Cabin Wilderness Lodge
1.4 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bear Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bear Motel & RV Park

Property: Golden Bear Motel & RV Park
Address: Milepost 124.3 Tok Cutoff, P.O.Box 500, Tok, AK 99780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tok
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Bear. A full service, family owned and operated, motel, gift shop, RV Park, coffee shop, and restaurant. We have 60 rooms furnished with both double, queen and king size beds with private baths, Direct TV, and a large den open to guests where they can enjoy the 71'' big screen TV, the 10'ft tall grizzly bear display, and plenty of room to socialize with friends, family, and other Alaskan adventurers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel & RV Park Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing